We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ICE HOTEL ROMANIA TRIP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Hotel Romania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ice Hotel Romania to your Saves list
Ice Hotel Romania
Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ICE HOTEL ROMANIA TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went on the ice hotel Romania trip with Untravelled Paths for our honeymoon at the beginning of april, Was probably one of the best holidays i have ever had!!
We were driven around by a really nice guy called dravos who firstly took us to Brasov, we stayed in a really nice hotel there, then the next day he picked us up again and we drove to bran castle ( draculas castle) in transylania. Then on to the Ice Hotel WOW!! is all i can say! what an amazing experience, amongst gorgeous snowy mountains, beautiful ice scuptures, chandeliers, stunning!! next morning we were taken to a lovely town called sibiu, then we went to the town of bucharest for our last night. All the hotels we stayed in were gorgeous, and the whole experience was a dream, me and my husband had a wonderful time, and would definatly recommend it. All organised by UNTRAVELLED PATHS and really good value for money!.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    24
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
77
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A crowd of us had a great overnighter at the Ice Hotel in March.
No snow at the bottom of the Cable Car, so we were a bit dissapointed at first, but when you get to the top, the views were stupendous, and there was plenty of snowup there!
After spending a while watching the crazy off-piste skiers from the safety of the terrace bar we toured the site, amazed at the ice church and ice disco.
In the evening we had a great meal in the restaurant, then moved outside for the bonfire and probably too many glasses of gluewein.
Come midnight we were ready for the ice disco, then kipping down in the Hotel of Ice - much cosier than it sounds!
Many thanks to our brilliant Hosts/Guides from Secret Transilvania for a unique experience

Room Tip: Sleep in the Ice Hotel not the cozy and warm hotel - its an experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Seamless from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble for our guide. Fantastic service from booking to coming home. Amazing trip. Thank you to all at untravelled paths.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stumbled across this hotel when looking at Ice Hotels. What made this appealing to us was that it was cheaper than the Sweden Ice Hotel, less 'touristy' and 'only accessible by cable car. We booked our stay with Secret Transylvania which I will do a seperate review on. Our cable car ride up was very scenic and we did not have to wait for this to depart although the wait back down was a bit more of a wait. It tested my nerves as I hate heights, but it was lovely to see the highway covered in snow below us.

Other guests had said that the Ice Hotel was in the midst of a snow storm and not even visible due to a blizzard, however we landed lucky and it was blue skies all the way up to the hotel. So although the hotel was surrounded by some 12ft of snow we had a great time sledging and exploring the church/igloo and hotel with some mulled wine (which subsequently 'stuck' to the ice table) and walking across a frozen Balea Lake! Jez (from Secret Transylvania) walked us through the tunnel which forms part of the highway in the summer to the most amazing views the other end and icicles in the tunnel.

We ate in the main chalet not the Ice Hotel. The food here was really, really nice. Chicken schinzel and chips, large meals and good value, with the drinks cheap too. As I recall, two mains, two starters, three beers and a tip was less than £20!

We opted to stay in the hotel as there was me, my partner and only one other guest who formed part of our group from Secret Transylvania. The other guests not part of our group stayed in the Igloos which were good, but we wanted to be in the hotel as it was almost like we had the hotel to ourselves and a choice of lots of rooms (we kept moving into the different rooms)! One disappointment was that the bar itself in the hotel was not open, probably as they didn't have enough guests so there was no music/disco and we had to keep walking from the chalet to the Ice Hotel with our drinks which was alot of fun in snow up to our knees!

Do not worry about the toilets/showers. If you book with Secret Transylvania or Untravelled Paths (the other company), then I think you will have access to a room in the chalet as we did. This meant we could use the toilet/shower in the main chalet. In he middle of the night I woke up and needed the loo. Boots back on, trousers, coat and gloves, and a five minute walk to the cable car station where it was nice and warm for the loo, albeit in the middle of a blizzard. Really nice to see the stars and ice hotel lit up, very peaceful. Unfortunately the sheer amount of snow meant we couldn't do ice skating or other activies aside from sledging. The ice church is also amazing and the 'last supper' sculpture as are the other themed sculptures.

If you are looking at ice hotels, please consider this one. It is, in my opinion, better than going somewhere like Sweden or Lapland where I understand a night in the Ice Hotel is over £200 per night and is too touristy! You can also explore other parts of Romania/Transylvania, you will not be disappointed. Go before it becomes expensive and anyone else finds out about it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were looking to get away for a long weekend to do something exciting and different without spending too much money. Someone suggested the ice hotel in Sweden but the prices were far too expensive and we couldn't justify the price tag. After some research we found the ice hotel in Romania with Untravelled Paths which was great value for money and we ended up having an incredible time. James was really helpful, friendly and fun without being too 'in-your-face' so to speak. There was a lot of snow when we were out there in feb so we couldn't fully appreciate the amazing views up at the ice hotel but it was a great night all the same. The ice hotel itself is just stunning and is so much more impressive in real life. The rooms are all different and have their own theme. We also signed up for dinner in the ice hotel which was a magical experience and the food was delicious which we were surprised about as we'd heard some negative reviews. I was quite cold during the night but everyone else said they slept really well and were perfectly warm.
While we were there we met a couple who'd booked a three night stay on a groupon offer and were having a pretty difficult time. There had been no transportation arranged for them, they had nowhere to shower or keep their stuff safely and didn't have a guide or someone to look after them so we were really grateful that we'd booked our trip through Untravelled Paths. Everything was organised and we were looked after very well from the get-go. Highly recommended and a big shout out to James for making our trip so fantastic. Thank you!

Room Tip: Untravelled Paths make sure you have access to a room in the cabana where you can leave your stuff a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spotted this on Facebook but instead of taking the 3 day offer we booked through www.secrettransylvania.co.uk and had one nights stay. This was a much better idea as there isn't a great deal to do and a day and night up there does the trick.

We actually stayed in the hotel next to it as we have a 2yr old with us but had dinner in the hotel and got to see all the hotel and igloos. Food was ok but the location is amazing! The hotel rooms are stunning and dining area is amazing. The igloos which are fairly new but they are better again!!! The staff are great up there as well, friendly and helpful but as I said there isn't too much to do so don't spend too long.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were actually looking into an Ice Hotel stay in Scandinavia when we discovered that Transylvania has one.
After checking out everything thoroughly we were really happy with our choice of location and tour operator and realized our short break was going to be ‘good value’ …. However we didn’t realize what an understatement that was!! You have to experience the delicious meals, copious amounts (all included in the price!) and level of personal service to for yourself. From the planning to the departure Secret Transylvania could not have made this trip easier or more enjoyable and the prices compared to Ice Hotel mini breaks in other countries were unbelievable. Balea Lac is something really special and the Sibiu area is stunning. We will defiantly be returning for further explorations one summer soon! Many thanks Jez, Di, Nelutiu, Doris and Sorin.

Room Tip: Check out Austrian Airlines to Sibiu, secret transylvania took us from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ice Hotel Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Hotel Romania

Address: Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Fagaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Faragas Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for the Balea Lac Ice Hotel. Its remote location, at over 2000m is reached only by cable car making it an exclusive 10 room hotel. Set amidst breathtaking scenery, the Ice Hotel is rebuilt every year and the views and silent nights make a visit to the Ice Hotel a must. The stunning Ice Church is a short walk away. Activities: Sledging, snow mobile, skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ice Hotel Romania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Romania Fagaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Hotel Romania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.