We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Krn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Krn to your Saves list
Hotel Krn
Mestni trg 3 | Tolmin, Tolmin 5220 , Slovenia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolmin
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We booked in for Metalcamp ( metal Festival in Tolmin ) We ordered two double rooms with breakfast ( we were told we had to have this as part of the booking ) would have preferred just the room rate.

When we arrived we were moved into an ajoining room sharing the bathroom and shower/bath with our travelling mates... would have preferred our own bathroom.... but it was mates so we made do.

No lift to the top floor - 3 levels up - we had requested a room on a lower level when we booked 8 months prior to our arrival. We got our luggage up in a few trips but met other UK travellers that could not carry their bags up and had to literally open the case and take handfuls of clothes up in 4 trips... No one offers to help and no staff to take your bags up.

Food - basic and very expensive for what it is.. and salty... staff busy all day and very understaffed considering it was rammed full to the rafters of people.

Pool.. we booked here as we figured it would be nice to have a pool to hang out at during the day... it was not open.. even tho this was JULY and 40c .... Never found the gym but was told it was also closed.

Ice for drinks... nope non of that either... machine had broken but instead of going out and purchasing some bags for the bar you just had no ice in drinks and the mixers were not cold but warm... not how I imagined my COLD gin and tonic to be on a hot summers day.. had to ask for lemon or lime slice !.. MAYBE if they had frozen lemon and lime slices that would have been good...

Room only cleaned once during a 9 day stay...

Checked before we left if they took CCards.... they would not take a CC for the deposit ( which we had to pay months in advance at 25% of value ).... they confirmed they would take CC once we arrived... Nope that did not work either.... Said it had broken the week before but noone had come to fix it.... Had to go and get cash out of a machine and pay the small % on that.... and as they would not take CC over the phone for the hotel deposit we had to send via our bank which cost us an additional £45 to do....

All in all not happy and would not go back.. Ruter Pension over the road however was awesome.. clean tidy - ice for drinks - lots of food choices at good prices. Their hotel guests all looked happy every day... ours just looked... well miserable..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We arrived at Hotel Krn and were met with a vague waitress/receptionist who couldn't find our booking. Eventually she sorted us out, we dragged our bags up three flights of stairs to our rooms. The television was a massive chavvy plasma which was rubbish because you couldn't watch it as the reception was so bad. There were 5 single beds though there were 4 of us. There was a health and safety issue on the step to the bathroom which you could easily trip on and the sink had a piece of onion skin on it. All the sanitary ware was cracked and hadn't be thoroughly cleaned. We went to investigate about the pool and and billiards table which we had seen in the brochure-our main reason for going to this hotel. There was no pool as it had 'hygiene issues' (the owners couldn't be bothered) and there was no billiards table because there was 'renovation work' though there was no sign of any renovation work. The hotel has probably had a takeover as the reviews a few months ago were saying how fantastic it was and now it's started to get more negative. Faulty Towers is a compliment!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at the KRN at the same time - the report is completely accurate.

menu was grill with chips and so much salt often difficult to know what you were eating
hotel appeared to have only 3 or 4 staff - cleaner, waitress, cook and the receptionist started the week we got there. given this is a reasonable large hotel and serves from 7am to 11pm the staff were stressed and often unavailable - service and room cleaning was sporadic at best.

we soon learned take our family elsewhere in the evening where there were attentive staff and cold drinks - not too much to ask?

it was very hot and the lids were desperate for the pool - on the 3rd day the chef ( or owner allegedly) cleaned the pool of flies so the kids could use it. it didn't get cleaned again in the following week.

had we not prepaid our tour operator from the UK we would have moved hotels

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We are family of 3 with 11 year old son who live in the UK and have just returned from an activity holiday in Tolmin. The activity company were brilliant (Maya) but they unfortunately seem to have an exclusive contract to organise accommodation with Hotel KRN. As with all things it depends on your expectations. For us, good points were the location, it was also quirky and certainly had character. Sadly the bad points outweighed - rooms in heat of summer are v hot (we were on top (third) floor, no lift (although as it is an activity holiday again this should not be a major issue), no AC - fair enough, but could have done with fan, food massively oversalted, and chips with everything, when sat with other families some kids did not get meals until 2 hours after adults, generally understaffed, pool table and gym out of action, swimming pool largely covered in dead flies after first couple of days when eventually open, manager also had tendency to have screaming matches at poor stressed out staff in full ear shot of guests. There were a reasonably wide range of folks at the hotel also on the activities ranging from teenagers to family groups - all echoed these sentiments, so I don't think we are saying anything out of the ordinary. The hotel is also referred to as Fawlty Towers by some at the activity company and they seemed used to getting regular disagreeable reviews of the accommodation.

We ate out at a pension across the road (Kod) - food, service etc were brilliant, looked really clean and fresh - may be a better option if you are not a back packer, someone with a vested interest in KRN or someone who thinks Pontins is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Our family of four had a brilliant week in Tolmin, exploring the Soca valley and experiencing thrills on (and in) most beautiful river in Europe.

The Hotel Krn, on the town square, is the main meeting place for locals and holidaymakers. Breakfasts and evening meals were typical, regional fare and were always well cooked and filling enough for hungry adventurers. The hotel also provided simple but substantial packed lunches for our days out and this was by far the best of the many active holidays we have enjoyed in recent years.

We had two rooms, one double and one twin, with small ensuite bathrooms. These were rather dated (I understand the rooms have since been refitted) but comfortable and made an ideal base for an outdoor holiday. All our activities were arranged by MAYA sports tourism, 50 metres from the hotel, and they are the best in the business - so good that I have been back twice with my Scout troop, who described their week in Tolmin as "the best holiday we ever had".

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I'm an outdoor freak, and this small cosy town offers lots of things to do. Looking from the hotel window you can catch vast forrests, snowy Julian Alps, clear river (Socha?) and also some paragliders above your head.

Hotel is placed in the very town center. First impression is that hotel is old. And it actually is, but renovated in a cute, nice way, and excatly fits in this small community. Rooms (at least in our floor) are new, big and light. And beds really cosy. So much I overslept once...

Food better than average, beer good as well (although bigger choice in a bar over the road).

I would recommend it to anyone doing activities in this great and unspoilt valley.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Our family had a lovely experience in Tolmin in the July 2009, where we had booked an adventure family holiday. We have been enjoying these types of active holidays for the last 4 years, going to the typical countries like Spain, France, Italy, but must have missed Slovenia. Well we won't miss it again. Our time in Tolmin was double the experience and double the value, and co-ordinated through an ATOL bonded company based in the UK, called Vamos Travel, we found them to be very personal & appreciated all their arrangements for our summer adventures and our NYE celebrations this DEC/JAN '10.

Again, we found the hotel to be ideal. The location is in the heart of Tolmin and there are always many like minded guests, which is important if you have teenagers or children. The adults can get on with the relaxing, and the kids can have alot of fun in the games room or nearby playing fields. *However, this comment is much more in reference to the summer time (Tolmin is a summer destination).

Hotel Krn was very quiet in comparison in December, as Tolmin does not attract winter guests (no ski resorts nearby), so it did feel we had the place to ourselves. But breakfasts were still top notch! And the evening meals, like in the summer, were fabulous. Good hearty food, and plenty of it. No complaints from my lot, which means a great deal, as my 2 teenage girls are sadly very fussy!

Hotel rooms had been upgraded since i was last here in July, so thats impressive..new bedding etc ....we didn't need the air con this time (its hot in the summer) but the beds were as accomodating as ever. I would safely say, the Hotel Krn is every bit of its 3 stars, and has the trimmings to make it a 'superior' mayeb?!?! It does have a little gym! A little swimming pool (perfect for a cool off during the summer days) and a sauna downstairs.

I always felt very welcome at the hotel, and was definitely happy to be back for a second time, to enjoy the NYE celebrations. There was live music, hot drinks on the street, lots of people dancing 'arm in arm' and smiley faces everywhere. It was very safe, and family friends...which is very different to the UK. So we as a family made the right choice coming to Slovenia.

We did see some of our adventure guides having a great time and they've convinced us to be back here Aug'10. So it looks like a 3rd visit to Tolmin and the hotel Krn. Well, with £70 flights RTN from stansted, reliable sunny weather and amazing scenary....it just makes sense for our family to do it.

So thanks Tolmin for being the very best host. We are coming back for sure !!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Krn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krn

Address: Mestni trg 3 | Tolmin, Tolmin 5220 , Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Tolmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old center of Tolmin, set up in a part of of the former Coronini mansion, HOTEL KRN is expecting you. it was named by the mountain rising 2244m above the left bank of the river Soca, one of the most beautiful rivers in Europe. The sight of the stone wreath of the Tolmin - Bohinj mountains, the embarce of the clear watrs, the richness of the green slopes, all this is creating a wanderful environment on the Southeren edge of the Triglav national parc. The hotel offers a nice and frindly atmosphere, provides a comfortable place to rest and excellent also home made food. In an arched castle cellar from the 17th centry you can experience the atmosphere of the times of castles with an excellent choise of wine and home-brewes beer. Hotel Krn has 110 rooms - single or double, all equipped with cable TV and free WI-FI. The hotel has also cafe, restaurant, castle cellar, hunter"s room, outdoor terrace and saunas. The position of the hotel offers several possibility for active holidays such us: walks, mountaineering, cycling, fishing, hunting, swimming in the pure rivers, rafting, canyoning, kayaking, paragliding, hang-gliding, archery, horseback riding, skiing, sports team preparation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Krn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krn Hotel Ljubljana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Krn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.