We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Venecia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Remedios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Venecia
Calle Alejandro del Rio, 64 e/Jesus Crespo y Jose Agustin, Remedios, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice clean room with air conditioning. The house is yours to enjoy. Beautiful gardens and courtyard to relax & enjoy. Food is excellent and nicely served. Location is just off the plaza but quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rembe and Mercedes and their lovely daughter Hayley welcomed us warmly into their home. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the home cooked food was some of the best we had in Cuba. We were there for Christmas eve for the celebration of Las Parrandas! An unforgettable experience ..music, dancing and the craziest fireworks display you'll ever see! Their location was perfect, close to the town square and the historical section of Remedios. We found the family to be helpful, caring and friendly. They helped to arrange trips for us to Los Cayos (Salinas- pristine beach and good snorkeling) and an ecological park where we hiked and swam in clear pools.
Lovely people. Can't recommend this more highly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Reached Remedios from Tronidad we found a really nice place with nice people. We met tRemberto and Mercedes and we discovered a taste of the real cuba: really nice people that heled us in our short stay. Really good breakfast and food, good location (directly in the central square) support to organize tours and visit and to find solutions for our return in La Havana. rooms was clena and silent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Remberto and Mercedes are an adorable elderly couple, it felt like visiting your grandparents (but in a nice way ;)), very obliging, hospitable, interested, affectionate and tender people, extremly helpful (f.ex. Remberto spent a whole evening and morning on the phone trying to negociate a cheap taxi deal for us), Mercedes spoilt us with her food, both told us a lot about cuban life and showed us videos about cuban festivities.
Food: Extraordinary breakfast (coffee, tea, freshly squeezed fruit juices, diffenerent types of bread, homemade biscuites, butter, marmelade, honey, cheese, ham, eggs, big plate of fresh fruit, excellent creolian dinner with different options (soup, various side dishes and salad, dessert)
Price: negotiable (room about 20-25CUC, breakfast 3CUC, dinner 8CUC)

It was a shame that we could only stay 1 night! They cared like real grandparents and asked us to stay in touch!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsta, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at the end of feb 2012 with Rembert & Mercedes at their wonderful home Hostal Venecia. Super friendly people, great location and fantastic food! What more can you ask for? Very helpful people who really take care of you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at the casa of Rembe & Mercedes only very short, but we have still very warm memories of this very nice and beautiful casa! The food was excellent, actually the best chicken and dessert we had within 3 weeks of traveling in Cuba! Mercedes did the cooking and Rembe served us drinks and took care of a perfect evening by putting on nice music.
The room and bathroom were very clean and cosy, and Rembe and Mercedes really felt like family even though our visit was short! I hope we can go back there some day! Also the little town Remedios is very nice to spent a couple of days, not too many tourists, but an excellent place to do some nearby sight seeing and to enjoy a cocktail :-)))) We can really recommend this place to everyone! (and this was def. not the case with all casa's we stayed!)
<3 <3 <3

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed with Mercedes and Remberto for three days during the big Christmas celebration and would highly reccommend it. They welcomed us into their home and took good care of us the whole time. They advised us about the local area and how to protect ourselves during the big event. We had no idea about the quantity of fireworks and pickpockets. They also fed us with great meals, often assisted by their daughter who was living and teaching nearby. Everyone spoke a little english and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We had a separate room with bathroom and found it quite comfortable. There is a nice open area with plants and a table and chairs to hang out. We got to know them quite well and enjoyed their company.

Room Tip: ours had a bathroom attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Venecia

Address: Calle Alejandro del Rio, 64 e/Jesus Crespo y Jose Agustin, Remedios, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Remedios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty lodging in Remedios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Venecia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostal Venecia to your Saves list