We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Torre

La Torre
48 High Street, Coalville LE67 3EE, England
+44 1530 817744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 restaurants in Coalville
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Markfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this place on Groupon and thought it was worth a try after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed and will be returning soon. I had the Pork Belly for starter - very generous - I've had this as a main course in other restaurants and it was smaller. A very good start to my meal. It was followed by Pollo Fiorentina - moist chicken breast in a delicious creamy sauce. The veg was exceptional - very tasty but not at all greasy. Finally, my starter was a real surprise - mascarpone cheesecake with a heavenly toffee sauce. My husband copied me on everything but the starter - he opted for Bruschetta - which he really enjoyed. Service was very friendly and chilled out - not in our face at all but more than happy to chat. I cannot fault this place. Their music night sounds good so we will have to give it a go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    108
    23
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice little Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice atmosphere & good food, good choice on menu, steaks very nice not overly large so feels quite personal. Have eaten here on a few occasions and food has always been if a good standard.Not cheap, probably £75 per couple.Good parking at rear of restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a gem, no wonder its 5/5!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not many restaurants get 5/5 but this one deserves it! This place would be at home in a swanky city centre but its charm is that it is not trying to be one of those Italians, its relaxed, authentic and backed by superb food. Certainly my favourite Italian knocking that one in sheepy off its perch. Can't wait to go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Fav Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Some of the best birthday dinners are spent with family. Ours happens to include younger members, it can be difficult to find food for their palates that isn’t too bland for your own. This can be a family friendly and romantic place to eat, the service is impeccable, professional and generous. The children enjoyed the homemade pasta dishes, the meat and fish dishes were excellent. All vegetables were fresh, not frozen. Their chosen Chianti complements all dishes and the traditional selection desserts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's like being in Italy..... in Coalville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

La Torre is owned by an Italian family, and so it is authentic Italian! Very friendly hosts, smiles all the way! A very welcoming restaurant, swift friendly service, and the food is fantastic! You could be in a chic eatery in Milan or Rome! If you've not tried this place yet, you're missing out.....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Torre also viewed

 
Coalville, Leicestershire
Coalville, Leicestershire
 

Been to La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.