We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Piemonte!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bricco dei Cogni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bricco dei Cogni to your Saves list
Bricco dei Cogni
Localita' Bricco Cogni, 39 Fraz Rivalta, 12064 La Morra, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 La Morra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection in Piemonte!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Claudia and Livio are wonderful hosts who made our (sadly) very short stay in Piemonte very memorable. Their gorgeous home has been beautifully restored...the rooms are lovely, with spotless bathroom and wonderful linens. They've done an amazing job renovating the place..spared no expense! It's really pristine. The setting is perfect for exploring Piemonte...it is just outside the beautiful historic town of La Morra, atop a hill that overlooks the region with gorgeous views. Because they are on the edge of a small hamlet it is very quiet at night for sleeping and all the interesting places to visit are easily accessible and parking is not an issue. They are discreet yet always there when you need them. When we arrived in the PM they served us an aperitif of local wine and cheese/sausage which revived us. They made dinner reservations for us so we could go off and explore all day and end up somewhere wonderful for dinner. Breakfasts were lovely too, served downstairs in the parlor... very nice continental spread of local goodies with great coffee. We would have loved to have stayed longer and will surely come back to stay with them again if we can and send all our friends there! Well done Claudia and Livio!! You set a high standard!! Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Bricco dei Cogni for five days with two other friends from Gig Harbor, Washington, USA in late September 2011. We are all "of a certain age" (ie. retired) and have traveled fairly extensively together. Our impressions of Bricco are as follows:
THE HOSTS - Livio and Claudia Bollano are both charming hosts that make you feel welcome as a guest in their home. Livio is more outgoing than Claudia, but they both were gracious and helped us with restaurant reservations, getting tickets for seeing the Alba Palio, suggestions for getting around the Piemonte region, etc. After getting settled in on arrival, Livio shared a bottle of white wine with us and entertained us with stories of his family, truffle hunting, and making wine. He also shared a bottle of his own wine with us a couple of days later. Both speak adequate English for those who don't speak Italian (like us).
THE FACILITIES - Bricco is spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with antique furniture and paintings. All guest rooms are on the upper floor level, and we stayed on the east side of the building. We awoke every morning to marvelous sunrises and the sounds of birds that nest in the rafters outside the windows. We didn't swim in the swimming pool, but it does have a good supply of lounge chairs and umbrellas surrounding it that we used for reading. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The buffet breakfast was quite good, with a nice selection of cheeses, pastries and biscotti, a variety of yogurts, cereals, coffee, juice, fresh fruit, toast and jams, etc.
THE LOCATION - Bricco is located in the middle of the wine producing Piemonte region and is a short drive - usually five to fifteen minutes - from a number of small towns and villages like Verduno, Barolo, and La Morra. The countryside is nearly all rolling hills that are covered with vineyards and hazelnut orchards - absolutely gorgeous scenery to drive around and through. The larger towns of Bra, Alba, and Asti are also relatively close. A rental car is absolutely necessary, however - don't plan to be using public transportation.
Bricco dei Cogni left us with a warm feeling and we would definitely recommend it to family and friends, and we would stay there again when in the Piemonte Region.

Room Tip: Suggest the east side - views are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

When we arrived at this beautiful place after a typical hot summer day, Livio the owner pampered us with a delicious glas of white wine and some very nice local cheese and italian saussage. It really hit the spot.

The house is situated on a hill top overlooking vineyards and has a fantastic pool. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the breakfast room is a very nice relaxed space to be in.

The breakfast was maybe the best we had during this trip. Wonderful cheeses, very tasty Parma ham, italian Salami, cerials, homemade marmalade, little pastries and juices. I might have forgotten something.

Wifi is also working in the rooms, which is not always the case in Italy.

Livio went out of his way to recommend places to eat and things to do. He knows a lot about food. He arranged for us to go and see one of the best cheese makers in the Piemont, Silvio Pistone and even arranged our next night stay as well. We wish we could have stayed longer in this great place, but the weekend was already booked out.

All in all it was a great experience. When we left we were given an nice bottle of wine from his private vineyard. That sums it up it think.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The place is amazing. The lobby is full of antiques with fireplaces! Livio the owner makes sure you have a nice time there and can organize anything. He will recommend the best restaurants in the area. He even organized a truffle hunt for us. Bear in mind that this is very difficult to be organized because truffle hunters are very secretive of their whereabouts.
Unbelievable breakfast. The view from the hotel is amazing with wine yards all over. I think the place is the right value for money. Dwfinately recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

A group of 6 30-somethings with a keen interest in all things gastronomic (and especially the white truffle), we spent 4 days at the charming, comfortable family house that is Bricco dei Cogni. Livio and his wife Claudia made us very welcome, spending hours helping us plan our days and making sure we had a real Italian experience. They arranged genuine truffle-hunts, wine tasting, and booked tables for us at some of the best trattorias and osterias we have ever been to. They even made sure we bought the genuine article at the truffle market. We had one of the best trips of our lives.

The hotel is cosy, scrupulously clean and we slept like the dead, awakening to huge breakfasts of local cheeses and salamis, fruits and good italian coffee. IT is full of traditional furniture collected through the generations, and surrounded by vineyards and orchards. There is a pool but it was too cold for us to swim in! For anyone who wants to explore Piedmont, the ultimate land-of-plenty, we thoroughly recommend Bricco Dei Cogni.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had a weekend at Bricco dei Cogni for my husband's birthday in early March - it is still a very quiet season where many other B&Bs were closed, and we were actually the only people all weekend at Bricco dei Cogni! The views from the house are stunning, and while we were there the whole of the Langhe Valley was covered in snow. The room was beautifully furnished, with a loft, a large (communal) balcony with a view over the valley, a fireplace and was basically one of the most romantic places we've ever stayed.

On our arrival our gracious hosts served us an aperitivo of local wine, cheeses and my new favourite thing, Cogna', a sort of jam made from the leftover grapes of the harvest, fantastic eaten with the local goat cheese. They recommended some wonderful local restaurants for us (Falstaff, in Verduno is incredible!), and offered us a nightcap of grappa in front of the fire in the loungeroom when we returned. I read in other reviews that people found the hosts cold, but our experience was the exact opposite - although we have the advantage of speaking Italian, which perhaps made a difference. The most lovely touch of the whole experience here was on our last night, after a long day out of wine tasting and visiting the region, we came back to our room to find a litle surprise for us of two huge glasses of Barolo wine, a plate of local hazlenut cookies and a little note from the hosts to say good night - if only every hotel did something as sweet as this little gesture!

We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Hts. Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this charming B & B and even went swimming in the new pool in October. We found several neat restaurants with the help of Claudia, our host. We felt like we were guests in her home. We had a glass of white wine out on the veranda in front of the house when we arrived early. The bedroom was furnished with antiques and the bathroom was very modern with great plumbing. The couple were very interesting to talk to and very helpful with directions and booking restaurant. Breakfast was great and there were wonderful sweets along with the ham, cheeses and rolls. Two of the 6 bedrooms have a balcony for children to sleep in. We would stay again at this wonderful B & B again!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bricco dei Cogni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bricco dei Cogni

Address: Localita' Bricco Cogni, 39 Fraz Rivalta, 12064 La Morra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > La Morra
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in La Morra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant contry manor-house lying in a marvellously peaceful, panoramic position amidst vineyard-clads hills, in the heart of the Langa of Barolo, just a few kilometres from the "Agenzia di Pollenzo" on the old Royal Estate. Romantic rooms furnished with period pieces in a particularly warm and inviting atmosphere, where each ambience is filled with lovingly-collected antiques. Guests can enjoy the exquisite breakfast in front of the fireplace, taking in the lovely view, or in summer seated in the garden, where the sun, light and greenery will ensure a truly unforgettable stay. The equipment of the large swimming pool, Mt. 13 X 6 comprises FOR EVERY ROOM, an umbrella 3x3, 2 wooden steamer chairs, 2 sun loungers, a chair and a wooden coffee table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bricco dei Cogni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bricco dei Cogni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.