We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful space, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
2770 Esplanade Ave, Port Moody, British Columbia V3H 3P4, Canada
604-931-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 60 Restaurants in Port Moody
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Murray Street
Description: The Boathouse - Port Moody is a casual-fine dining waterfront restaurant specializing in seafood cuisine prepared in a West Coast style.
Catonsville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful space, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went with friends to the Boathouse. It is located in a beautiful spot and the dining room is well appointed. We had good service, but the food was uninspired. The wine list had a nice variety of well priced bottles.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    44
    39
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place seems to be really hit or miss. My fiancee and I are both in the industry. Overall I would say its decent but some of the little things seems to really bug me. Often we get the bucket of prawns to start and a few times they have been really chewy (meaning cooked and sat for a while). A few times we ordered a bottle of wine and the waitress would be right next to us, look at us, but not top the empty glass off. Again, not major but boathouse isnt exactly cheap and for what you pay the service isn't always great. We had an overcooked steak incident and no manager even came by to talk to us. It was ordered med rare and pretty well done when it came. The server noticed it right away and was very nice about it even giving us a discount, but it would have been nice to have a manger presence. Obviously we didn't take it out on her. Good Appy Specials and drink specials make this part of our going out repertoire but not for a fancy meal out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's...okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The boathouse is in a great location, but for the price point and the quality of the food, there are better meals to be had within a short drive. It is certainly the best in Port Moody.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwell, Barbados
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Oh Dear, Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited friends in Coquitlam who took us to the Boathouse Restaurant. Starters were great, we shared Calimari, Sweet Chilli Chicken and Sweet Potato Fries. Wine also good, local BC white Pinot Grigio.
Then, disaster. 2 of the 4 meals were cold, so we complained. They came back, still cold so we complained again. Got 2 completely new meals. Fish was hot, veg were STILL COLD. At CAD 42 or thereabouts, I expected a lot better.
They did deduct one meal off the final bill, and offered us free desserts. By this time we were on our own in the restaurant.
Felt so sorry for our friends who treated us to dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I got to the boathouse at least once every 2 weeks and the food is great but its hard to find fast service and if you are having a drink it can be toguh to get a second one as the servers don't come back to check on you

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.