We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All a B&B should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Retreat Port Moody

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Moody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dockside Retreat Port Moody
Save
You added Dockside Retreat Port Moody to your Saves list
652 Alderside Road, Port Moody, British Columbia V3H 3A5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Moody B&B and Inns
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All a B&B should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a B&B which is almost impossible to fault. Our hosts went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were faultless - lots of space with very comfortable furniture. We were left the ingredients for a very pleasant breakfast which we could then enjoy at our own time. Great value - we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daphne_herberts, Owner at Dockside Retreat Port Moody, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
It was a sincere pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you when you visit the west coast again. Perhaps we will launch the kayaks and have an adventure.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What else can I say? There is a reason all reviews are excellent!
Best Place to stay in Port Moody. I look forward to more work here just so I can stay at the
Dockside. Hot tub is great, the beds are sooo comfy. There are tons of great adventures to be had in the area, and Daphne/Michael have all the 411.
Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Either room is great, your choice Large or smaller suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daphne_herberts, Owner at Dockside Retreat Port Moody, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Looking forward to seeing you again....the pleasure is all ours! Cheers from Dockside Port Moody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

When my wife first told me we were going to be staying at a B&B, I said "no we're not!" I hated the notion of us staying at some B&B. Well, fortunately for me her views prevailed. Throw away any idea you have ever had about a B&B. Welcome to your own separate entrance, a fabulously comfortable and spacious venue, countless little special touches with first class service, the most breath-taking views and total five-star excellence. We have travelled the world and Dockside Retreat is now among only a handful of our favorite destinations.
When I told her I was going to post this on Trip Advisor she said "no you"re not!"… then she said, "no, we can not have it all to ourselves and deny others this wonderful experience. Staying at Dockside is truly like home away from home, having everything exactly like you would want it to be and more…"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daphne_herberts, Owner at Dockside Retreat Port Moody, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for such an endorsement. We are pleased to be a Bed and Breakfast,with a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed with our daughter, and at the last minute one of our grandsons. Daphne and Michael pulled out all the stops to make us welcome - our grandson was delighted and spent a fair bit of time in the hot-tub. A great outlook over Port Moody and harbour from the front rooms and deck especially at night, even in the rain. Great breakfasts, an excellent choice of wine. Given we have other family in Port Moody, we expect to return to this beautiful retreat. Brian and Deb

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We walked into the Dockside Suites and were "wowed" by the beautiful decor and all of the special touches that Daphne did for our stay. I noticed the wonderful aroma in the suites and it just continued to get better as she showed us around. Beautiful fresh tulips, wonderful chocolates, fruit and pastries for the morning, cheese and crackers, and wine on ice for our arrival. All the little touches made it so special. Candles lit at night outside for the hottub and around the patio. Cozy soft towels and bathrobes to use. We were here from MN for a wedding at the Old Orchard Hall 2 blocks away. It was perfect! Loved the fireplaces in the bedrooms and the cozy sitting room looking out to the water. Daphne was nice enough to drive us into town one evening and pick us up. The pool table was nice to have for an added activity. Everything was comfortable and top of the line. We couldn't have asked for anything better! Both Daphne and Michael were very pleasant to talk with - wish we could have visited more with them! Thank you for everything - it was a treat to stay at such an awesome Retreat!
Peggy, Jim, Alex and Great from Minnesota - Hope to be back sometime in the near future!

Room Tip: Both suites were wonderful - you can't go wrong with either! The Sunrise Suite is the larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you want a pleasant break from the usual hotel stay, then this place is perfect. Complete with a large deck with a hot tub overlooking the water, I stayed there twice this year for extended periods while working in the area. Daphne and Michael were perfect hosts - they went out if their way to welcome me. Daphne has a talent for making guests feel at home and finding out what will make her guests have an enjoyable stay. Every night I came home to fresh flowers, fresh sheets and towels, treats and wine as well as coffee - with a French Press - it was perfect! There is a ton of great books and she kept me updated with current magazines. I could also keep up with my favorite tv programs as they provide all the premium channels I have at home. They even scraped my car windows for me one particularly cold morning! I often stay at B&B's when I travel for work, and I can honestly say that Daphne and Michael are the best hosts that have ever stayed with. I am looking forward to returning to Port Moody to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We came here for a relaxing overnight retreat away from city life a couple of weeks ago and were not disappointed!

Daphne and her husband put so much effort into making sure we enjoyed ourselves, from driving us to and from town (I think we were the first visitors to arrive on foot!) to putting out nibbles and wine on arrival and making sure the hot tub was bubbling away. The rooms were luxurious and cosy and the fridge was well stocked with goodies. We wished we could have stayed for longer than a night!

We were made to feel really welcome and will definitely be back in the summer - Daphne tells me they're getting a rowing boat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Retreat Port Moody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Retreat Port Moody

Address: 652 Alderside Road, Port Moody, British Columbia V3H 3A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Port Moody
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Retreat Port Moody is a tranquil and private oceanfront Bed and Breakfast nestled in a quiet residential setting. Our mission is to provide guests with luxurious comfort and top notch guest services. We look forward to your next stay with us at Dockside Retreat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Retreat Port Moody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.