We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange ambience but pretty good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
30 Nutter Road | Cleveleys, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 1BQ, England
01253825847
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
North West England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Strange ambience but pretty good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The place needs a bit of warmth adding to the ambience but generally the service and quality of food is good, portions a little on the small side though. Average to slightly above average prices.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food , for excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked here for 16 people for a special birthday meal (been many times before) , food was outstanding , good choice of food , and service was excellent considering we had such a large group . Staff were friendly and did not rush us , time between courses were far enough apart but not too long .
Overall a wonderful experience , and a really good night . Not one complaint out of 16 people . Will be going back, also want to try their tapas Thursday :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food , Great Value, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have been last night for a meal after work! After few minutes reading the menu, we voted for the Eard Bird menu which is £9.95 for 2-course. I think I have not been anywhere in Cleveleys offer the same value and same quality of food! The food is perfectly cooked and in good portions. Service is great and attentive. We should be back very soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Evening meal with frients. celebrating birthday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Service was very slow. The musice and noise was so loud no one hear each other. The food was good, but would not go again

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK ITALIAN MEAL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

PRETTY GOOD ITALIAN
Dined here on a Saturday night, had a table booked for 8.00pm. The restaurant was already full on arrival with most people already sat down awaiting main courses. There is a small seating area in the window where we were seated to await our table for the evening.
Pre meal drinks were ordered, we then we set about the menus. To be honest I was a little confused with the menu at first, the first pages are the daily dining deals (not available on Saturday nights) then Chefs specials then pasta then more Chefs specials, bit confusing. My wifes menu was missing a page that mine had, so we had to share my menu. I much prefer the hard laminated type of menu in these kinds of restaurants myself, rather than having to constantly go back and forth through this homemade loose leaf A4 book type. Room for improvement there I think.
Can’t really complain about the choice on the menu though, all the usual pastas, steaks, chicken dishes etc. Plus some more unusual items Risotto with steak, Duck with pasta comes to mind. I went for goats cheese to start, it came on a toasted buschetta with salad and a tiny portion of chutney, drizzled with Balsamic, good start although the bread was a bit thick and very dry, across the table asparagus wrapped in Parma ham fried crispy got 10/10. Our guest had meatballs in tomato sauce which got a so so vote.
I ordered sea bass filets with a prawns and cream sauce accompanied by sautéed potatoes, cabbage and carrots; we were offered the option of changing this to chips, rice or jacket (nice touch). The fish dish consisted of two really nice sized sea bass filets and loads of sauce, couldn’t fault it in any way, and cooked to perfection and seasoned spot on.
The others in my party had Halibut for mains, in a chili sauce with sun dried tomatoes and whist the fish was once again cooked to perfection, both agreed it was a little heavy on the chili for their tastes and it kind of wiped out the taste of the fish. We finished with Tiramisu and coffee. During the meal we drank the house white, which we all agreed was fine for the money. Service was efficient and courteous all night, no shortage of staff at any time.
Although no wow factor, it certainly ‘dose what it says on the tin’.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.