We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello..... errr hmmm...where's Cybil?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Briardene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Briardene Hotel to your Saves list
Briardene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   56 Kelso Avenue, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hello..... errr hmmm...where's Cybil?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It is always said that first impressions are very important....We arrived in reception and were presented with a middle-aged woman with her back to us, chatting merrily on the phone to a friend. After a couple of minutes standing at the desk waiting, and a couple of cursory glances in our direction, looking for that accepting smile, she saw my face looking pretty annoyed and made her apologies to her friend and hung up. We checked in and went to our room. We were a family of 2 adults and a 4 yr old. Our room on the top floor (28), with a view to the sea, was adequate if a bit small, very clean with a good 'shower only' bathroom. It had all the basics; tea/coffee making facilities, an iron/board and TV. We were glad of the top floor room, as the bar was hosting its weekly 'club style' bar night and was, even from the top floor, a bit noisy. In the morning, we had breakfast in the dining room. Breakfast presentation was clean and straightforward with the standard choice of cereals, fruit juices and fruit compotes. Tables looked crisp and clean. We were asked for a hot breakfast order promptly and this arrived suitably timed as we finished our cereals. The menu is worded well, if I may say a cut above the usual fayre for a 3 star. The hot food ordered, generously filled the plate with 3 sausages, 3 bacon rashers and perfectly cooked poached eggs. Toast was hot and fresh, choices of jams, sauces etc was spot on. One minus point to mention was the 'old' apple juice, which fizzed in my mouth. This was quickly replaced without fuss. In all a friendly, well presented, well served and well cooked breakfast. To do this is not rocket science but it is easy to do it very badly. The staff were attentive, polite and friendly...something the owner (who it turned out, was the lady who decided that talking to her friend on the phone was more important than dealing with a paying guest) would do well to learn from. Apart from this 'Cybil' moment, the stay was perfectly satisfactory, the food, service, decor in the room, the general good order of the establishment and the friendly staff, all contributing to an enjoyable, but necessarily short stay. If you need a 3 star bed for the night in a quiet area away from the town centre, you could do alot worse.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a Friday or Saturday, check what functions are in place in the evening and mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
34
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Mysef and my family stayed here for a wedding. I looked at te picturesbefore (as you do) and was a bit unsure....how old are the pictures? Will it be cheap and cheerful? All the usual questions.

As a couple who have stayed in royalty and president worthy hotels...can i just say that they could all have learned a thing or two from this family run hotel.

The welcome was warm and helpful, the rooms were clean, shower i had was fab, the little touches like wee biscuits and chocs in the room were much welcomed when you got the munchies, beds comfortable, breakfast was great(and yes its true...they really are massive...my hubby could eat a small herd of sheep and he struggled!.)

We had a fabulous dinner at the wedding reception, so much so i had a bit of wedding dinner envy...i married in a castle and this dinnerwould have put it to shame.

Now the staff....evry single one of those girls (and boys) were absoloute troopers. And despite the long hours, i never saw anything other than a smile. The wee gestures of generousity have left me in no doubt that this little gem should be known to all. In this day and age where advertising talks....its so nice to see good, honest hard working people making guests happy. I will be telling everyone about you.

Well done staff...i know its a thankless job but there were at least 4 of us who thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.

Room Tip: tell staff if you are a light sleeper as the front rooms sit near the tramway. Didnt bother us but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was one of a group of 8 men on a visit to attend a meeting nearby. The Briardene Hotel provided us with reasonably priced, practical, clean and comfortable en-suite rooms, which are well-equipped with the sensible provision of a tea-making facility, ironing board and iron, adequate hanging space and shower gel etc. The welcome from the efficient and friendly staff was outstanding and the superb breakfasts were unbelievable. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

There are not many places to stay in Cleveleys but this hotel is well situated within walking distance of the main street and promenade. We had a very friendly welcome. The bedroom was somewhat compact for a deluxe room but clean and comfortable. The breakfast service was friendly and efficient. A good choice of cooked breakfast and ecxellent food quality. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Merseyside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night while visiting relatives. Rwception staff were friendly and helpful. Room service was nice and the food tasty. We had a room right at the top that was nice and clean and the decor was ok too. The best thing about this was the breakfast. We both opted for the 'hearty' one and OMG it could feed an army. Very huge and very delicious. I can pack away some food but I couldnt eat it all, nor could hubby. I would travel up here again just for the breakfast...although next time i would just have the medium sized one...even the small on looked large. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked over the phone for a double room for 2 nights but when we arrived they had us booked for 1 night in a twin. They did sort this out very quickly.

The waiting staff were very good.
The breakfast was a bit 'fatty' and my boyfriend only had it the one morning.

The room was nice but the floorboards in the hotel were very creaky.
Arrived back at 12.20am and we were going to have a drink from the bar however the person on reception said that the bar closed at 12. However the next morning we checked the hotel book in our room and it clearly stated that the bar closed at 12.30!!
We will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nrtherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

returned again to the Briardene hotel for the second time this year, with its outstanding service,helpful and friendly staff you get a real taste of the British hospotality at its best. this hotel has a excellent reputation locally for its restaurant.( as we discovered on our latest stay) normally we have the bed and breakfast, this time we stayed for the evening meals, what can i say.....excellent just does not cover it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briardene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briardene Hotel

Address: 56 Kelso Avenue, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thornton Cleveleys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Cleveleys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briardene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Briardene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briardene Hotel Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briardene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.