We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milowai #404” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milowai

Milowai
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maalaea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milowai
Save Saved
You added Milowai to your Saves list
50 Hauoli Street, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793   |  
Hotel amenities
Sherwood, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Milowai #404”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed 7 days in Milowai #404 for our honeymoon. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The unit was comfortable and clean. We did some grocery shopping and ate many of our meals in. The kitchen was well supplied with cooking utensils and dishes/pans. We made great use of the ocean-side BBQs. The unit has ceiling fans and air conditioning (which we didn't use). It also has an HDTV, blu-ray player, Wi-Fi, and a printer for your boarding passes. The in-unit washer and dryer and dish washer are incredibly convenient. The underground reserved parking space also rocked.

I was concerned about wind when we booked the condo. I was pleasantly surprised to find the lanai is well sheltered. Even when walking on the golf-green lawn, the wind was never more than a comforting cool breeze. We watched turtles, whales, and spear fishermen from the lanai every day. A short walk to the west you will find shops and restaurants and even a little store. If you walk east to the end of the road, you will be on a beautiful beach that extends for miles. We walked for an hour one morning and could have easily walked for two or more.

The other reviews mentioned the central location. You can conveniently drive to Lahaina for shopping, restaurants, and the night life. Kihei has great family beaches and more shopping and restaurants. The owner was very professional to work with. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Super comfortable location. Our 13th visit to Maui and we have stayed many places, but our favorite is on Ma'alaea. This condo was perfect. Luxury, well equipped, free parking, super clean, and walking to the harbor shops to eat or walking Sugar Beach was exactly what we wanted. Loved the view and also seeing the whales. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This property has everything you need. It is a one bedroom condo with an updated kitchen. You may not be able to get away from the ocean view on the lanai however to go enjoy all this unit has to offer. The whale watching was amazing and we did not have to leave to enjoy it. The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans and utensils. There are chairs and beach towels. There is also a laundry unit in the condo. This is a great spot to call home. You are right in the middle, so wherever you choose to be on the Island for the day, it is an easy trip. There are also some great places to eat and drink with in walking distance. If you choose to turn on the TV, it is dialed. We were able to listen to Pandora and view our photo's. What a super fun place to be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My husand and I are just finishing up a week at Milowai, unit #311,in Maalea. This is our first visit to Maui and we are extremely pleased with the location and the condo we rented through HomeAway. It is a large, beautifully appointed unit with every amenity. The owners are easy to contact and very helpful. Maalaea is well-situated on the south coast. The condo has a gorgeous view of Maalaea Harbor and the coast stretching further south to Kihei and beyond. We've seen whales from the extra wide lanai! Maalaea is a laid back area, unspoiled by the kind of huge, luxury resorts that block the views and beach access of the North Shore. There is a swimming and sunset-walking beach just down the road. We've also even going to the Kihei beaches, about a 15 minute drive. It's been a wonderful vacation and we would come back to the same place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Milowai # 404. The pictures on the website are completely accurate. This place is clean and comfortable. The view from the lanai is just like the one on the website. The location is great if you plan to tour the island. It is centrally located, and in a quiet area. The only sounds you hear at night are the soothing sounds of the ocean. The owners are great to deal with. Friendly and professional. They really want you to enjoy your stay. If the dates you are looking are open, book it now. This place fills up fast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband, 11 yr old son and I stayed for 10 days at 205 Milowai and it could not have been any better. This was a one bedroom (queen bed) condo with an additional queen size pull out sofa. Barbara, the owner, gave us great information and advise before we arrived and it all proved to be very useful and beneficial. It was great to have a washer and dryer handy right in the apartment. The wifi proved to be reliable. The apartment was not "fancy" (afraid to actually live in it), but was very clean, well supplied and wonderfully comfortable. On our arrival, we found banana bread, a pineapple and kona coffee that Barbara had left us as a welcome to Maui gift. Very sweet.

There were also plenty of beach toys available for our use. Buckets and shovels for the kids, sand chairs for us, boogie boards, flippers, etc. It was a great treat that made our beach time even better.

Maalaea is a bit off the beaten path, so it's the best area on the island to relax. It is not invaded by hoards of tourists underfoot. It's quiet and very low key. Every morning, I was able to sit out on the lanai with my coffee and watch the humpback whales frolicking in the bay right in front of me.

The location is perfect, central, with an easy drive to Lahaina or Kehei (which we liked). If we ever return, it would seem silly to stay anywhere else. We really lucked out with this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Milowai 301 for three weeks in July and had a wonderful time. The apartment is newly refurbished with new appliances, kitchen cabinets, granite countertops, equally beautiful bathroom, and bedroom fitted with nice furniture and a large closet. Good wireless Internet which provided more than enough bandwidth for us, and a tv/DVD/blue-ray (but bring ur own DVDs etc). The apt was also fitted with enough towels (including beach towels) to last us three weeks without having to wash a single one!

The apartment is a great size for couple and we especially loved the balcony overlooking the ocean. We loved listening to the ocean; it was the reason we chose this rental property in the first place and it didn't disappoint. We ate at least two meals each day on balcony, often using the common BBQ to cook our meals. Although the property faces the ocean, it is too rocky to swim in the water there. However, there is a sand beach within five minute walking distance. The premises overall are kept pristine; cleaned daily by staff who looked after the entire property (not the apt), BBQs and pool.

We thought the apartment was in a fantastic location for getting to the hotspots of Maui (provided u had a car). It's only 30mins from airport, 10 mins from Kihei, 10-15 mins from Lahaina, and 5-10 mins from the Iao valley. It was a very central location. We admittedly spent most of our time in southern Maui at big beach and wailea, or northern Maui at kaplua beach. We didn't find the journeys to these arduous. Others on tripadvisor have mentioned sugar cane burning, which happens at night, but it never bothered us.

My husband and I highly recommend Milowai 301; wish we were there now sitting on the balcony listening to the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milowai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milowai

Address: 50 Hauoli Street, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Maalaea
Also Known As:
Milowai Maui/Maalaea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milowai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.