We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whales an snorkel--great trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Whale Foundation

Pacific Whale Foundation
300 Ma'alaea Road, Suite 211, Harbor Shops at Ma'alaea, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
+1 808-249-8811
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Maalaea
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts! The nonprofit Pacific Whale Foundation offers thrilling and fun ocean ecotours based on more then 34 years of marine research and ocean ecotour experience. Pacific Whale Foundation offers cruises for every style of adventure, including ocean raft adventures, whale watches, wild dolphin encounters, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, and stargazing tours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels (including ocean rafts and double-deck catamarans) in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified marine naturalists and biologists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: 100% of the profits go to support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“whales an snorkel--great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

we did the molokini an lanai trip--too windy to go to molokini but it was even better that we didnt because we saw so many more whales on the way to lanai an eels an turtles an a octopus an so much more!!!!!! trent the crew guy walking around talking to us all was so fun an great at pointing out the best area to find the coolest fish an eels an such! loved the day! best trip on maui bedisdes the "bike it maui" sunrise trip!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,896
    287
    99
    44
    63
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Informative Whale Watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I went on a two hour whale watching trip on a "raft" with room for 28. The naturalist was informative without bombarding us with informational detail. We got to see a whale and her baby and three males competing so it was a good day for whale watching. The ride though a bit bumpy was comfortable; hardly "adventurous" as advertised. I would definitely recommend it and the money goes to a great cause. My one (not really complaint) minus would be that the captain did not get as close to the whales as the other boats did. Perhaps he was just following the rules and they were being a bit too bold and not respecting the whales.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
“Amazing Dinner Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a lovely dinner, saw the sunset, and saw whales up close! All accompanied by wonderful service and live entertainment. This is a great company and their profits go towards protecting the whales. I highly recommend Pacific Whale Foundation! Very reasonable rates too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superb snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our daughter and friend were visiting and my husband taught them to snorkel. We booked a 6 hour eco excursion and although due to winds we could not go to our original destination the crew found 3 excellent spots - as a bonus we got to see whales and dolphins during our trip. The snorkel group were treated to fish, turtles, a turtle washing station and a Manta ray WOW . Great crew, great service and food, great time! Thank you PWF

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Whale of a GOOD TIME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

On a spectacular day, we had a spectacular experience for a lifetime -- seeing more than a dozen whales vying for a female's attention. With the amazing grace in motion of the whales accompanied by very interesting scholarly commentary by the whale expert naturalists we learned more than we expected. A MUST GO ADVENTURE if you get to Maui and do go WITH THE PACIFIC WHALE FOUNDATION who cares about the welfare of the whales and will let you experience them in a way that is safe for both you and the whales! ALOHA!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Whale Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.