We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molokini Am Snorkel trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Whale Foundation

Pacific Whale Foundation
300 Ma'alaea Road, Suite 211, Harbor Shops at Ma'alaea, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
+1 808-249-8811
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$71*
and up
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts! The nonprofit Pacific Whale Foundation offers thrilling and fun ocean ecotours based on more then 34 years of marine research and ocean ecotour experience. Pacific Whale Foundation offers cruises for every style of adventure, including ocean raft adventures, whale watches, wild dolphin encounters, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, and stargazing tours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels (including ocean rafts and double-deck catamarans) in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified marine naturalists and biologists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: 100% of the profits go to support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Molokini Am Snorkel trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Try to book for the morning since the water is calmer and the wind hasn't pick up. In a relatively safe protected bay inside the crescent shape of Molokini. Beautiful views of the whole west side of Maui along with Kahoolowe and Haleakala. Lunch was provided (the veggie burger was great!). Bathrooms on board with all your snorkel gear. They will CHARGE you extra if you want a rash guard/wet suit, so bring your own if you think you will need it. Bring Jacket and towel for the ride back because you will get chilly. And top of your day with some beer at beach bums (located at the bottom of the shopping center near Pacific Whale office)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,291
    340
    117
    57
    75
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“PREMIER DINNER CRUISE WAS GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Did the PWF Premier Dinner Cruise on Friday night, 6-28-13. Great Food, Great Sevice and an awesome time. Thanks PWF for another outstanding evening! MAHALO MAHALO

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it....sunset dinner cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband & I loved everything about the sunset dinner cruise. We upgraded to to the premium seating and were so glad we did. The view was phoenominal and the sunset was breathtaking. Our entertainment was enjoyable, we loved the story he told as he sang. The food was excellent, it was our first time trying a purple sweet potato....wishing we could find them here back in Chicago. The crew was also great...fun personalities and goes out of their way to make the experience even better. Overall, well worth the money and time! Would definitely do this again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sea turtles, dolphins and amazing views - what an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a superb trip and great value for money. What's best is that the money you give is going to a charity rather than a money making organisation.

The tour itself was fantastic. The boat was perfect for getting up close, yet it was was a smooth and comfortable ride.

The crew were knowledgeable, friendly, fun and safety aware.

We saw some great sites around Lana'i, with the cultural stories told as well. The snorkeling was great, spot one allowed us to see literally tonnes of turtles, they were everywhere you turned... amazing!!

The next couple of spots were fantastic too with gorgeous tropical fish. Kinda like swimming in an aquarium.

The breakfast and lunch were delicious. Couldn't believe how much food you got.

The whole experience was topped off by seeing a huge pod of spinner dolphins on the journey back. There were literally about 40 easily, surrounding the boat. They came very close to us and were jumping out of the water doing all sorts of acrobatics. It was breath taking and made a perfect end to a perfect 6hr trip.

I would advise all to book this trip; you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Molokini..PWF was great but little underwhelmed by Molokini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

PWF was great but the overall Molokini experience was underwhelming. We did not see as much sea life as we had expected. Black Rock in Kanapalli was awesome in comparison. The crew in PWF was great, so was the food and journey..They did their best. Will ride with PWF again..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Whale Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.