We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Overcooked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Restaurant - CLOSED

Waterfront Restaurant
300 Ma'alaea Road, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
808-244-9028
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 30
Transit: Maui Bus drop off and pick-up within 50 feet of entrance.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fish Overcooked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Both my husband and I had the ono special for lunch. The fish was fresh, but it was overcooked to the point of being rather dry and chewy. We don't like overly sauced seafood, so we had the salsa on the side, as well as a sweet-sour type of spicy sauce. Both were well prepared and tasty, but such a shame to ruin the fish! Service was very good, as was the lovely view. The restaurant would do well to put a larger parking sign on the front to indicate parking just down the road. We made the mistake of turning on the side road to look for a spot, when there was a huge parking lot on route 30, must down the road from the restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Aloha and thank you for the review. We do try to not overdo on the fish, Ono being a very firm fish to begin with. If the Ono was broiled rather than sauteed, this adds to the firmness and tendency to dry out. Perhaps trying it sauteed, it is marvelous. For signage, Maui is very limiting on what can be done. Maui Outdoor Circle, a local Maui group, has fought long and hard to keep Maui's scenery as wonderful as it can be by preventing billboards, neon, and too many signs, often to the detriment of being helpful. I am glad you enjoyed your service and view. Please try us again and let your server know if you weren't happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    50
    36
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We ate dinner here after the pacific whale fnd whale watching, cruise. Location is very convenient to the whale people and parking plentiful. Atmosphere was good, light and airy with light breezes flowing through. Nice view of the harbor. We were seated quickly and experienced excellent service. Selection and quality of the food and wine were first-rate. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for our last meal on Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went to the Waterfront for lunch before our visit to the aquarium on our last day in Maui. We had a very good meal and the server was friendly and helpful. The view of the harbor and the breeze blowing through the restaurant will serve as happy memories for many years to come.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, fl
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First off, the restaurant is hard to find at nite & of course has no special view in the darkness.

Interior looks like a notch up from an Applebees...nice French doors open to an outside patio; too bad the nite we were there it was too chilly to sit out there.

Waiter was a tad pushy & snooty for this establishment. I had high hopes for this place since they served monchongo which I love & it's hard to find it on menus. It was just so-so (although the leftovers tasted a bit better the next day), The folks at the table beside ours told us the caesar salad was the best ever...we weren't going to order it; but, reconsidered...found it pretty average, even though it's made table-side.

All-in-all, not a place I would seek out again...absolutely no wow-factor and just as expensive as more high-end restaurants that actually have a great view...oh, well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great view, great menu, and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This Ma'alaea restaurant has been around for many years, but now is in a larger, more convenient, and beautifully decorated location. The best part of this restaurant is that they offer a broader selection of entree's such as lamb, and pork, plus many varieties of beef & seafood. Service is impeccable, the sauces spectacular, and although speedy, this restaurant is much better priced than other $$$$ restaurants, particularly given the taste, variety, and service. Our server, Michael, was excellent. Note: Although the bottled wine selection is excellent, several of the "by the glass" offerings were mediocre, although certainly acceptable. This will certainly be a " must visit" stop in any future visits to Maui.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.