We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Family owned restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Restaurant - CLOSED

Waterfront Restaurant
300 Ma'alaea Road, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
808-244-9028
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 30
Transit: Maui Bus drop off and pick-up within 50 feet of entrance.
maui
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great Family owned restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I LOVE this restaurant!!! It's family owned by two Brothers, Gary and Rick Smith. They Recently moved from a location they had been in for years,
and the new location is far bigger with great views and a larger kitchen
Service is great, with many of their servers having been there for over 15 years. you'll find one of the brothers, Rick or gary greeting you at the door. Food is fantastic, and save a little room for their desserts. My favorite is the cheesecake...This is my go to restaurant any time I have anything to celebrate!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for dining with us. Come try our new lunch, it's amazing! Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    130
    50
    36
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Dinner Away from the Crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a delicious dinner at the Maalaea Waterfront Restaurant. We went to the Waterfront to meet friends who live on Maui. This was their suggestion, and it was a good one. The restaurant recently moved; so this may be the cause of some of the confusion in reviews where folks said that it was closed. I understand that they were closed for a short time, due to a complication in the move, but they are now open. The restaurant is located at the rear of a small shopping area on Route 30, where the Maui Aquarium is located. The dining room is nicely apportioned with a great view of Maalaea Harbor with the Haleakala Summit, Wailea and the upcountry in the background. At night, the lights of the upcountry on the mountainside are beautiful. At the time of our visit in Mid August 2012, they were only open for dinner, but the waiter said that they were planning to start a lunch service in a “couple of weeks.”
We arrived a half hour early to meet our friends, so we went up to the bar for an appetizer and a beverage. We had the Kalua Pork Spring Rolls. The spring rolls included slow roasted smoked pork, Napa Cabbage, Shitake Mushrooms, Onions, Carrots, Celery and were served with a Hawaiian Chile and rice wine vinaigrette. These were delicious. With 2 non-alcohol beverages the appetizer cost about $20. Before the tip. We also enjoyed some good friendly conversation at the bar.
When our friends arrived, we were seated for the meal. For the main course, my girlfriend ordered the fresh Monchong Fish wrapped in ribbons of fine angel hair potato, sautéed and topped with fresh scallions (aka green onions), mushrooms, tomatoes and a lemon buerre blanc. As a side, the dish included seasoned rice pilaf. I had the Venison Christian. This dish consisted of 3 or 4 seared New Zealand Red Deer Medallions with an infused demi-glaze, topped with black tiger shrimp (That were out of this world), fresh asparagus, Kamuela Tomato béarnaise and served with garlic mashed potatoes. For dessert we each had the White Chocolate Blueberry Cheese Cake. The Blueberries were in the cheesecake – which was much better than the typical toppings that you see. The cheesecake had a Oreo Cookie crust and was topped with a Lemon Crème Fraiche drizzle. The entrée and dessert for two totaled about $96 before the tip. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. There is ample free self parking at the shops of Maalaea, by the Maui Aquarium. Maalaea is not as busy as many of the other tourist areas of Maui – especially at dinner time. Maalaea is a nice place to go for a delicious dinner without the congestion and the crowds of Ka’anapali, Lahaina, Paia or Wailea. To enter, turn off Route 30 at the light by the JCarl’s/Circle K. You will see the shops and the aquarium. Once you park, walk through the shopping area – The waterfront is at the rear.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again! Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really nice place to eat with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I took my mom for her birthday here mostly because of their commercials on the radio. It has wonderfull ambience, very nice with outside eating or indoors with a view. Either way it was good. Our waitress, Cheryl (sp) was great. I saw that bread was discussed so i waited to see how it was handled. She offered us bread and she brought one loaf, which was enough for three. Our water glasses were never empty, however, an offer to refill my coke or if we wanted another island drink would have been better. Most places we go dont offer the coke refill, so i thought id see how this went. I wanted to order the shrimp corn dogs for apps but they were out. We were there at 6 and they open at 5, so they werent really out, they just didnt have any that night. Which means to me they are not made there, but some sort of pre package. Maybe Im wrong, but if they were made on sight, i dont think they would have been out. Our entree's were great. I had the ciopino, lots of seafood and a nice spice in the sauce. We also had the pork tenderloin and the sea bass all wonderful, done to perfection and very tastey. for dessert, i wanted the Maalaea crunch, but they were out of that too. same wonder as above. They bought my moms dessert for her birthday, thank you cheryl and management. over all we had a great time but it cost us just as much to eat here as momas fish and if i had to choose, i would take momas house just for more of the hawaiian feel and atmosphere and menu. Still this is more of a fine dining than momas though. So i feel this is a must not miss.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Aloha Mark, thank you for dining with us. The corn dog and Maalaea Crunch bar that you mentioned are made in house, as are all of our dishes, . The reason we were out is they are new menu items that did not make the cut of things to have available. Fine items, but not received with applause. Hopefully the bread and water issues we had have been resolved. The Mayor had asked Maui restaurants to have water available upon request, due to water shortages. We tried this, only to discover that people expected water upon arrival. Bread was pretty much the same issue, we tried to make it available upon request and waste is high with the gluten free movement. We now serve bread when the order is placed. I'm glad you had a good experience and hopefully will return. Ask for Cheryl, and I'm sure you will enjoy your experience! Thank You Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Waterfront is Back. Better than Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Waterfront. The kitchen and menu at the new location have been expanded. Our guests who who ordered the fresh fish entrees were extremely happy. I tried the Venison and found it delightful. Caesar salads made at the table to start and finished off with homemade desserts. We dined on the lanai and enjoyed the beautiful Harbor and Haleakala views. Service was attentive and superb. The interior of the new location is fresh, upbeat and relaxing. Although we dined on the lanai, it appears that there is not a bad seat in the house. Try the Waterfront at its new location. We were very pleased and will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much. Hope to see you again soon! Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overall, very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We dined outdoors on a cool, windy evening. Great ambiance at the new location. Food and service were both very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for joining us. Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.