We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best oceanfront deal on Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Sands Resort

Save Saved
You added Island Sands Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   150 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793   |  
Hotel amenities
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best oceanfront deal on Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed for 10 nights in unit #608 of the Island Sands. The unit is a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo with full kitchen. Overall, it was an excellent experience and we would definitely stay there again on a future vacation.

Pros:
- Direct oceanfront with unobstructed views
- 2 bedroom 2 bathroom layout ideal for 2 couples
- Tastefully renovated condo with granite counter tops, nice tile, comfortable furniture etc.
- Fully equipped kitchen with all pots, pans, dishes, toaster, blender, dishwasher etc.
- Washer and dryer
- Great large covered lanai
- Cable TV, wireless internet, and local phone included
- Common oceanfront pool and bbq area
- Friendly group of owners and visitors when we were there
- A few shops and restaurants within walking distance
- A reasonably nice sandy beach walking distance down the road
- Centrally located (10 min drive to Kihei or Kahului, 20 mins to Wailea, 35 mins to Kaanapali)
- Reasonable price (published rate was $175 in the off-season)
- Rent directly from the owner Leslie, who was very friendly and pleasant to deal with
- Free parking

Cons:
- Can get very windy in the late afternoon and evening (the wind makes lots of noise at night
- Quiet condo complex, so don't go there looking for a party
- You have to be willing to drive to go to the best beaches

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Maalea is in between Kihei and Lahaina- about a 20 minute drive to Kihei, 30 to Lahaina. It is quiet and there is little to do in this tiny harbor town. With that said, if you're looking for convenience and a place to escape from the non-stop movement of life, this is it. The Island Sands proved to be a great deal for us in terms of both cost and accessibility. We spent 11 nights in Unit 310 and though we missed out on the "nightlife" of Lahaina and Kihei, we had the best view we've had on any of the three islands we've visited.

The local beach is a park; it is a 5 minute walk down Ha'ouli Street- and an easy walk, as we did it daily with our three young children with little to no complaints.The beach there has the best of both worlds- areas with a decent swell and a tidal pool for those not looking to do any kind of "surfing"- body, board, etc. The pool at the resort is small, but nice to relax in and play in.

The room itself was dated, yes, but terribly convenient and comfortable. The winds kept the condo at a nice temperature; we turned off the AC after the first night and simply kept the screen door open and fans on after that.

There are a couple of good restaurants within 5 minutes drive, the Maui Ocean Center is up the street and is awesome, and the drive to the neighboring cities is easy. The Island Sands is not luxurious, but is just right for a family looking for a quiet home base while on the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Just got back from a great 9 night stay at the Island Sands #110. This unit is owned by a Maui realtor, and he has it well furnished (Bali style) and keeps it very clean. (I found it for rent on craigslist and VRBO.com) The unit was literally less than 20 steps from the ocean. The views of the Ma'alaea bay from the lanai were excellent, and we watched the "whale show" almost every morning. We saw many whales including breaches (moms and babies) just a few hundred yards from our porch each day. Ma'alaea is a great central location for exploring the island, and a lot of the snorkeling and whale watching trips leave from the Ma'alaea harbor that is just a short walk away. The condo (actually all of Ma'alaea) does have a lot of older people living in it so it is quiet. The area is very safe, parking is good, BBQs are nice, and the pool is okay but a little small. The bay is good for kayaking and stand up paddling. We were able to launch from a small sandy spot just in front of the condo. There is also a very nice beach (sugar beach) less than 5 min walk away. The snorkeling right in front of the condo is okay - we saw turtles there everyday. In the summer there is a good surf break right next to the condo on a nice south swell. The owner of this unit provided boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrella and a cooler that was a nice touch. As for the wind, we didn't find this place any windier than the rest of the island. Generally the morning was pretty calm then the trade winds would pick up by noon. We had only planned to stay 6 nights in the condo, but since we liked it so much we stayed another 3 nights! This unit (#110) was definitely one the nicest and cleanest in the complex and I highly recommend it. Mahalo!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Great Northwest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Maui Revealed (a questionable resource) disses it unfairly, but the beachfront village of Maalaea is beautiful, sunny, unspoiled, and possibly the best place on the island for families. Its wonderful trade wind breezes keep you cool outdoors. Maalaea's Maui Ocean Center is the best aquarium we have ever visited, has lots of nearby shops and places to eat, and a family fun center with miniature golf and other recreation is across the street. Maalaea Beach/Sugar Beach is very protected and you can walk it for miles. Because it runs through Kealia nature preserve it has no development from the three Maalaea complexes on it's northern end (Kanai a Nalu, Hono Kai and Makani a Kai) down to north Kihei. But Island Sands, which Maui Revealed recommends, is not on the sandy beach and our unit had little or no beach view. The outside was dark and somewhat foreboding looking. Inside our one bedroom condo, it was dingy, with old furnishings, and amenities were sparse. There was no dishwasher, and the only air conditioning was a unit in the living room. The bedroom was HOT (it was August, so maybe this would not be such a problem in the winter). There are much better places in Maalaea. Our second week was at Kanai a Nalu, which was actually on the beach and much nicer.

  • Liked — I really loved the Maalaea area-- much cooler than up in West Maui, very quiet and peaceful.
  • Disliked — After looking at the other condo complexes in Maalaea, this seemed the least nice.
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Sands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We spent 16 days at the Island Sands...Oct.21st to Nov 6th. Our condo was 303. The Condo met all of our needs, and then some.

I have read complaints re: the wind. When you go to Hawaii, you have to expect WIND..........and we had plenty!! We still wish we could go back SOON!!! The only complaint we had is the Beach! There is only ROCKS, but, again we would stay at the Island Sands AGAIN!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

We had two rooms and they were OK. It was hot while we were there and the air conditioning was a window unit that really only cooled the family room. The bedrooms had no cooling and especially the bedroom closest to the entrance was always hot and close. They have a lot of rules giving the impression they are more concerned about the permanent residents than they are about the renters (We have stayed at several other condos in Hawaii that did not have as many restrictions as the Island Sands). The pool was only open till 9:00 pm and listed in the typed page page of abbreviated rules as well as a sign in the pool area Marco Polo is not allowed in the pool. There are gas barbecues (one of the reasons we decided to stay here) but the wind was blowing so hard the fire kept going out. This property is across the street from a sugarcane field and large machinery stirred up a lot of dirt that got blown all over our balcony making it just about unusable. The parking spaces are so small we had to exit our minivan before parking and then have the thinest member of our group park the van and then exit with difficulty. There was a clothes washer, dryer and dishwasher in the room (another reason for our selection) but they were so noisy we avoided using them.

The beach at the end of the road is a nice one and a plus for this spot. The Island Sands are also very close to the Maui Ocean Center if that is of interest to you. We rented our snorkel gear from Maui Dive Shop (we have used them before while in Maui) and they are also very close as well as the marina their boat is in if you take their snorkeling or diving excursion. Buzz's Wharf Restaurant in the marina has good food but is very expensive. We did not eat in the little shopping center near the marina.

We will certainly go to Maui again but we will stay someplace else in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restrictions, wind, dirt and condition of appliances in the condo.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san bruno, california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We were very pleased with everything about our stay. We could view the whales, and turtles right off from the lanai. We didn't need to us the air conditioning, (but it worked fine). The trade winds blew thru our unit, which was lovely. The sandy beach at the dead end of this street is a close walk, and you can walk it entirely 3 - 4 miles of white sand beach. The restaurants and shops are about a block away, and the restaurants were excellent! What a deal for a oceanfront condo! Our room was #604, & charming in a hawaiian motif, and quite clean. We will definately return.
V & J

  • Liked — Location was central to everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about....
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sands Resort

Address: 150 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Maalaea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Sands Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Island Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sands Hotel Maalaea
Maui Island Sands Resort
Island Sands Maui
Island Sands Resort Maui/Maalaea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.