We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun vacation, awesome condo #519!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Island Sands Resort to your Saves list
Island Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   150 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793   |  
Hotel amenities
Dana Point, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun vacation, awesome condo #519!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Pros- Great location, very nice condo, well equipped- has every thing and anything you would need during the vacation!

Cons- Badly needs some drapes in the living room to control the furnace like feeling and save on electricity in turn!! The only AC in the living room, doesnt help :(

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed recently (last week), and thanks to CRH management for being hospitable, courteous, and considerate in giving us an awesome room with a view (612). Amazing, we could not ask for more. Condo was clean and the views breathtaking! Waking up every morning to a picturisque ocean view exceeded my dreams. The condo comes stocked with all your basic necessities, even a washer/dryer. Rooms and furniture are a little dated, but not a big deal when you can see and hear the ocean everyday. Keep in mind these are condo units, not a resort like name says. Pool is relaxing after a long day and beach is just a short walk. BBQ gas grills made cooking our steaks from Costco easy and delicious (tongs and lighters provided). Convenient location on Ma'alea bay with view of Haleakala puts you in the center of everything! Ocean center and a number of great restaurants are within walking distance. If you like to snorkel, or surf the beach is just right out your door providing lots to see. We saw a number of sea turtles and fish. I highly recommend this place for the location, cleanliness, and views. Staff was hospitable and people who live at condos are very friendly and nice. The only thing I don't recommend is getting a late flight out of Maui. CRH will not store your bags or give you late check-out during busy seasons. So finding a place to put your luggage for a late flight can be a hassle. Other than that, have fun at the Island Sands.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of Island Sands and our management company. I am glad the condo and service met all your expectations. I am sorry we could not accommodate a free late checkout during your stay. During the peak season our normal policy is that guests can call us 24-hours prior to departure to see if they can have a complimentary checkout of 3pm or pay for a late checkout of 7pm (half day fee). There must have been a guest arriving the same day you were departing, so the room had to be cleaned and prepared for the new guest arriving at 3pm. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again at the Island Sands!

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 9 nights at the Island Sands Resort and thought it was great. Very clean with a nice heated pool. Free donuts on Friday mornings! We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and the ocean. There isn't much of a beach in front of the resort but it is only a short walk away. Just hit Costco as you leave the airport and everything else you need is right there including BBQ grills.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Island Sands. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the vacation condos our company manages, but I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the heated pool, ocean views, and BBQ grills. We hope to see you again at the Island Sands in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a terrible place to stay. There is construction noise next door and we were not told this was going to happen during our stay March 30th thru April 8th 2013. Construction dust was blowing on the Patio area for three days. Clean up was by me the occupant.The noise from the jackhammer for three days was loud and not peaceful. The rest of the week there was pounding.There were cockroaches in the condo. The elevator is right next to the bedroom along with a fish pond. This noise will not let you sleep. Condo # 107 is a place to avoid. No one apologized, no discount was given and since this is a condo they knew this was going to occur. Traveler beware.

Room Tip: Stay on another floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Vacation Rental Agency at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha Mary,

We manage condo 107 at the Island Sands. I am sorry that the owner of a condo near you decided to do renovations to their private condo that was located near your rental. We were not made aware of this private renovation. I wish you would have let us know about your issues earlier in your stay so we could have moved you to a better location. We manage a majority of the vacation rentals at Island Sands and would have found you a great alternative. We have policies set in place to check in on guests with a phone call a day or two after their arrival to see how everything is and we did not hear of any concerns from you at that time or any time during your 9-night stay (you did let us know at checkout). Again, I wish you would have let us know you were not happy with the condo and we would have promptly moved you to another condo so the rest of your stay could be enjoyable.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek,CA.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are traveling to Maui, this condo is as perfect as you can get. It's beautifully decorated, spotless and well maintained. The furnishings are high quality, the beds are comfortable, and the view is fantastic The location is very quiet and romantic..It has all the comforts of home and numerous thoughtful details the owner has provided including a delicious welcome basket and beautiful, fresh tropical flowers. The unit has A/C but we never used it because the ceiling fans and open sliding doors provided lots of ventilation. It's central location on the island makes it easy to access all other sightseeing and activity locations on island. The condo is oceanfront - you can hear the waves from your bed - and the 7 mile long beach is a short walk down the street. The pool area is very nice and is also oceanfront. We are repeat guests and will stay again as it is our favorite place to stay - we have not found anything we have enjoyed more. Nikta, the owner, is a joy to work with and very helpful if you need advice or recommendations

Room Tip: Comfort, location and a good view are king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a very quiet part of the island (Maalaea). There was little noise and no traffic to speak of. This is in direct contrast to the area down Kihei road on the other side of the bay, which has a lot of people and cars and traffic (relatively speaking -- this is Maui, after all). I stayed in a second floor unit, managed by the owner, that looks directly out over the ocean (that is, not a side view) and could hear the constant sound of small waves coming in from the bay. The sun rises over the mountain/volcano on the far shore and directly into the living room. The unit had everything I needed: washer/dryer stack, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, living room. About 2/10 of a mile away is a beach park that provides access to the beach along the bay, so I was able to run on the sand every day. I was there on business and enjoyed the peace and quiet, but the unit would have been suitable for two, also. The resort is remote, so having a car was required.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Maalaea (pronounced Ma-ah-lai-a as I soon learned!) is the perfect place to stay on Maui, central to everywhere you may want to explore, and coming home to those Tradewinds at the end of a hot day was heaven!

The Island Sands complex is very nice (love the koi pond!), the pool was small but pretty. With the Tradewinds in the afternoon, it can get cool (October) and it would have been nice to have a jacuzzi (the big grassy area in the corner is begging for one). The gas grills looked old and didn't encourage me to try and use them. They have carts available to schlep your luggage/groceries located near the manager's office (didn't realize that until the end).

We stayed in unit #512, which was on the very end, the 5th of 6 floors. It was a beautiful condo, nicely decorated, with stunning views, and no neighbor or street noise -- the only noise was the lightly crashing waves below our window. The sub-zero refrigerator was incredible, living room furniture comfortable, and beach amenities very helpful (chairs, cooler and 2 umbrellas, though one umbrella was broken).

Unfortunately I have to say I wouldn't stay there again though until they upgrade their beds/pillows/linens. The beds were hard as a rock, the pillows stiff, sweaty foam and the sheets were pilled and uncomfortable on bare skin in the sticky heat (we didn't use the A/C to save energy). That may sound petty to some, but a good night's sleep is essential to me and nobody in our party of three slept well. It also needs a shade screen on the patio to block the bright a.m. sun as it makes the living room unusable -- we were all huddled on one side of the room drinking our coffee. These are easily fixable things if the owner chooses to do so, so I'm still giving it a good rating.

Oh, and Stephanie Stark, the manager from I Go Maui Vacations was wonderful to work with!

Room Tip: On our side of the complex, units 112, 212, 312, 412, 512 and 612 would be best if available for ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Island Sands Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Island Sands. Our condo management company does not manage the particular condo you stayed in, but we agree the location of Island Sands is convenient for exploring the entire island. Don’t know if you had a chance to visit the Maui Ocean Center (within walking distance), but that is a definite must-do if you return to Maui.

Mahalo and happy travels,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sands Resort

Address: 150 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Maalaea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sands Hotel Maalaea
Maui Island Sands Resort
Island Sands Maui
Island Sands Resort Maui/Maalaea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.