We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina view, pub-style food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bums Bar & Grill

Beach Bums Bar & Grill
300 Maalaea Road, Maalaea, Maui, HI
808-243-2286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Marina view, pub-style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Ordered take out after a long day at the beach. Order filled very quickly and was able to view menu online, call to place the order and picked up with in 20 minutes.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    211
    77
    31
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good smoked meats.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a very crowded restaurant off the harbor and was well worth the wait. There are many choices on the menu to choose from and all look good. We had everything from brisket to sausage to salads and everyone was happy with their meals. Try the house hot sauce which was excellent. Wish I would have brought some back!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Food and service were great. Not much different from any other beach-side place on Maui, but reasonable prices with good food always turn me on,

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not bad for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were after a quick casual lunch spot and that's what Beach Bums is, quite rough and ready and while we were there they seemed inundated with flies. Having said all that the food was ok, pretty decent pulled pork sandwich and sweet potato fries - outside seating looking out to sea.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“CaliMaui at its most comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beach Bums will never be a gourmet destination or be on the James Beard Foundation's list of top spots but they serve up large portions of decent to quite good food, generous drinks, and a laid-back-friendly attitude from the staff in a way that makes me love the place. We had breakfast twice and dinner once on our latest visit to Maui and it was just as enjoyable as it was on our visit 4 years ago. Rib Night, if they're doing it, is not to be missed. I admit that I may be prejudiced because this is the only place I've ever eaten where I could coax a sparrow to eat rice off my fingertips at breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bums Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Beach Bums Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bums Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.