We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location bad food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bums Bar & Grill

Beach Bums Bar & Grill
300 Maalaea Road, Maalaea, Maui, HI
808-243-2286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Maalaea
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Kelowna B.C. Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good location across the street from the marina, vibe is good, friendly staff. Ordered Nachos and received fries smothered in chees and pulled pork with a spoonful of sour cream on top. Really gross, greasy. We askes the waitress to take it away, that we did not like or want this part of our meal. She left it on our bill. We were not impressed at all. We also ordered sliders, stale buns and rather tasteless. The crab cakes weren't much better. The drinks were good though. I would reccomend going here for the drinks and nightly entertainment. Skip the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    181
    61
    28
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great late night dinning in Ma'alaea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We wanted to eat close by the condo our first night, so we chose Beach Bums, and we weren't disappointed. Justin was our server and was very friendly, even though he was obviously busy with a large party. Honestly, he made great suggestions, both for our meal and beers. My prime rib melt was so good. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful bar and Grill at Maalaea Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a group of 14 people and we were there for happy hour, dinner and dessert. The service was wonderful, the waiter introduced himself by name and then remembered all of our names and would ask us by name if we wanted a refill. The nachos with the pulled pork was absolutely huge. The deep smokey BBQ taste was wonderful. Fish Tacos with 2 sides was another excellent choice as well as the fish and chips. They have a "skinny salad" that would serve two people! The only drawback was the apple pie had the smoky BBQ taste. The ambience and live music sung by Mark Burnett made for a great get together.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 234 cities Reviews in 234 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
“One plate serves two--maybe three--in this barbecue restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We should have ordered one dish and split it. The plates were heaped high with food. I had the pulled pork barbecue and had them box up more than I ate, although I was able to finish the cole slaw and baked beans. There was a choice of two sauces in this semi-funky seaside restaurant/bar combination. We ordered the fried zucchini and horseradish sauce as an appetizer, but the zucchini appeared to have been frozen; as with the other dishes, there was more than enough for two. The license plates tacked to the walls were an interesting attraction while we waited for our meals, which was a short wait. Friendly and efficient service. The food is very good, but I strongly recommend you split a plate unless you want to leave a lot on the table. Reservations accepted only for parties of 6 or more, but we had no trouble being seated immediately at 7:00 on a Thursday evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite at Maalaea Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent views of Maalaea Harbor, but be prepared for the begging birds. This place had the best BBQ around. We went back 3 times (and we never do that!) because we enjoyed the food so much and they were so accommodating for my GF diet--an unusual experience for us on Maui. Had both the ribs and the sliced brisket. Ended up with at least one more meal from our leftovers. Our waiter, Danny, greeted us each visit like we were old friends. I hear the cornbread was fabulous. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bums Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Beach Bums Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bums Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.