We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, great hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkinca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kirkinca Hotel to your Saves list
Kirkinca Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Istihlas Mah. No 1 Sirince Koyu, Sirince 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirince
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful setting, great hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Kircinka is a lovely boutique hotel situated on a winding cobble stoned road near the top of Sirince Village. The rooms are small (there were 3 of us sharing) but trust me, in a village as picturesque as this one you wont spend much time indoors! The Turkish breakfast is wonderful and the terrace where you enjoy it has the most magnificent view of the village. Our host, Mustafa was most accommodating and couldn't be more helpful or welcoming. He walked us around the village, organised us a lift to their swimming pool a few km's away, and accommodated us in their other hotel in the centre of the village when we needed to stay an extra night. He went out of his way to organise us a taxi to Sirince late at night too. This type of service is rare in an industry as big as this. We were very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Katherine B ,

Thanks for such a nice review . We really appreciate it . We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    39
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
74
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I loved this quirky little hotel as soon as I arrived. It is based on a series of rooms which are arranged higgledy-pigglely on quite a steep site in Sirince, a small town near Selcuk in Turkey. The rooms are unique and far from the homogenised, air-conditioned places some travellers might prefer - so if you are looking for standardised accommodation, go somewhere else as this won't be for you.

But it is truly splendid. The rooms are large and furnished in quite an old-fashioned domestic style.The beds are large and very comfortable and there are various artisan touches [such as blinds in the windows]. The bathrooms are great but owe far more to their Turkish heritage than standard hotels - there's any amount of hot water and good quality toiletries.

Breakfast is on a small roof terrace. It is generous and, again, showcases local, rather than international, food. The Turkish black tea is wonderful. There is no dinner menur but the staff are happy to take your oder round the corner and bring a restaurant meal back to you so you can enjoy the scented night air and deep balck skies on the terrace.

The staff were lovely and very helpful.

I will be more than happy to visit again and intend to do so next year.

I found it one of the most magical places I have ever stayed - so much so that I wonder why I am recommending it so highly, I want to keep it for myself!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Lesley M ,

Thanks for such a nice review . We really appreciate it . We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked here, having read other reviews, and our first impressions were good, but ultimately we were quite disappointed.

Having arrived at the hotel ( which is a feat in itself as sirince has many narrow cobbled streets), we were told we were staying in a different venue. So we moved. Our room was quaint which can be enjoyable but here was challenging. My wife cut her leg three times on the edge of the bed, I received a large splinter in my hand just opening the door, the only power outlet to charge anything was in the bathroom as there were none in the bedroom and the cotton blanket didn't even reach the sides of the bed. The cupboard to hang clothes was dirty and there was no where to unpack anything The room had no key for the first few hours as noone was sure what had happened to it. there is no tv in the room and the external noise from everywhere - the courtyard , the neighboring restaurant and the hallway was quite intrusive.

The owner Suleyman was very helpful, the bathroom was pleasant wa Turkish type basin and hand shower and the courtyard area a lovely place to sit, but the negatives out weighed the positives. It has potential but it was just disappointing.


  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Rod4178,

Thanks for the review also your kind and nice suggestions for our hotel and sorry about the amateur staff we worked in the past. We improved our service ,rooms and management since then .We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Sirince is an interesting departure from the usual range of tourist accommodation choices in Turkey. Neither a big city nor a loud, prefabricated beach resort, Sirince is a mountainous village located conveniently close to Ephesus, Selcuk (and the beach). The village is heavily-touristed- like much of Turkey in the summer- but it is different nevertheless.

For that reason we chose Sirince for a three-night stay. We evaluated Kirkinca against competing hotel options in the village and were moderately pleased with our choice. But were we to consider Sirince again, we might choose another hotel for the price.

Kirkinca, like most Sirince hotels, is expensive in summer. Our 85-euro room was on the ground floor and close- a little too close for 85 euros- to a friendly, but active, village street and restaurant. Peace and quiet didn't happen until 11 at night, and then only until 5 AM, when the over-amplified minaret on the next street started blaring.

The staff were warm and wonderful. Not everyone spoke English with fluency, but they reserved our room with no down payment (a pleasant shift from Istanbul hotels), provided watermelon and refreshments unasked (and at no charge), and made what was definitely the most tasty and abundant breakfast of our 12-day Turkey visit.

The hotel's back patio (doubling as a little cafe) was comfortable and shady, even during a heat wave that made Ephesus a truly punishing experience in the sun. Our room, though a bit loud, was characterful, colorful, and comfortable.

Lastly, for independent travellers (sadly not the usual tourist in Turkey from our experience), Sirince was *relatively* easy to drive to and park in. The village-owned parking lot at the end of the road (Kirkinca provided helpful directions) charged a modest 4 TL per day.

Ultimately our only dissatisfaction out of a pleasant stay in Sirince was the relatively high cost of accommodations against the amenities provided. While it is hard to pick a Sirince hotel sight unseen, we might have considered other options, for a bit more money, to achieve a bit more privacy and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear dinornis,

Thanks for such a nice and detailed review . We really appreciate it . We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked Kirkinca Hotel for 2 nights so that we could visit Ephesus. After we arrived to the hotel and the village of Sirence, we ended up staying for two more nights. The hotel was located in a picturesque village set on a lush hill with fruit trees along the way. The friendly staff arranged for guides who had impeccable english and a deep knowledge of Ephesus, Aphodisias and Pamukkale as well as the Virgin Mary's house near Ephesus. We loved our stayed. The hotel has a lovely terrace where we had breakfast as well as a restaurant with excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Silvia R ,

Thanks for such a nice review . We really appreciate it . We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hi everyone.
Last year, we had a road trip with our bikes from İstanbul to Kusadası. Until kusadası,we stayed in 5 places, but Kırkınca was the best places. Serving and rooms were great.We felt like an authentic Anatolian village. Especially foods were awesome. Infact we were planing to stay 1 night but we couldn't leave that place and stayed 3 nights. If their reservations were available,we could stay more...
We are planing to make the same road trip this year, but this year we're planing to stay more than last year :)
I absolutely recommend Şirince and Kırkınca...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Harry_W78 ,

Thanks for such a nice review . We really appreciate it . We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We as 25 couples stayed at Kirkinca Hotel in Sirince during our 6th HBS OPM31 reunion in Turkey. Checked in in our historical rooms after visiting Virgin Mary's house in Selcuk. The welcoming was impressing. Cold drinks, special syrup and lots of smiles :))) Ilkan and Uzeyir brothers organized a spectacular traditional village wedding for us. The groom and the bride arrived and they are riding horses.The drum, the clarion, folk dancers... everything was amazing. They cooked traditional wedding meals for us. And finally a great dinner table at Arsipel restaurant with live music. The staff was very friendly. Thank you very much for this unforgettable experience and your hospitality.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear omersenguler,

Thanks for such a nice review . We really appreciate it . We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkinca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkinca Hotel

Address: Istihlas Mah. No 1 Sirince Koyu, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kirkinca Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirkinca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkinca Hotel Izmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkinca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.