We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Turkey favourite - heavenly!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nisanyan Evleri Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nisanyan Evleri Hotel to your Saves list
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Merkez Sirince Koyu, Sirince 35920, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Sirince B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our Turkey favourite - heavenly!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We travelled as a group of 8 friends and only had two nights here. Easily could have stayed for a few more nights simply to enjoy the accommodation and see more of the local area in a casual fashion.
The staff were a delight from the moment we arrived until we left. Always smiling and helpful, even when moving luggage around, which is saying a lot considering the geographical layout of this hotel, or preparing an early breakfast because of early departures.
The complex consists of many buildings on various levels high above the village of Sirince. There are some hotel style rooms above the main building and restaurant, and then there are many buildings which are old homes restored. We stayed in a Tower House which had five bedrooms (four of which we had booked). Most of these rooms were huge including sitting areas and some had balconies, while one room was a large size room for Turkey hotel room standards. All bathrooms were large.
The Tower House also had a large common area which had a fully equipped kitchen, large table and lounge chairs for everyone to use.
One night we had a sing a long in the common room with the aide of an ipod, and our guide with his guitar. A great night, but so relaxing as well, just like being at home!
Every room was individually decorated with its own character.
This was one of the few places where we could have laundry done and at a reasonable rate.
There is a pool, which even at the end of summer was a VERY brisk temperature, but some of our friends did manage to stay in and enjoy their swim during an afternoon of relaxtion. Personally I enjoyed sitting on a sun lounge under the trees around the pool and being amazed by the view.
There are a collection of animals - donkey, ducks, chickens, horses,throught the grounds.
Breakfast was a walk past the top of the accommodations under a timber terrace covered with vines overlooking the valley below. It was a delight to start each day with breakfast here, with all the home made produce including the fresh orange and grape juices. (The bees are also big fans of breakfast).
We did eat in the restaurant one evening for a birthday day for one of our friends, and everyone was very impressed with their meal.
From Sirince we visited Permagon and Efeseus and would have loved a few more days to visit more local sights.
We could walk down to the village in about 10 minutes via a stone path that was reasonably steep, but an enjoyable walk with the views on the way. We are all in our early 50's and I would suggest that this walk may not be ideal for older folk depending on their level of fitness.
When choosing our accomodation for this trip we made a concious effort to choose boutique options where ever possible and this was a standout, which once we arrived even surpassed our hopes.We all wished we could have stayed here longer just to chill and enjoy the ambience.

Room Tip: Tower House accommodation was great, and the common room and added bonus.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    54
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
115
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great experience staying in this we'll thought out hotel. Breakfast served at the table with fabulous mezze and fresh cooked eggs. Yummy. Dinner looked a little pricey but in retrospect we should have splurged. The grounds reminded me of a gentlemans farm and they used the bounty in their kitchen. The views were fabulous. Too cold for the pool but it looked super. Lots of care an attention to decor and comfort. It is evident that the guest was the focus.
Our room was in the Tower house, which boasted a communal kitchen and living room and maybe 5 rooms. Our room 4 and room 3 were in the back on the upper level. Very private but no heat. The staff did provide a space heater to ward off the chill from cold and rain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent two nights with a group of 7 friends. Had a room in the Tower building - rooms are decorated tastefully with a real cottage feel to it. Number of cottages spread out over the property with a few boardering the market area. View from these cottages would not be that good as from the others higher up on the landscape.

Staff are extremely helpful, friendly and courteous (a very warm welcome on arrival with a glass of elderberry wine). Fully equiped and well supplied kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, coffee/tea etc and plenty of supplies. They will do your laundry at a minimal cost.

Breakfast - simple but yummy (you have to request for eggs) with a stunning view of the surrounding hills. This is not a modern hotel - no TV in the rooms for couch potatoes - however this is not the reason one stays over in the delightful B&B. There is a small pool - unheated. Walk downhill to the market area is about 10 mts - can be a bit steep for older guests. Had dinner in the hotel one night and could not fault it - delicious. Wish we had an extra night just to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was fortunate to spend 2 nights including my birthday during a 3 week tour of Turkey. As described in all the reviews, this place oozes charm from it's beautiful hill top location overlooking the small village of Sirince..pronounced Sirinjay. This 19th Century B&B is not a Hotel but an exquisite complex of houses which offer uniquely decorated rooms of varying sizes. We were a group of 8 friends and stayed in the Tower House. We were also lucky to have full use of the huge farmhouse kitchen, to enjoy drinks with our friends. The rooms are of varying sizes, some had sitting rooms and a little balcony, while others were an average size room, all the bathrooms were extremely spacious. Every convenience was taken into consideration, including a PC in the study area. We dined in the restaurant that night, and the food was exceptional.They even baked me a delicious chocolate birthday cake, which was shared with the other dining guests and staff. Breakfast was a highlight in the 'Terrace, overlooking the village.stunning views and again the food was delicious, and the hazelnut cresent biscuits, and freshly squeezed grape juice were to die for. Nisanyan isn't a glitzy 5 star hotel, but is is the most charming cosy inviting 5 star Boutique B&B to spend some time. It is more inviting because the all the smiling staff who treat you like family rather than guests. My only regret was that we didn't factor in a 3rd day, to enjoy to sit and immerse myself in this place and it's surrounds. Just a note of caution, if you are of the older generation, the 10 minute walk to the village may be difficult due to the steepness of the track. For us 50 yr olds it was an extremely pleasant stroll with some lovely scenery and photo opportunities along the way.

We spent 2 nights here touring Pergermom and Ephesus and I wished I have an extra

Room Tip: We loved the larger rooms in the Tower House and the farmhouse kitchen in that building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Most of the reviews seem to be about the actual inn, which sits above the town of Şırınce. There was nothing available for my friend and I, so we opted to stay at the house they have down the village proper.

Although we were staying in the village, check-in and check-out had to occur up at the inn. We parked in the village parking lot and called the office. A few minutes later one of the employees drove down to pick us up and take us to the inn. It is a narrow, winding road to get to the inn. Once there, we were served an elderberry drink and fruits from one of the trees on the property. After check in, we were driven back down again to pick up our luggage and be escorted to the house. Everyone was very thoughtful and helpful.

The house on a small village road with a few pensyons. The house appears to be divided into 3 rent-able spaces. We were in the top space (the other two spaces shared a level below). It had 2 bedrooms (2 twin beds, 1 queen bed), a small bathroom, and a living/dining room. Along the exterior of the house there is another set of stairs leading down into a small yard with a patio and apple trees that were were free to eat from (these stairs also lead to the 2 other rent-able units).

There is no wifi, telephone, or tv in this unit. It is a small village with roosters, tractors, donkeys, and a mosque instead. We really enjoyed walking throughout the village. There are plenty of shops, restaurants, and small convenience stores from which to get pretty much anything you really need. We sourced our first dinner in town by simply walking down the streets and buying some of the local produce, as well as some delicious local wine.

Although we were staying down in the village, we welcome to partake of breakfast at the inn. You can hike up to the inn if you wish to do so. Nothing in the village was really open at breakfast time, so make plans to get up early to get to the inn or pick up breakfast food in the village the night before.

Although we were down in the village, someone came in to clean the house just as the would have had we stayed at the main inn.

The house has a cozy, rustic charm to it. You don't get the pampering that you would get at the main inn, but that stuff isn't our style anyway- we very much preferred being busy and close to the activity of the village. We essentially rented a small house in this little village for a few days and it was great. During the evenings it was incredibly calm and quiet (with the exception of one particularly boisterous Friday night- the villagers were having some kind of a celebration). During the day there were a number of tourists wandering through the village. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here whilst travelling through Turkey on honeymoon. The advertising around Nisanyan concentrates heavily on it's boutique hotel status, and indeed the building is beautifully furnished, situated, and maintained, with a definite 'boutique' atmosphere. The views are to die for and each room is individually decorated- all in all a very tasteful environment to stay in.

I felt motivated to write a review however as I left with very mixed feelings. The Hotel does suffer from a few drawbacks which may make your stay a little less than a 'hotel' experience, especially if your expectations are geared towards a five star hotel stay in the country (as per the marketing). I should caveat this by saying that I've stayed in the full range of accommodation possible, from 20p hostels in India to more upmarket places, so I do apologise if this sounds snobby. I simply think that expectations are a large part of travelling, and this review only really counts I suppose if you are a Honeymooning couple.

If I were to be honest, this has much more of a home-stay feel than a hotel feel, and one aimed at an older age group than a couple in their early thirties. Services are advertised such as laundry, there is a beautiful Hammam which you can book out solely for your own use, and you can even arrange dinner for two to be brought to you up the very romantic 'tower' built nearby on site. On trying all these things however, our reservation for the Hamman was forgotten and another couple took our slot (minor niggle but irritating), we were almost actively discouraged from booking dinner at the top of the tower and my Husband had to re-book with another member of staff as the lady who originally dealt with the surprise request did not make a reservation. Our dinner orders over four nights (the food is fantastic, by the way) sometimes had elements missing from it, and overall we felt the service was a little hit and miss. On occasion, perhaps also due to the main demographic of the other guests- older couples who often don't even try to speak to younger folk like us- we felt a little like we were staying at a relative's house- a relative who tolerated us but would also be quite happy once we left.

Perhaps my biggest gripe though is being largely left out of conversations by the two owners, who I imagine would have many interesting things to talk about, but who never really made any overtures towards us, preferring to speak to the older guests.

That being said, if you are not too worried about these sorts of things, the 'hotel' (upmarket Pansiyon) is a peaceful and tranquil spot to overnight in preparation for, or recovery after, the Ephesus experience. If you get to chat to the owner, Mr. Nisanyan, he is erudite and interesting, with many stories to tell (I gleaned this from eavesdropping rather than first hand). Breakfast is traditional Turkish fare and enormous, and you should definitely try the Corvus wine. And Sirince itself is a nice spot for a wander, perhaps after the cruises have left for the day.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the cottages, they are beautiful. Try and book the tower for private dining (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

You must stay here. It is heaven. Simple, rustic, and utterly beautiful, perched up on the hillside with amazing views over the pretty town of Sirince. What a gem. I would suggest allowing a full day relaxing from your busy sightseeing schedule, to just to walk around the large property, see the donkeys, goats and chickens, walk amongst the fruit trees, eat the delicious food, and enjoy the views over Sirince.

Room Tip: The tower rooms were lovely. And you must go up the tower - amazing views, what a great spot to spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nisanyan Evleri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisanyan Evleri Hotel

Address: Merkez Sirince Koyu, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nisanyan Evleri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are four types of accommodation on offer: Inn - double or twin rooms - all en suite, breakfast included. Houses - fully independent historic houses - sleep 4-5 - all en suite, breakfast basket provided. Cottages - modest comfort in beautiful farm setting - all en suite, breakfast included. Guesthouse - economy double and twin rooms, one suite - all en suite, breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nisanyan Evleri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nisanyan Evleri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.