We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the hill and top food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocakbasi Restaurant

Ocakbasi Restaurant
Sirince, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Sirince
Cuisines: Turkish
Restaurant details
London,England
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Top of the hill and top food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Ocakbasi is somewhat off the (very well-beaten) tourist route in the village of Sirence. Situated at the top of a climb on one of the back streets above the main street, the dining area is essentially a large open covered porch. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The Turkish cuisine focuses on typical local dishes including Turkish pancakes, meatballs, and grilled lamb chops, all well prepared and tasty. The wine list is rather limited (actually there is no "list" per se), but we drank both a very decent white and red wine. Our group of six friends all were of the opinion that we had enjoyed a most delightful evening and Ocakbasi was excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greensboro nc
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After spending the day in Ephesus, our tour guide took me and my husband to this hilltop restaurant. The walk is a steep one, but once you sit, the view is amazing! Our guide recommended Mezes, which are appetizers. We had a tableful of wonderfully prepared dishes....Stuffed squash blossoms, stuffed grape leaves, olives, little crepes, sun dried tomatoes, spinach with yogurt and bread. The next course were skewers of lamb, chicken and a plate of meatballs. The service was equally as good as the food. Beautiful scenic restaurant not to be missed if in this quaint little Turkish town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Original Village Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Long before the village became the hip place to hang out, the Ocakbasi was the first in the village. It's near the top of the village, and tricky to find without directions. It's friendly, the food is pretty good, and very reasonably priced, and we sat outside on the terrace. What's not to like? I had a cabbage and lamb soup style starter, and it was superb. The savoury pancakes were really tasty - although the expert had departed for a village wedding before we could order the dessert ones.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Follow the narrow streets to the top of the hill in Sirince for a lovely view and an even better lunch! The outdoor restaurant served fresh dishes- including stuffed zucchini blossoms, grape leaves, eggplant, olives, breads, "sea" grass. In fact, we had so much in this first course, we were surprised when they asked whether we wanted chicken or beef skewers or meatballs. Along with those dishes came a lovely Turkish salad and grilled onion. Every one of the dishes was excellent. We were seated outside at long picnic-type tables.
The walk up the winding streets to this surprise was well worth it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Enjoyed our meal on the patio, with lots of young people who did not speak English. Fun environment very fast friendly service great fresh food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocakbasi Restaurant also viewed

 
Sirince, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ocakbasi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocakbasi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.