We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints, an oasis in Turkey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gullu Konaklari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gullu Konaklari to your Saves list
Gullu Konaklari
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sirince Koyu No:44, Sirince 35920, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Sirince B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints, an oasis in Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The positive reviews are well deserved. Special hotel in a special village. The people are beautiful, they cater to all your needs. If you have the opportunity, definitely stay as a center to any trip to Ephesus. Close to all the sights, settle back in a sweet village at a great hotel. Food was excellent, service was 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    22
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
55
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

After a visit to Ephesus (with all the tourists) you escape to the hill town of Sirince. 8km from Selcuk, Gullu Konaklari is a true 5 star boutique hotel. Immaculate grounds and impeccably restored historic buildings surprise even the most seasoned traveller.
After a great night sleep an amazing breakfast greats you in the morning. We had a perfect stay at this special place...I recommend it highly to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

The mansion, which consists of 3 houses, with 12 rooms, is at the very end of Sirince, a hillside daytrip tourist destination close to Selcuk. The village can be crowded with daytrippers, but is nevertheless very friendly with many roadside bazaar style shops selling all sortsof local and non local produce. The village specialty is local fruitwine. There are many eateries and terrace cafes which are nice and friendly.
The Gullu Konaklari is a high end small boutique hotel, mansion, with very personal service and an extremely nice cozy atmosphere. Our room was quite comfortable, but there are rooms in different price and size categories. The various lounge and terrace options to hang out are very comfortable with fine views. Breakast and dinner were very nice.
The special personalized welcoming atmosphere in this mansion is very special and will appeal to the experienced traveller who dispises large tourist hotels. The current manager, Zeynep, is a very friendly and hospitable woman, and a true gem!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Sirince is a little greek village is located in selcuk between ephesus and virgin mary house... U definetly have to visit these two places.. Well sometimes we need a luxury and confort during our trips.. And Gullu konak is a very right place for this experience..the prices of rooms are between 100-250 Euro.. But rooms are worth to their prices..:) the hotel team is very smiling and warm people..specialy the hotel manager mrs. Zeynep she is so helpful and kind..and the rooms are decoreted with all details..very clean, organized and tasteful..l prefered to have dinner and breakfast at hotel...especially the breakfast was satisfying with home made jams,fresh turkish cheese etc..definetly l will come again..

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at the Gullu Konaklari from November 21 2011 through November 23 2011. The hotel was great, quiet, and picturesque. You fell more like you are staying on a rustic estate than in a hotel. We ate in the restaurant one nigh and the meal we had was excellent, though--much like the hotel--a bit pricey. The friendly dog that hung around the main building was a nice touch (I'm a dog lover). Our room was small but functional. The gardens and landscaping were some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Unfortunately, most of the staff there did not speak very good English so it was a bit tricky communicating as we did not speak Turkish.

The town was also neat, though but for a brief walk we did most of our sightseeing outside towards Ephesus and the other ruins. All in all, if you are trying to cram in a lot in a short period of time, (we only allowed for 2 days and our train was late getting in), I would suggest picking someplace closer to Ephesus. But if have some extra time and are looking for a place to relax and be among stunning countryside views, it would be hard to beat the Gullu Konaklari.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a good hotel but I found it overpriced. The rooms were clean, pretty but quite small and as a result you have to constantly walk over your suitcases to go to the bathroom for example. Management was helpful (picking us up from the train station in Selcuk) but slightly pushy about dining in their restaurant and on our 2nd and last day there we could feel the level of customer service falling (some one said they would be by to help us with our bags on the way out but after waiting for 15 minutes we had to carry our own bags down the many flights of stairs after check out). There was also an instance where we couldn't communicate with the receptionist as he spoke no English and the manager had to be contacted. These might be minor things to other travellers but to us customer service is very important.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed a night in this hotel, and found the built, landscape to be so gorgeous it felt like we were somewhere in Italy. Perfect place when you would like serenity, only 15 minute drive from Ephesus. Too bad, breakfast was too basic. We were served just bread and half a dozen fruit jams - not a single warm meal such as the simple eggs. I am not asking for porridge or anything lavish, but considering we were to embark on a 5-hour tour with no knowledge of where to source for snacks, this breakfast is definitely inappropriate for a place like Gullu Konak. I would come again though, and ask for more variety of breakfast :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gullu Konaklari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullu Konaklari

Address: Sirince Koyu No:44, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gullu Konaklari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, exquisite, charming boutique hotel 10 kms. away from the amazing Greco-Roman city of Ephesus! Located in the historic village of Sirince with 12 rooms and 1 Vineyard House. Gullu Konaklari offers you luxurious rooms, amazing views of the olive hills, tranquility, personalized service and eclectic tastes from the Aegean as well as the world.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gullu Konaklari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullu Konaklari Hotel Selcuk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gullu Konaklari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.