We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here and not in Kahta but staff is slightly dishonest to make more money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karadut Pansiyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karadut Pansiyon to your Saves list
Karadut Pansiyon
Karadur Koyu No:127 Kahta Merkez, Kahta, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kahta
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Stay here and not in Kahta but staff is slightly dishonest to make more money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It is totally worth staying here as it is gorgous in Karadut in the mountains vs Kahta which is an ugly noisy city. The veggie dinner was also excellent (15 tl). But you need to email and have all the prices negotiated ahead of time or they will probably overcharge you upon arrival. We emailed them ahead of time letting them know we wanted to go up Nemrut Dagi at 5 pm when we arrived and if they could look for other tourists we could share a car with (quoted 50 tl for whole carload). When we arrived at 4 pm they told us there were no other tourists around to share a car with to Nemrut Dagi and the dolmus driver would drive just us for 60 tl (when we told them we were told 50 tl in emails they honored "no problem"). But the next morning on the dolmus to Urfa found out a Chinese girl also staying there went up Nemrut Dagi at 4 pm the same day we arrived and was charged 70 tl and was told noone else was around to share a car with when she asked. So they made more money by having 2 parties go up separatley at the same time but we were both lied to when they should have coordinated us to go together. But a nice thing they did in morning.. one of Karadut pension owners took us to his house to meet Mom, who was busy making hot bread with cheese, which we got to eat, and also met his grandparents who were 100 yrs old!. Then the other owner took us to catch dolmus to the ferry to Urfa (for a fee, of course). So they will make your stay very pleasant and help you get around but be prepared for overcharging! Still a very nice place to stay and very beautiful there! If we had more time we would have enjoyed just hiking up the road to Nemrut Dagi but would take a few hours..

Room Tip: Ask for Room 107 or Room 108 which is upstairs and has a great view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mazamet, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We arrived thinking of spending one night here and stayed three!! Ramazan and his colleagues couldn't do enough to make us welcome. Good basic home cooked food in stunning location with easy drive possible up to Nemrut Dagi. We were travelling in our Motorhome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Karadut is a very clean hostel with best value in the area, amazing breakfast and well prepared dinner! If yiu are planning on climbing nemrut for the sunrise you can not beat the location of karadut as it is a 20 min drive from the peak.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I arrived in Karadut exhausted from taking the public transportation (they don't make it easy for you to get to Karadut) and this place was a small piece of heaven. Mehmet and the rest of the staff are great. The food is awesome. And the value is unbelievable. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

After arriving in Kahta and being told Mt Nemrut is closed (it wasn't), the roads to Karadut are closed (they certainly weren't) and there were no tours to any local sights (yet another lie) by a variety of people from bus operators to tourism agencies to hotel staff (wanting to keep unaware tourists spending money in Kahta), I found this place online and within 30 minutes of chatting with Osman via email (karadutpansiyon@hotmail.com) I had all the information I needed to get to Karadut and a pickup from where the dolmus dropped me. The food (dinner / breakfast) is home grown and home cooked, Osman and his father have good english and are very helpful with information, the rooms are simple but clean and comfortable (only minor concern was my bathroom had no shower receptacle so water went everywhere, and curiously it had a power point next to the shower head!?). Its a little bit more expensive because youre in the middle of the country, but I would definately recommend the place and would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed one night in May 2013. We were the only guests at that time. To reiterate the other reviews, the place is basic but clean, the hosts are friendly and the food really tasty. There is not much choice around here and this pansiyon is convenient for the sunset mountain climb, although we were a little late as we had to find our host and wake him up. The village is interesting to walk around in the evening. We were picked up from Narince (closer than Kahta) and all the prices were agreed by email a couple of weeks prior to arriving, including free transportation to and from Narince. However, the host was hesitant to leave in the morning and when he was ready, the public transport minivan had long gone. He then told us that we had to pay for the lift back to Narince - and that we could not negotiate as there was no other choice. And, yes, he did give us a small statue to try to soften us up, but it is not something that we wanted. The overall price was still reasonable and had this been an up-front cost we would have thought nothing of it. Unfortunately, this sort of game leaves a sour taste and detracts from what was a great stay, even if we were not really surprised based on prior reviews.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

spacious room, not expansive, basic. Friendly staff. Simple meal, but nutritious and there is no alternative around. Just eat what they cook, you will be ok. There was hot water in the shower. And it is pretty close to Nemrut. They offer to being you there for the sunset or evening shift, but if you have your own transport, I would definitely go there during the day to avoid the crowds. We did and it was great. Stayed to nights to avoid any hliday stress, but it is not the place to spend more time.
If I would go back, I might want to check out an other place close to Nemrut. But it is definitely a great alternative to the stressed tours from kahta or Adiyaman.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karadut Pansiyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karadut Pansiyon

Address: Karadur Koyu No:127 Kahta Merkez, Kahta, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Adiyaman Province > Kahta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kahta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karadut Pansiyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karadut Pansiyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.