We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amir to your Saves list
Hotel Amir
Amanbaev Str. 78 | Ayni, Karakol, Kyrgyzstan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Karakol
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel, sadly for just a night before heading off into the mountains. I became addicted to the coffee from the coffee machine and the luxuries like wifi as well. the rooms were comfortable with nice bathrooms. They had plenty of info as well for the traveller especially if you had no plans yet for going up into the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
10
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Arrived in Karakol at 10pm in a blizzard after the 6hr bus trip from Bishkek. Had a list of accommodations in Karakol from wikitravel.org. Despite the late arrival and no booking, I was welcomed by friendly English speaking staff. Newish building, clean room, excellent breakfast, wifi, information room with topo maps and very reasonable room rates. Most of the other guests were families from the region (Russia/Kazakhstan) on ski vacations. The owners and managers are doing an excellent job, particularly given the challenges that the economy is clearly facing. Thanks team, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found this hotel friendly, with very decent breakfast, nice clean rooms, easy access wifi, easy walking distance around the town to the major attractions and a pleasant outside verandah. Five minutes walk was a very hospitable restaurant with local, good sized and quality food. Hotel Amir was one of the few places which provided maps of the local area, a much appreciated touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

After a few nights in Yurt camps and home stays its nice to have an 2/3 star western style hotel to put your feet up for a few days.
Breakfast is a bit Germanic with its salami and cheese BUT there is cereal and NO MUTTON :-) ha ha
Didnt have dinner or lunch here so can't comment - around the corner is a nice cafe called Cafe Kench.
Good English speaking on reception and a welcome fresh apple jiuce on arrival.
Good WIFI is included !!! What a bonus.
After a refreshing few days - then its back to treking and horse riding :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ильзат К, Администратор at Hotel Amir, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest!
We are very appreciating for your excellent feedback. Thanks a lot for your separate commentary. We are happy that you liked our hotel. We hope you will stay in our hotel once and you will like more than first arrival. With best regards, Altynai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

On a recent business trip, we were booked into another hotel in Karakol. Upon arrival, we were told that there was a city-wide problem with water but that the water would come back on later in the evening, around 10pm. This, of course, didn't happen, but a 6:15 am I heard a gurgling noise in my bathroom and surmised that the water was back on so I jumped into the shower and managed to get my hair half shampooed before the water went off again. By mid afternoon when we returned from our business sessions, not only was the water off but so was the electricity. One of our party had scoped out the Amir so we unceremoniously left our original hotel and transferred over to the Amir, which turned out to be quite charming, with good Internet, reliable water, and electricity. We ended up ordering dinner in the hotel and the next morning, were thrilled to find that the hotel in addition to a great breakfast had an espresso machine, something we'd been sorely missing on our Central Asia jaunt. All in all, we were all quite pleased with the lodgings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Well, we arrived in Karakol, it was grey and dumb...
Luckily, we stayed two days at Amir Hotel: very clean, nice rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you are looking for something local, this is not the place you would be looking. But I strongly recommend this hotel because everything is vert well organised except the payment. But that is not aproblem arising because of the hotel. In Karakol, no credit cards work on the weekends. Not even in Bankomats. So be sure that you have enough cash with you for weekend and your hotel bill if you have to pay it on weekend. The hotel asked me to make a transfer to their account in Switzerland which I had to do with additional cost.
And be sure that when you go there the recepcionist lady Altınay (Goldenmoon ) is in the hotel. She will solve all the problems promptly.

Room Tip: I guess all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ильзат К, Администратор at Hotel Amir, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest!
Thank you very much for your good recommendation. We are very pleased to hear warm wishes from our tourists. We hope will visit our hotel again. Sincerely, Altynai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amir

Address: Amanbaev Str. 78 | Ayni, Karakol, Kyrgyzstan
Location: Kyrgyzstan > Issyk Kul Province > Karakol
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Karakol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amir is a new and comfortable hotel in the center of Karakol. Hotel Amir offers you the following: Conference room The conference room can accommodate 15-20 people. The rental price of the conference room is 35 dollar/day which includes:  Desk top computer with access to Internet  Additional space for group activities Upon request the following can be arranged:  Coffee-break at a price of 7 dollar/person  Projector and screen - 1500 som/day  Pin board - 500 som/day Restaurant Upon advanced order we can arrange lunch and/or dinner containing European and Central Asian dishes for participants. We also offer an extensive vegetarian menu. The price of lunch or dinner (3 courses) is 12 dollar/person. Hotel Amir offers a tasty breakfast buffet of mainly European dishes in restaurant. Rooms We are happy to offer you 18 rooms, including: • 5 rooms with king-size beds • 13 rooms with twin-size beds Of the 18 rooms, 4 are economy class. Each room has a private toilet and shower and Satellite TV, WIFI, billiard. For our guests we provide disposable slippers and mineral water in every room Internet For your convenience there is an Information Corner with Internet access and IP-Telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amir Karakol, Issyk Kul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.