We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, a fantastic place to spend a wonderful holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mezza Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mologno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mezza Luna
Save
You added La Mezza Luna to your Saves list
Via Nazionale, 3, 55051 Mologno, Barga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Kelso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, a fantastic place to spend a wonderful holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Returned from my first visit to this wonderful establishment , the staff are so friendly and they can't do enough to help, such a relaxed and friendly environment. Rooms are spacious and cleanliness is first rate. Food is out of this world with something to suit all tastes. In a lovely location with spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my eighth trip to the mezza Luna (now la Luna del west ) and although it has had a refurb (really nice ) and new name the service food cleanliness are all up to the same exacting standards they have always been time after time I come to this place and every trip is as memorable and perfect as the last I love the food the rooms and the wonderful owner and her team I cannot recommend this gem highly enough

Room Tip: All the rooms I stayed in I could not fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Travelled here by car (3 days) with family, first time in Italy and wanted somewhere to base ourselves. We used the public transport to get to the major towns which was just down the street. Rita was very helpfull and friendly and spoke excellent english. We did eat a few nights at Ritas but we did self catering the other nights. There was a major supermarket further down in the town where we bought our foodstock. The area is hilly and the further up you travel it becomes steeper so be prepared or take a bus. The people were friendly and we met an american couple who were touring the area as well who were enjoying the region/wines. On the train to Lucca we got on well with the locals who helped us in our travels. Wonderful scenery and plenty of fresh air. Hoping to return next and making it a long break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Staff at La Mezza Luna are very helpful, sorted us out with timetables etc. Rooms are everything you need. Within walking distance to the train station which is fab, even though there isn't frequent trains from Barga there still are various chances to get to Pisa, Florence and Lucca. La Mezza Luna has the most fantastic view!! Although it is outside of Barga it isn't far in a taxi, if you are looking at having a stop off this place is fab.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Rita and her partner Alex and family run a really great operation with wonderful apartments and the restaurant. This is very clean and economical place to stay. Great beds and comfy pillows and linens, spectacular views across the valley, and the kitchen is stocked well for an extended stay. But have dinner in their restaurant, the food is equal to some of the finest in Lucca which I had the pleasure of enjoying, but their prices are more reasonable and the portions generous The hospitality is superb. The train from Lucca runs up the Sercchio valley and stops at all the significant towns. Buses connect to the hiltowns so you can really get around without a car, but having one takes you to some other places outside of the towns. Their place is a short 5 blocks from the Train station and slightly uphill as is the case in this region, but is doable with roller luggage or a backpack, there is always a Taxi at the station if you prefer not to deal with baggage. The public bus, a block away, runs up to Barga and return and this is the best way to get there rather than a car and deal with parking.. I am a seasoned traveler and this was my 5th trip to Italy and I highly recommend this place. The people from Scotland's review comes from obviously unseasoned tourists sounding like they expected a full service hotel, these are self catering apartments and two ensuite B & B's that are just great places.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of the valley and Apuan Apinine mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you so much for coming to La Mezzaluna.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in Barga soon.
Thank you so much for your kind words, it is very much appreciated .
Best regards
Rita and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have just moved to Italy and was expecting to move into my newly renovated home at the end of August 2011 after a 3 week vacation north of Barga with my children. Needless to say, at the end of August my children went home and I was left to find other accommodation as my house was not ready. I rented a house for 4 weeks in a mountain top village (not exactly convenient) at huge cost and after my dog was poisoned for the 2nd time (rat poison) decided that I needed to move out the same day. La Mezzaluna provided some much needed help very quickly. Rita put me in an apartment that had the most beautiful view of Pania Secco (mountain) and was nothing other than accommodating. A friendly welcome and throughout my weeks stay was extremely supporting and helpful.

La Mezzaluna is close to the railway station which makes it easy to jump on a train and visit Lucca (a must), Florence, Viareggio (beach), or even to Castelnuovo di Garfagnana. The Garfagnana is wedged between the Apuane Alpi and the Appenino Alpi, which obviously means a very hilly/mountainous landscape. La Mezzaluna is situated on a hill and therefore if you are not in a car and if you do not want to use public transport, then you need to be very fit if you want to walk to places like Barga - the beautiful medieval hilltop town.

Thankyou Rita and family for your help and support - I will be back on a regular basis for the delicious pizzas'. Looking forward to seeing the place after the refurbishments are finished.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Hi, thank you so much for your review.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
I am happy that you are now in your new house and settlling down well.
Molly is now keeping well too I hear.
Come down to La Mezzaluna any time, for a pizza or even a coffee in the afternoon.
The painting of the restaurant is now finished and looking good.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Rita and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The accommodation here is clean & economical, however what really makes this experience work is the environment created through a combination of location and the efforts of Rita, the host.

You are surrounded by mountains, trees and beautiful views - so it is worth hiring a vehicle for convenience. You can walk to Barga - the nearest place for activity, however the roads are dark and steep in places so a car is the best bet.

Rita and her partner Alex are great fun. We were involved in their kareoke practice and were made to feel very weclome and confortable for our whole stay. We were offered lifts when we did not want to take our car so we could have a drink and any information we requested was provided.

We often ended up sitting chatting with Rita over a beer or two in the bar.

There is a lovely family type atmosphere to The Mezza Luna and it feels very much that you get out what you put in.

A great trip hepled by our hosts and their advice & accomodation. Hope to return one day.

Local pool in Barga is lovely and only 5 mins drive (kids pool there too). Various restaurants all within a short drive. Barga itself is beautiful and worth a walk round and up both day and night, make sure you get up to the church right at the top.

We had a great experience here. Hope you do too

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Owner at La Mezza Luna, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Thank You very much.
I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and it was a pleasure meeting you and all the wedding party,
Good luck to you both .
Have a wonderful day on the 13th, will be thinking of you.
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mologno
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Moorings Hotel
Villa Moorings Hotel
#6 of 9 in Barga
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#9 of 9 in Barga
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Acchiappasogni Luxury Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Organic B&B Il Melograno Nano
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Il Tiglio
Agriturismo Il Tiglio
#7 of 9 in Barga
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mezza Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mezza Luna

Address: Via Nazionale, 3, 55051 Mologno, Barga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Barga > Mologno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mologno
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Mezzaluna!! We offer self-catering apartments and hotel rooms in the historic Garfagnana area of Northern Tuscany. We are situated just 36 km north of Lucca and just 4 km from Barga , a pretty medieval village reknowned as one the most beautiful "borghi d'italia". We are family run business and have self contained apartments and double rooms ensuite. Situated just 250 yards from the local railway station La Mezzaluna makes a perfect base for those who wish to visit the nearby cities of Barga, Lucca, Florence, Pisa and the famous Versilia Coast. Our complex is ideal for families and suitable for walkers, bikers. This is all complimented by our restaurant which seats 70 persons plus bar area plus we have a veranda with a spectacular panorama overlooking the Apuan Mountains.We have an International Menu. Our specialities include pizza cooked in the traditional log oven. .Local cuisine with home made pasta and other specialities include Mixed grills . We can also organize individual and group cookery lessons . ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mezza Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.