We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy nice family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weberlandl 65, Wagrain 5602, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wagrain
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Celje
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cosy nice family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Must say that I was pleasantely surprised upon arrival. Very friendly people working there. Ready to help on any wish or need. They (staff) talk at least three to four languages. Specialy nice is spa area (three saunas and pool) allthough it can become crowded after 16:00 hours. Would suggest that working hours for spa should be prolonged after 19:30. Road is a bit steep, snow fall damands snow chains. Wagrain ski area is reachable by foot (7 minutes).

Room Tip: Choose room with a view to valley, ours didn't have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I planned to stay a couple of weeks in the Salzburg area of Austria. We had visited the area before on different occasions and didn't really need to revisit the attractions often highlighted in travel books. We just wanted to spend a week or so in one or two locations and simply take in the scenery, walk a bit and enjoy the mountain towns. My wife found and made reservations at Hotel Edelweiss--thanks to Trip Advisor. I am not a "spa person" by nature, so I was a little surprised when she later informed me that this hotel centered largely around healthy dining and spa activities. Despite my initial grumbling before we arrived, I found that I owed (owe) her a big "thank you!" for taking this initiative. This hotel, its facilities and its STAFF are fantastic! First we couldn't arrive until the dead of night, with winding roads (as mentioned by other reviewers--thank goodness for our GPS!) so we really didn't see the place until the next morning. WOW! What a location. And what stunning natural beauty! We could rave at length about the accommodations, food, service, setting, and so on, but, hopefully, the 5-star rating expresses our opinion on that. A unique feature that we appreciated about "Edelweiss" is the remarkable attention to even the tiniest details of our stay. The place is spotless, the staff is always tending to maintaining the wonderful feel of the entire place. The trick is how they can be so remarkably friendly, relaxed and "available", yet work so hard behind the scenes. Everyone associated with "Edelweiss" gives guests the sincere impression that they are proud of their role(s) in the operation and want to do everything they can to provide the best experience possible. They succeed wonderfully. The mountains are what initially attracted us to this region of Austria. Edelweiss has now given us reason to return once again!

Room Tip: We requested a room with a mountain view. The hotel is configured in such a way as to optimize this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were there 9 nights, 3 families. The place is great. staff is very friendly, food is good and the view from our room was amazing. Great hotel!
Only disadvantage is a curvy road that leads to the hotel. Try not to drive it at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalundborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent retreat in the Austrian Alps. Very agreeable hosts, super service, good food and a notable wine list. Rooms very, very nice and even mountain-facing rooms sport excellent views. Spa-area and eco-lake very charming and bar service good. Super spot for upmarket vacationing in the Wagrain area during summer and true ski-in ski-out during winter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I want to be fair. We picked the Edelweiss on the basis of two separate "you must go there" recommendations from my brother in law and one of my closest friends, both of whom had visited the hotel last summer with their families. They were not wrong. This is, by far, the best family hotel in the alps region I have been to (or heard about). We stayed for 6 nights. I wish it had been more.
Where should I start? Location - 1500 meters above sea level, overlooking a plush valley between several high mountains, surrounded by "sound of music" type green pastures (cow's bells in the morning are the only noise). Relatively close to all Salzburgland attractions (and these are all world-class sites); Facilities - small but luxurious spa, two indoor swimming pools (one for children, the other primarily for adults), an outside bathing pond (very cold waters even in August); tennis court, table-tennis, bike rental, hiking, you name it; Food - a wonderful organic breakfast with the freshest produce; a 5 course dinner every evening (children can opt for the children's buffet if they wish), an afternoon "tea" every day of meats, cheeses and cakes. Generally - food is fantastic (at dinner - soups were consistently sublime, some starters and main dishes were more to our taste than others, but that's only natural); Each family gets their own table in the restaurant which remains only yours throughout your stay. Fantastic arrangement which makes you feel at home; And above all - service! I won't mention names just because I will forget someone, and that would be unfair. Every single staff member was professional, exceptionally helpful and constantly smiling. They made us feel at home from day one, and appeared truly sad to see us go. I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, and they can learn some lessons about top-class hospitality from this small unassuming hotel.
So what's to improve? Frankly, very little. Perhaps the only aspect which is not top-of-the-scale is the rooms. We stayed in their largest family suite - two connected double rooms with two balconies overlooking the valley. Unbelievable views! The rooms themselves are very comfortable in rural Austrian style (lots of wood). Our suite had wall to wall carpeting (I believe most other rooms have parquet floor covering). The room was great for my family (2 adults and 3 kids) and everyone had a wonderful time, but you need to know that this is ski chalet style comfort and not five-star luxury. The bathroom fittings (very roomy separate bath and shower stall, two separate sinks) were again very useful and comfortable but relatively standard. Final minor negative point - the pillows were much too soft for most of us (we're used to stronger support).

All in all - this is one of the best holiday experiences I've ever had, at any price! We enjoyed it so much that we are now considering revisiting the place in Winter to enable the kids to learn to ski at the next-door ski school.

Thankls to the Burgmuller family for providing such a perfect haven. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

just spent 8 days at this fantastic hotel,if you want an austrian hotel in a great location with excellent owners,staff,facilities,rooms,dining and a cornishman tending the grounds this is the hotel for you.from the organized hikes and mountain bikes available everything is first class and we will definetley be returning.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Edelwiess is a beautiful mountain side retreat. What a lovely, comfortable hideaway hotel this is for those who like peace and being surrounded by mountains. We stayed 1 week in early September and enjoyed the fantastic facilities and the very friendly service of all the staff under the lovely Bergmuller family.

We loved the walking straight from the door and this gave access to lots of good mountain paths in the Wagrain area. The hotel organised walking trips (with Julian) which were excellent and included in arrangements. Julian took us to places we would not have found in the surrounding area and this was a nice way to get some exercise after the large breakfasts and before returning to tempting afternoon cakes or 5 course dinnners!

The kitchen team provide a great choice of tempting menu every evening with beautiful presentation to match the view from the dining room and terrrace down the valley.

The hotel rooms and facilities are modern and fresh - not twee and over traditional but with a nice use of natural materials to complement the setting you are in.

Allow plenty of time for luxuriating in the Green spa - two saunas, steam room, relaxation rooms, indoor and outdoor pools... and contemplating the view and location.

I would recommend this to independent and active singles, couples or families that like high quality arrangements and service, whilst seeking genuine charm in the mountains.

You need a car to make the most of the area and the uphill climb from the village -but don't let that stop you visiting the Edelweiss!

Room Tip: Hotel website is excellent for showing room types and options
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain

Address: Weberlandl 65, Wagrain 5602, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Wagrain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wagrain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss Wagrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.