We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Zighy Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Zighy Bay to your Saves list
Six Senses Zighy Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Winter Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our second year running. Not too far from London, quick flight to Dubai then 4X4 to Zighy Bay.
Total switch off from the outside world. Sun shines everyday, blue sky, aquamarine sea, golden sand and no one on the beach - just you and the sea animals.
Private villas with pool are perfect to retreat to after lunch. No Zighy time anymore so sunsets at 5.00 is it too early for a sunset cocktail??
Brand new salt water pool, a short walk along the beach. New bar about to be built which will make it the perfect location to watch the sunset.
A few changes to the hotel from last year, little things and attention to details. Had to ask for candles by the pool at night, and sand in villa not raked each day. Nothing really to complain about. Memorable meal top restaurants "On the Edge", the variety of food in the other restaurants not so good. Not much choice of wine by the glass.
Staff very friendly and helpful, although a little slow. The Spa is still the best. The Prof came home very chilled, well worth it.

Room Tip: All villas are special. AC and fridge hum - but not annoyingly. Don't forget to pack your ipod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Six Senses Zighy Bay.

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for all the positive recommendation you have made which is very helpful us and for the forthcoming travelers who plan to visit us at Zighy Bay.

We have noted the feedback regarding the time of the sunset cocktails as well as the choice of wine by glass.

Glad to know that the services at our Spa matched your expectations, as well as the culinary experience at the fine dining restaurant Sense on the Edge.

Thank you once again for supporting our scenic hideaway, and for the time taken to provide us with your extremely creative feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!

Best regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    113
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
166
398
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this stylish bling free isolated hotel is the perfect antidote to all you may want to avoid in other regional hotels whilst delivering the best they have to offer in climate, service and the "nothing is too much trouble" approach. the setting is heavenly. the report is immaculate, and the whole concept very well presented. the beach pristine and private and it does exactly what it says on the tin. be warned though - this comes at a hefty price insofar as dining and drinking is concerned. you are effectively captive at the resort and the food and drink and other activities come at London prices. if you know this on your way in you will have a blissful stay. book through Marcus at Scott Dunn - he is incredibly helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Six Senses Zighy Bay and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Six Senses Zighy Bay, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

From Dubai international airport we directly moved to oman in car and arrived in six sences zighy bay. we knew we were in for a treat, we were not let down. The drive over the mountains was breath taking and the descent gave an awesome view of the resort. We were greeted like royalty when we arrived by the resort manager and were made to feel completely at home. Our Butler took complete care of us and the personal service he provided was exemplary - he was just a call away for anything we needed! The villa was awesome - a rustic feel to the place, stone floors, old beams, gorgeous pool, and some good outside space to relax and a short distance from the beach. The whole place is about relaxing. had grest time there.

Room Tip: pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and are thrilled to hear that your stay was a delight.

Glad to note that you loved the rustic feel of the villa design, the stone floors, gorgeous private pool and the convenience beach access.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Zighy Bay soon.

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the moment we were collected from our Villa in Dubai to the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a treat, we were not let down. The drive over the mountains was breath taking and the descent gave an awesome view of the resort.

We were greeted like royalty when we arrived by the resort manager and were made to feel completely at home. Our Butler took complete care of us and the personal service he provided was exemplary - he was just a call away for anything we needed!

The villa was awesome - a rustic feel to the place, stone floors, old beams, gorgeous pool, and some good outside space to relax and a short distance from the beach. The whole place is about relaxing and from the minute we arrived we did! The whole atmosphere was tranquil and everyone just talked in quiet voices - it just felt right - our visit was in the school holidays and even the kids didn’t make a sound!

The ethics of the place impressed us - everything is recycled and environmentally friendly. Even to the villa bikes outside the front door! Which we enjoyed and tried to abandon...they just kept coming back!

There is so much to do and it is worth researching the activities and planning ahead - we just wanted to chill so used the Spa (one of the best in the world). We booked the paragliding but unfortunately the wind would have seen us dashed against the cliffs! I thought about the mountain biking but the look in Tracey’s eye soon dispelled those thoughts!

Dinning - the hilltop restaurant which was the best dinning experience I have ever had. We used the in Villa dinning mostly and the myriad of restaurants for lunch snacks and casual meals. The food was outstanding!

Travel - as mentioned we were collected from our Villa - we later found that we could have had a boat ride from Dibba into the bay (booked in advance), in hindsight we would have liked to have taken this either coming or going.

We HIGHLY recommend Zighy Bay. We did not want to leave and we look forward to returning.

Thanks to all the staff for making our short stay so memorable

Damien and Tracey

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Six Senses Zighy Bay and would like to thank you for writing such a constructive review.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

Meeting and exceeding Guest satisfaction is our main focus at Six Senses Zighy Bay and it is rewarding to learn that we have achieved on this occasion. . Your compliments have been shared with our hosts whose efforts were much appreciated.

Thank you again for supporting our scenic hideaway, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback. We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Six Senses Zighy Bay soon…

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We've stayed in this amazing resort 3 times already in one year: in May (can be fairly hot); June (too hot) and early November (perfect Weather). The resort organises a pick-up from Dubai on request which is quite convenient as directions to the resort are not brilliant - it's a 2.5hrs drive. The resort in itself is very well thought of in terms of design (Arabian nights theme); comfort (every villa has its own pool and chill out area); and amenities (Spa is fabulous; restaurants are great and the wine cellar quite extensive). One full week in this resort may be too long - we've only stayed long weekends- because there is little to do around the resort (mainly boat-trips and hiking). The food is also good and varied: their Lobster risotto is to die for and the homous is one of the best we tried! Careful not to book during Ramadan and Islamic holidays (ie no alcoholic beverages served). The sea is divine and the beach pristine. If you are travelling with your partner, make sure you don't stay next to one of the bigger family villas as it can be noisy when you want to chill by the pool. Perfect couples only (or with babies/toddlers) getaway in the Middle East.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Six Senses Zighy Bay and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our hosts.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Six Senses Zighy Bay, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked a 2 bedroom front beach villa

I have driven all the way from Dubai to there, and my advice avoid the RAK Road area its dangerous and specially for the people who is not familiar about the roads , take the Dhaid towards Diba way that’s the best.

There are 2 different villa

1- The front beach villa is just in front of the beach with bigger swimming pool and bigger rooms and living room, its more expensive than the other villa, they have limited number of 2 bedrooms. So if you come to open you villa gate you see the beach, stunning. They also got 2 privet massage bed where you can have your own massage in your own villa, plus and a very small steam room in the balcony. The 2 rooms are privet and there is a living room down stairs. So this villa can occupy 6 people at least.
2- The other villa is just behind the beach front villas so you are not infront of the beach as you might think but they are very close to the beach a very short walking distance., and as I said they are a bit smaller in sizes than the front beach villa. This villa has no privet ground floor room so its and open room downstairs.
3- Every villa has a privet pool, but as I said the front one has a bigger pool.

If you will book the 2 bedroom villa which ever option you will take , the parent should stay in the upper room because you will come to here the noise from down who ever walks upstairs , I think it’s because it’s made of wood.

The welcoming service was excellent.

The Room dining is fine but very expensive.

There are 3 restaurants in the resort, they are all expensive and average food, except the one on the top of the mountain which you only can book for dinner and that is the best place to eat very good fine dining, you need to book In advance to reserve the outside seating to look at the beautiful view from the top of the mountain or else you will end up to be seated inside.

You got bicycles to move around the resort but you won’t be using them much I think.

You have your own personal buttler, but you will only use him to reserve things for you and not more than this.

There is a kids club area with kids pool, they have schedules activities for the kids plus movie time, I am sure kids will love it.

There are many activities in the report but it all depends on the weather condition, we only did paragliding and it was quiet expensive compared to different countries.

If you will drive all the way, note down the below:
1- If you got salon car you will not be allowed to drive from the entrance to the property because the way to the property and the beach if on the other side of the mountains.
2- If you got 4x4, you can drive all the way if you have a luxury car and you don’t want to spoil it avoid driving and ask the main gate entrance to send you a car and you can park your car at the entrance and its safe don’t worry.
Why I am saying all of this is because the way from the entrance to the property and the beach is very bumpy and you will be driving up and down the mountain so is not familiar and scared to drive its better to avoid because the roads are tight and narrow.

Last but not leats, its an expensive place to stay. at 2 night stay is the least, if you think you want to stay for one night it wont worth all the hasle and the drive.

Room Tip: It all depends on you if you want the exact becah facing then go ahead and book that, and make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Six Senses Zighy Bay.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the privacy of the villas, the service, the outlets, the activities and our fabulous team of hosts. We will ensure that your kind compliments reach out to all the hosts.

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for all the positive recommendation you have made which is very helpful us and for the forthcoming travelers who plan to visit us at Zighy Bay.

Thank you once again for supporting our scenic hideaway, and for the time taken to provide us with your extremely positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!

Best regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Ercole
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed with the all family (10 people) ovex Xmas in 2 Villas. Was perfect, everybody had something to do, kids always in the pools and see, grandparents at the beach and adults doing kayak, paragliding, tracking and Spa. Great food (3 restaurants) and really we felt to be in the Maldives, but on shore. The only negative was the butler service, that I am not sure can replace a good concierge service. Over xmas was quiet empty and on the 27th a lot of people arrived and you felt the difference, but we left.....

Room Tip: Stay on the beach......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Six Senses Zighy Bay and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated. Personalized Butler service is a concept of all Six Senses resorts and we endeavor to take the guest experience to the highest possible level of satisfaction. I realize from your feedback that we did not succeed on this single aspect to match your expectations.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Zighy Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.