We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Zighy Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Zighy Bay to your Saves list
Six Senses Zighy Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SIX SENSES SUMMER PACKAGE
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in a beachfront Villa for 1 week around the midgle of October. The Villa is beautiful, with lots of space outside (lounge area and sun beds) but since it still was very hot, there was not enough shade in the morning hours (until about 11:00), and not much you could do about it. Also, since the Villas have no space between them, if you end up like us, being sandwiched in between 2 Villas that have 2-3 small children each, the relaxation factor rapidly goes down. You hear everything, each jump in the pool, each scream...for hours, this was really too much to handle at times! We like children, but we chose the place because we thought we would have more privacy. In general, there were a lot of small children, it sometimes felt more like a Club Robinson!
The beach is incredible, fine, white sand and kilometers to walk.
I expected more from the ocean though - the water was very warm but not very clear, the lagoon is dead, no corals, almost no fish (no need to bring your snorkeling gear, there is nothing to see), and sometimes there is lots of garbage swimming in the water (the hotel staff is constantly cleaning the beach, so you don't see it there), and for 2 days there was red stuff (algies?) coming in, so we did not go in at all.
The food in the restaurants is very good, especially the breakfast buffet. There is a restaurant (Senses on the edge) on top of the mountain which is spectacular. And as others have already pointed out, the service is outstanding.
The Spa was ok, not as good as other Six Senses we have been too. The treatments were average, the Spa atmosphere average, and it always was too cold in the treatment rooms for my taste, too much air-condition, within minutes your skin felt like a dried plum.

In Summary: A perfect place for couples with children,lots of space in the villas, good food and service, but if you want a quiet, intimate place this is not the right hotel to go to. Also, if you are into snorkeling and fish watching, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay with us.

On behalf of the team, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay. You certainly did not experience us at our best.

I do appreciate your comments on the presence of kids in the resort. Our resort does welcome different segments of guests... We do try our best to allocate villas separately so that couples are allowed the privacy the resort is known for. Sometimes, due to the high occupancy, we do not have this luxury.

Please be assured of our untiring efforts to ensure that nothing but the highest levels of service is delivered consistently to all our guests.

We do hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience all the services and facilities as expected of us.

Best regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    137
    53
    12
    9
See reviews for
222
454
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Notting Hill, London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a standard pool villa (room 71) for a couple of days and our stay highly exceeded expectations.

Three things make the resort stand out: its location, it's design and its level of service.

The location is stunning: remote, in a beautiful bay behind a vast mountain range. On your way to the resort you feel like you are driving on the moon at times.

The villas are designed in local style, but with all comforts you would expect from a five star resort. The design is rustic; all modern technical equipment is there (air con strong enough to cool the massice room, bose sound system, flat screen tv etc) but everything is hidden behind blinds, inside boxes. At night the resort becomes very romantic with thousands of lights illuminating the pathways, again hidden in basket like structures, so that you never see the lights and only get the diffused glow. The gardens are kept impeccably clean. Turndown service included the setup of tealights around the pool area.

The service is outstanding. We requested a villa away from the main pool and our request was fulfilled without the need to remind them. We also requested a late checkout at 8 pm - again this was arranged without any problems. A small complain was handled very well by our GEM, who was exetremely helpful throughout our stay and available every time we needed him.

The only negatives were:
- too many noisy kids in the main pool area. I would have preferred a seperate kids pool
- one of the restaurants were closed (the one on the beach) due to the construction of a saltwater pool, so the restaurant choices were limited to two during the week
- the edge restaurant is only open a few times a week
- i forgot my jacket at the resort but it was never found and the request wasn't handled very well (ie had to call numerous times in order to find out if it was found. I was promised a call back, but never received a call and when i called again, no-one knew what I was talking about and I had to explain the issue again)
- the sunset cruise wasn't great and rather bad value for money

Those minor complaints were far outweighted by the positives and all in all I would really recommend a stay here for a few nights even as only a side trip from dubai.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the generous compliments and we are delighted to know that you loved the location, design and level of service during your recent stay.

The unique location, spacious villas, serene atmosphere and imaginative friendly service does make the stay very enjoyable for all our guests. I am glad to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

I am delighted to read your kindhearted comments and the team at Zighy Bay is already looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

I do apologize for the inconveniences caused due to kids in the main pool. The design of individual pools in all villas is to ensure guest privacy.

I am glad to inform you that the Saline Pool work has been completed and this is the latest addition of the facilities of the resort.

Please be assured of our untiring efforts to ensure that nothing but the highest levels of service is delivered consistently to all our guests.

We do hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience all the services and facilities as expected of us.

Best wishes and kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 1 week in a 2 bedroom suite villa beachfront (no 31). The villa was more than 200 sqmtrs and was elegant and comfortable. I has 2 huge bathtubs, 3 indoor showers and 2 outdoor showers. On both floors there are very spacius bedrooms. 2. floor also has a very nice dining area and a wonderfull outdoor terrace. 1. floor has a spacius living area. All rooms have wondefull views to the sea. The private pool is lovely (especially for the children) and we had direct acces to the nice and clean beach. we also liked the bicycles that all guests get.
Our butler was very, very helpfull. We got our luggage mixed up in Dubai - and he managed - very fast - everything out - meaning that we could enjoy our holiday in spite of the problems with the luggage. He also arranged a cruise and a private dinner on top of the wine tower. I can recommand that.
The in villa dinning service is very fast and effective - and the daily cleaning was spotless.
Regarding the prices I do not think it is that expensive buying foods, drinks etc. It is very high quality and compared to f.e. The Chedi prices are lower. I think you go to Zighy Bay to relax. It is not a place to go if you want a lively bar in the evening and getting together with other guests. There are no local shops, no local restaurants, no local souk etc. nearby the hotel. If you are looking for that you should go to The Chedi instead. But being with your Family in Zighy Bay is absolutely fantastic - and we would be happy to be back again to relax.

Room Tip: A beachfront villa with direct acces to the beach tops the holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Six Senses Zighy Bay and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our hosts.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Six Senses Zighy Bay, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!


All the best,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I have just returned home from a memorable 8-day holiday in Zighy Bay. Our Beach-side-villa was so very comfortable, elegant, yet very unique in its Oman-style. The friendliness, the attentiveness and the charm of the staff made the stay immensely pleasant. Whether it was the butler, who can read the mind of the guest and knows what to arrange or care for personal needs, or the smiles of the waiters at the breakfast…just a perfect way to start the day…or the reception, the waiters at the restaurants, the room attendant or any gardener, one passes on the compound, it all boils down to feeling welcomed and comfortable. Not to forget the mouthwatering food so expertly prepared and served.
A special mention has to be given to the activities, like paragliding into the resort on your arrival, if you care to do so, which is an absolutely amazing experience, or a trip to a village in the mountains guided by a very interesting gentleman who grew up there, just to mention two of many choices. However, if one wants total relaxation, this is the place to go to, too, as everybody will do their very best to make you comfortable.

It is the very best resorts we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing such generous compliments on our resort.

I am delighted to note that our resort was one of the very best resorts you have ever stayed in. The rustic chic luxury is what makes our resort design stand apart.

The Sabatyn trip with Humaid from our Experiences team is certainly an memorable outing which many of our guests have carried back fond memories of.

On behalf of all at Six Senses Zighy Bay, I would like to thank you for letting us be of service and would certainly look forward to the earliest opportunity to welcome you back to our scenic paradise.

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here with my wife in one of the beach front villas. We loved it. The staff were always very helpful and friendly but without getting in the way. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable (especially the bed!) as would be expected of a top end resort. The ensuite pool was refreshing and the sea was several hops away over hot sand. We enjoyed some spa treatments which were particularly appreciated by my wife who has very dry skin. We also took one day's scuba diving which was well organised but the visibility wasn't great. The food was especially good though the menu gets a bit repetetive after a few days. Two issues I had were that it is very hot (we were there in May) - even eating dinner outside I found a struggle and it was too unnecessarily complicated trying to listen to music on my mp3 player in the room.

Room Tip: It depends on your budget but the seafront villas are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Six Senses Zighy Bay.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

We have noted your concerns on the issue you have mentioned and please be assured that we have already initiated to upgrade the facilities and services. The Saline pool is indeed the latest addition to the resort facilities.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and for all the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

Best regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed with my family for a week recently, our second visit to Zighy Bay and it will not be our last. We had a beach front pool villa, number 8 which is on the side nearest the spa.

I disagree with some of the earlier reviews that this place is expensive - you get what you pay for and if you are comparing this to a standard "Hilton" type beach resort then yes, it's expensive. If you compare it to boutique resorts in Seychelles, Maldives, Zanzibar then your comparison is right and the cost, standard and experience is on a par.

We love the low environmental impact of the place, they really try hard to minimise the impact and have been very sypathetic to the bay in constructing the resort. Obvioulsy it's still a hotel/resort and they have to run kitchen/ac/laundry etc. but they do nice things like supporting the local village, the organic garden and their home produced water. No plastic bottles here!

The resort itself is wonderful, barefoot sandy paths, rustic luxury villas, fantastic facilities and as one earlier reviewer pointed out - it's quiet even when it's full. If you are looking for a lively resort, a nightclub in the evening etc. then this is not the place for you. It's a place to relax and have quality time with friends or family. The drive in over the mountain is memorable and the views wonderful. The spa is nice and the main resort pool is amazing. There is a new salt water pool which is just being completed so I never tried it but looks awesome. It's at the end of the resort nearest to Zighy Village.

The rooms are really well laid out, lots of space and good facilities. The wine fridge is a welcome treat. There is a coffee machine in the room too however it was my only let down of the whole experience - the machine was pretty useless and the coffee it made was like dirty water. Good coffee is so easy these days and so many people appreciate good coffee - anyway what's on offer right now is rubbish.

The staff really set this place apart - attentive yet unobtrusive, friendly and warm with the children. Our villa attendant Suresh really couldn't have done more for us. Our butler Karthick kept us up to date with what was going on at the resort, helped us sort out a baby sitter and took us around on his golf cart if we need it.

Food is really nice and caters to all tastes - the room service is really nice too, they make such an effort to set up the table like the restaurant and it's nice to eat out on the terrace or the malaijs is the evening and they bring candles to create a lovely setting. The breakfast to really good - try the freshly cooked arabic mannakesh bread with cream cheese and honey. You won't regret it.

All in all a wonderfully relaxing holiday at a wonderful resort. Keep it up Six Senses! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Beach villa's are worth the extra money but there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on Trip Advisor and also for choosing to stay at the Six Senses Zighy Bay resort for your recent stay.

Delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our scenic paradise. Very happy to read that you loved the environment friendly approach of ours, as well as did take time to visit the organic garden.

The detailed and extensive feedback was a pleasure to read and wish to thank you for the continued patronage.

I have passed on your compliments to Suresh and Karthik, who in turn have asked me to thank you for the opportunity to be of service.

We look forward to seeing you back at Six Senses Zighy Bay soon in the near future!

Best regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a special place, I know, I know, we have all heard it before, but honestly in this case it is true.

We had our second trip in 16 months to Zighy Bay in the last week in September. Both busy people, with busy lives and not enough time, we came back here for a quick week away because on our previous visit we were so impressed. This was better! I had requested the same villa, we like it it is quiet, near the beach but very private, it was there waiting for us, as was our fantastic butler, Ari, a lady for whom nothing is too much trouble. I like dates, he prefers almonds, they were both there waiting for us, in fact it felt little we had never left.

The pool villa's are fantastic, they have everything you could need, great air conditioning, and a fun out door bathroom. A bath big enough for 4 and I strongly recommend, when your butler tells you they want to prepare your bath, you let them.

The spa is great we both loved the massages, and the ice cave, in fact keeping me out of there was our only problem.

The food at this place is incredible, Senses on the Edge really deserves its award as the best restuarant in the Middle East, go for the taster menu and the wines, it was amazing to see how wines we would never have selected worked so well with the food. And the view has to be seen to be believed, we got lucky this time and we were there for the full moon, its light casting on to the resort and sea so far below us, is something I will never forget.

This is a place to keep in your pocket, especially our villa, number,,,,,,,
I would tell you but it could end up in divorce.

Truely a special place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Six Senses Zighy Bay.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the privacy of the villas, the service, the outlets, the activities and our fabulous team of hosts. We will ensure that your kind compliments reach out to all our hosts, especially Ary.

The full moon showering its light on the resort and the sea is indeed a sight to be seen to be believed. Glad to know that you will carry fond memories of your stay...

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for all the positive recommendation you have made which is very helpful us and for the forthcoming travelers who plan to visit us at Zighy Bay.

Thank you once again for supporting our scenic hideaway, and for the time taken to provide us with your extremely positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!

Kind regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Zighy Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.