We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel, Gem of a location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de Chabanettes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auzelles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge de Chabanettes
Save Saved
You added Auberge de Chabanettes to your Saves list
Cotes de Chabanettes, 63590 Auzelles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Auzelles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a Hotel, Gem of a location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights here as part of our first ever trip to the Auvergne and we were overwhelmed with not only our choice of accommodation, but also the region as a whole.

Starting with the Auberge, on arrival we were greeted straight away by Simon & Shirley who welcomed us like family and made us feel at home within minutes. Our room was more than adequate, and travelling with our 12-month old and all the luggage associated with a baby, we had plenty of space to unload and relax, without feeling cluttered or claustrophobic as you sometimes can in many hotel "family rooms".

Breakfast was simple, light and tasty, served by Simon who ensured we had everything we needed in terms of maps and ideas for the day ahead. I'm not a big breakfast person, so a freshly-baked croissant and some sliced fruit was pretty much perfect to set me up for the day.

Each day we explored the area which is sublimely beautiful with sweeping roads climbing the forest-covered mountains, interrupted only by picture-pretty villages with cute cafes, shops and a pace of life that we just don't find back in Britain. I heartily recommend a drive up to the Col de Beal and having a coffee at the top admiring the view. Eating out for lunch in the area is great value too, with the obligatory "menu du jour" priced around 13 Euros for a tasty 3 course lunch in most places we found.

We ate back at the Auberge each night and Shirley always cooked up a gorgeous 4-course menu each evening. The confit of Duck with Puy Lentils was a particular favourite of mine. A small, but decent quality wine selection included a memorable Auvergne Red wine which I reckon was as good as any Claret for a similar price.

There's plenty of nice places to walk nearby too, and I trundled off up the forest road one morning with the pram and watched the first rays of sun come beaming through the forest canopy. A very special sight indeed.

I've never been to the Auvergne before. In fact, I'd never even heard of it before coming across the Auberge de Chabanettes (which we chose only due to its Tripadvisor rating). One thing's for sure, we will be back and can't wait to go exploring some more, and hopefully having the beautiful pink hotel to return to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great for families. Loads of space, and a nice view from the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We chose to stay at the Auberge because other reviewers had rated it highly but this delightful little hotel far exceeded our expectations. Located deep in the Livradois Forest area of the Auvergne, the Auberge is great for anybody who loves walking, cycling or spotting birds of prey. The owners, Simon and Shirley, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and provided excellent service throughout our stay. Our room was large and clean and the bed supremely comfortable.
Whilst the continental breakfasts were ample and tasty, with fresh fruit salad, cereal, yoghurt and freshly baked croissants, the dinners were exquisite. From tasty home made soups and salads, to beautifully cooked chicken and mouth watering desserts, we thoroughly enjoyed every meal.
Throughout our stay, Simon and Shirley were friendly and always happy to provide us with local information and tips on how to make the most of our stay in the beautiful Auvergne.
The worst thing about our stay at the Auberge de Chabanettes was having to leave. We really wished that we had booked to stay for much, much longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Three of us used this hotel as a base for 5 days motorcycling in the surrounding area on 26th May - 30th May 2014 . A friendly welcome from Shirley and Simon started the week. Good beer, plenty of excellent home cooked food and a warm log fire to boot (excellent for drying our clothes when we got drenched in the rain). We couldn't have found a better place to stay as both Shirley and Simon have a good knowledge of the area and were great to chat to in the evenings. We were really made to feel at home. I would recommend to anyone who wanted to stay in this beautiful region of France.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francescas, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have cross(spend) that one night in the inn of the chabanette on April 30th.
A magnificent welcome, in a very attractive inn and in a restful frame, far from everything.
A very good meal full of taste realized by Shirley.
A night calms down in a very spacious bedroom and a delicious breakfast prepared by Simon.
Very pleasant, simple hosts.
Thank you again for this short but good stay.
HERVÉ and MÉLANIE

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived weary after a long trip in a small car with dog from the South, to a wonderful welcome from both Simon and Shirley. we were greeted like long lost friends and taken to a large bedroom with 2 double beds which was simple but immaculate.

A beautiful walk by the nearby river and our energy levels rose again. We walked back to the Auberge to be greeted once again by our hosts who introduced us to a group of people all of whom lived in the nearby village and surrounding area. We joined them for a beer and spent an hour exchanging stories.

Dinner was excellent...all homemade with great care and a delicate hand. Tomato soup , lasagne and salad, local cheeses and a wonderful ginger and lime cheescake and all for 19 euros! The wine was fab and well priced at 16 euros.

A great nights sleep and down to a lovely breakfast prepared and served by the charming Simon!

Thankyou both for your marvellous hospitality and attention to detai, making our brief stay memorable. We will be back!!

Shirley ,Gill and Little Boo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Auberge on 17/8/13 on our way down to Perpignan. What a fantastic place. Simon and Shirley are great people that welcome you and make you feel at home. We arrived a bit late due to traffic but our hosts helped us relax with a lovely meal - a home made Lasagne was perfect for our family of 6 !

The ambience was great and our family room slept 6 meaning we had no worries over split rooms ( unlike last year at a horrible Campanile in Thiers which is to be avoided like the plague ! )

The room was very spacious even with 6 people in 2 doubles and 2 singles. The surrounding countryside is breath-taking and Auberge is completely worth the extra 15 minutes off the A75 road.

Auberge is highly recommended and we will be back !

Thank you Simon and Shirley :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a couple of days here on a touring trip of France. What a lucky find! Thank you Tripadvisor. Even if you have to go a bit out of your way, don't miss a stay at this wonderful auberge. We were made to feel so welcome, the food was so good, the room excellent, the atmosphere so relaxing, everything you could want on holiday - we wished we'd planned to stay in the Auvergne, not tour around. We can still see that scenery and smell the fresh, clean air. It was a wonderful stay and gave many happy memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge de Chabanettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Chabanettes

Address: Cotes de Chabanettes, 63590 Auzelles, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Auzelles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Auzelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Auberge de Chabanettes located in the centre of the beautiful Livradois-Forez Regional Nature Park set in the magnificent Puy de Dome department of the Auvergne region.We are a small friendly Auberge offering Chambre d'Hote & Table d'Hote with a full alcohol licence.British owners Simon and Shirley would be delighted to welcome you for an enjoyable holiday, short break, romantic weekend or an en-route stop over. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de Chabanettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.