We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Roca Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mambajao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Roca Inn
Save
You added Casa Roca Inn to your Saves list
National Highway | Naasag, Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Mambajao B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Best inn! We always do extensive preperations/research on where we will be staying, ambience, food, people and services offered are a big point for us, and casa roca is on top of it! A great place, wonderful food, friendly people and a very very great view of the ocean! And the place is great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Jenny, thank you so much for the wonderful review. You didn't miss a thing and thank you for that. I remember you were going to be continuing your travels and Evelyn and I only hope you are enjoying your journey and hopefully found other places similar to Casa Roca for you to enjoy and relax.
We are so grateful for meeting you and also that you enjoyed what we are doing here and can only hope to see you again.
Cheers and safe travels,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything was so perfect!!! After staying at Caves (not recommended!) and Seascape (quite ok) im so glad i found Casa Roca Inn! Its tranquility, peaceful clean surroundings, great ocean view, the very friendly staff, the house, the veranda and the food were just perfect for me!

I studied HRM and Tourism in Switzerland and i have high expectations in hospitality. After backpacking Luzon and surfing Siargao i decided to spend couple of days in Camiguin Island. This place just topped everything i expected and didnt expected!

ACCOMODATION:
I got a standard basic room with shared bathroom for 1000 pesos breakfast included. It didnt bother me coz the bathroom is just next to the room and there are 2 bathrooms available (there's an openair shower/toilet with waterfall :) for 3 rooms.

FOOD:
Excellent! Best food since im travelling Philippines! I love any kind of vegetables and in the Phils, vegetables are rare for some reasons i couldnt understand. But in Casa Roca its already included to the main meal! Thumbs up for that!
So main meal you'll get vegetables included. Breakfast you'll get fruits with it! The portions are big for reasonable prices with very good food quality. I tried other restaurants in the island but i highly recommend Casa Roca.

STAFF / OWNER:
The staff are well-trained in service, very friendly, courteous and sincere. Jim and Evelyn, the cutest couple ive seen in the Phils! They are both so hearty great people and they made my stay at Casa Roca very comfortable. . .like at home.

So all in all, i highly recommend Casa Roca for single backpacker, couples and small groups! I will definetely come back to this place!
Once youre here, its very hard to leave! You'll get this laidback unforgettable relax feeling for sure!

Thank you very much for everything!
Jenny





Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We miss you already!!!! We can't thank you enough for staying with us and also for the fantastic review. Just remember, you room is always waiting for you!!!!!
I say this a lot in our responses to reviews but you TOTALLY GET what we are doing here and we thank you immensely!!!!!
We wish you safe travels in the rest of our journey and only hope you explore "EVERYTHING" that the Philippines has to offer.
Peace and safe travels,
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

"Something Different" is Casa Roca's tag line as seen in them menu. It's not your regular homestay or bed and breakfast. More like staying at your friend you knew way back from highschool who you really love hanging out with. This place is a something you have thought of in one of those idle moments staring blankly in the computer in your cubicle wondering what the hell it is your are really doing with your life. This is that other place you should be at. And right now you should go as you read this. No need for me to repeat what that others have said. This is one of the best places you can stay at in the fire island of Camiguin.

Room Tip: Get the much coveted Veranda room with the view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Guys, we can't thank you enough for staying with us and also for the great review. We try so hard to make everything good for our guests and like always you guys became our friends and part of our "family" at Casa Roca.
Escape from Ordinary is out slogan and yes...we try really hard to keep to the point and that's for our guests to have a wonderfully different experience outside the typical hotel/resort setting.
Miss Ev's sends her best and we can only hope to see you guys again.
Safe travels and have fun.
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

On arrival Jim told us: "welcome at your home" and that is what he and his wife (and great chef) Evelyn really try to let you experience.

Jim is willing to help you have a great time, for example arranging motorbikes within a few minutes.

We stayed in the big room, with the big balcony. The room is spacious and the balcony with hammock is beautiful. There is a shared bathroom and the room doesn't have aircon, but just keep the balcony doors open and the sea is your air conditioning..!

We saw the best sunset ever, enjoying a cold San Miguel and Tanduy ice.

The breakfast (included) is superb, some guests from holiday resorts nearby come to Casa Roca in the morning to have breakfast here. The menu is extensive and the food is hard to describe, truly wonderful.

You will remember a stay at Casa Roca...!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hey guys...we miss you already and thank you for the wonderful review!!!! You truly get what we are doing here!
We hope the rest of your travels were fun and fruitful but most of all we hope you return again and join us at the Inn. BTW Miss Ev's has been "creating" in the kitchen and has come up with some amazing new dishes for you to try! :)
Till next time, cheers and safe travels,
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The owners of Casa Roca Inn, Jim and Evelyn, are the epitome of hospitality. They are extremely welcoming and will go out of their way to make you feel at home. The standard rooms are basic but nice and comfortable, while the large room facing the sea is fantastic. But mostly, you go to Casa Roca Inn for the beautiful house and its surroundings, its tranquility, the hospitality and the great food. The food, cooked by Evelyn and the staff, was delicious very reasonably priced.

The B&B is located a few kilometers out of the main town on the island, about a 10-15 minute motorbike ride away. They can arrange motorbike rentals.

Highly recommended place, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Ben, thanks so much for staying with us and also for the wonderful review. We continue to work hard here to make things even better. We've completed the expansion to the kitchen and also created a new seating area overlooking the cliff just off the side of the house. The guests love it. We've also completed our updates to the lookout down by the water so you can now sit right down by the shore with shade cover and comfortable chairs. It's now a really cool spot.
Miss Ev's is still working her magic in the kitchen and developed a few new dishes...so you have to return to try them out!!!! And yes...we've put coat hooks in the rooms!
Cheers Ben and safe travels always,
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place was probably the best hotel I've even stayed in everything considered, especially when considering the price!

It's so peaceful and relaxing (kids aren't allowed although we didn't realise this and brought our baby nephew, however Jim and Evelyn were really nice and let us off on that occasion!). The house is beautiful and charming, the views are wonderful. Camiguin itself has lots to do if you like beaches, hiking and beautiful scenery! We took trike around the island to the waterfall, white island, and the sunken cemetery. Although it's not in the main town, it's still very easy to get about and it's not exactly a huge island.

The standard room is nice, nothing fancy, but for a little extra, the suite is jaw-droppingly beautiful. The hammock on the balcony is sooo relaxing. We didn't mind sharing bathrooms at all - there are two between three rooms anyway! And the downstairs bathroom is complete with a water fountain and waterfall shower!

Food - fantastic, definitely the best I ate in the Philippines. Breakfast is included in room price and is huge and varies each day. The menu for lunch and dinner is very reasonably priced and delicious, they have daily specials. Their bar prices are also good and their pina coladas were great (well being on an island with fresh pineapples and coconuts I suppose they should be!)

Jim and Evelyn and their staff were all wonderful - Jim is especially entertaining and has plenty of stories to tell! He even lit a big bonfire one night and sat up chatting with us.

Would go back in a heartbeat - if you're travelling to Camiguin, this is one not to miss.

Room Tip: The suite with balcony is DEFINITELY worth the extra money. It's got wow-factor for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
WOW!!! You guys were amazing and you really got the feel of our little place. We thank you so much for staying with us and also for the wonderful review. Yes...the fire on the cliff was definitely a hit and we enjoyed it to! You had a great idea there.
We've had a few more since but now I've built a beautiful seating area in the same spot and people love it. Thanks to you guys!!!!
We hope you can return to Camiguin and enjoy the island and Casa Roca Inn again and in the mean time...enjoy your travels guys.
Cheers,
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in July, the accommodations are basic but comfortable, the owners
were away at the time of our stay but we were looked after well by their staff. If you are okay with sharing a bathroom with 3 other rooms, and don't care that there is no cable television at this charming B&B it is a Great Place to stay for the price. They have a very good Budget Menu, the meals we had were very good especially considering the prices and portion sizes. It seems to also be quite popular with the locals as a Budget place to eat. The grounds and the Ocean view are excellent, be very careful though if you wish to climb down the very steep way to get to the sea for a swim. It is a little bit far from most of the other Resorts, restaurants and other attractions but you can rent motorbikes from them. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Guys and thank you for your wonderful review.
Ev and I were away for some "CHILL" time when you visited but based on your review it appears the staff were doing well to look after you! Hopefully you will choose to visit us again on your next trip to Camiguin and we'll get to meet you.
Cheers and safe travels always,
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Roca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Roca Inn

Address: National Highway | Naasag, Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mambajao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roca Inn is a wonderful and unique "full service" inn located on beautiful Camiguin Island, Philippines. We offer cost conscious travelers a fantastic and affordable alternative to the typical resorts. With our great rooms, guests enjoy a delicious breakfast and our dining room offers "market fresh meals, daily "specials" menu for lunch and dinner and a full service bar for the best Island beverages. Motor bike rentals, Island tours, pick up and drop off service etc can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Roca Inn Camiguin/Mambajao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Roca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.