We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the foreign locals love it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Roca Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mambajao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Roca Inn
Save
You added Casa Roca Inn to your Saves list
National Highway | Naasag, Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Mambajao B&B and Inns
Mayana Sagay Camiguin Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even the foreign locals love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you find a place to rest and eat it is good but when you find a place that even the locals recommend that's the best. Great place to stay, eat or just drop in for a coffee, and Jim and Evelyn can not be more helpful!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hey guys!!!! Thanks for the great review...we're sorry for the delay in reply but it's been a bit crazy around here and only now slowing a bit. We'll be by to say hello soon but cannot thank you enough for such a wonderful review.
Cheers,
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay on Camiguin. Rather special indeed, thanks to wonderful hosts Jim and Evelyn, and to their helpful staff. The architect's environmentally respectful good sense and the house's pleasing, airy layout are also a huge plus (no air-con and no need for it; if you're a bit warm in your room, the fan will see you right, and there are mosquito nets if you feel you need them - I didn't).

I say "house" because that's what Casa Roca is - and it's a very nice one. It's emphatically Jim and Evelyn's place (in a good way), which for me meant lots of hanging out with them (my wife was unable to travel with me on this trip, which I guess contributed to that) and plenty of interesting conversation with them and their friends, who would regularly pop in for a beer or five.

Travellers who want room service, cable TV, their own private bathrooms, air-con, minions to carry their luggage and a generic resort experience should probably stay elsewhere. But I loved this place, its simplicity and its superbly chilled and friendly atmosphere. By the way, Jim's terrific collection of music was unbeatable (at least for a guy of 45!), and the breakfasts really hit the spot - nothing more, yet certainly nothing less than you'll need. Just like Casa Roca, really. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hey!!!! Sorry for the delay in response to your review but we've been pretty busy and only now taking a well deserved "breather"!
Your review is amazing and we can't thank you enough! We miss you here at the Inn and only hope you will return soon. So glad you loved the "Tunes" and we've been adding to the music collection in a huge way. Ev is still cooking up a storm and the beer just seems to be getting "colder" it that is possible.
Again, thanks for the amazing review and hope to see you soon.
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao, Davao City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

as what the title says, it's a home away from home! you will never feel like you're an outcast the moment you set your foot in here.. it was a spur-of-the-moment decision to stay here but we never had any regrets., their food was extremely delicious and real home made. I've been to few of the resorts in neighboring cities but this escapade was totally different. apart from a very relaxing yet jolly ambiance, i haven't really felt i'm tired. i told myself this was a real VACATION!! (sad to say for only couple of days). All the travel and the arguments (with friends) is worth it.. Evelyn was very accommodating which i'll never forget and James was a very good conversationalist, you got to know the whole place without you taking a trip around. anyhow, we'd surely be back here for another home-away-from-home escapade. thanks a lot guys, you're place is really worth visiting!

Room Tip: ask Evelyn, she perfectly knows the answer.. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hey guys,
So sorry for the delay in response to your beautiful review. We've been pretty busy here at the Inn and just getting to responding to all your wonderful reviews. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to your return...it was great fun and there's always lot's more of that here at the Inn and on Camiguin Island.
Again, thank you so much for your input to our little piece of heaven and sharing your thoughts will all our future guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Peace and Love
Jim and Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mambajao, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What started as a b&b turned into the best place to eat on Camiguin Island! A great location, great ambiance, extremely friendly and welcoming staff! Originally we went there for breakfast, and have since gone for lunch and dinner, at least once a week. It has become our home away from home.

Excellent food at reasonable pricing.

They have 3 rooms available!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Rob and Gwen, thank you so much for the great review. We can't believe the support we are getting and yours is extra special. We continue to work hard to improve what we do here and provide a great place for the local population as well as the tourist to enjoy.
Your the greatest and thanks for the support, kind comments and "Rob's Iced Coffee"!!!
Cheers,
J & E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came here for my birthday & my friend Troy did all the travel planning this time. It's been a while since we went anywhere new so I need to remind myself not to let him to do that again ;-)

This is the only thing that went right on this trip. All our transportation arrangement were none existent including our orignal place where we suppose to stay at. Good thing Jim was there to rescue us. We were very hesitant to even trust him cause nothing was going right with our travel but LET ME TELL YOU WHAT...this is the only spot we will ever stay in Camiguin & for sure will be coming back. To make this a very short review. It's HOME.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Ed and Troy!!!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review, remembering us...and most importantly...staying with us at Casa Roca Inn!!!! We can tell you that you guys are missed big time! When we met you were going through a bad patch of travel fatigue and we just did our best to make your stay a memorable one. In the end you made it memorable for us!!!! Your enthusiasm, fun and frolic have become Casa Roca folklore!!!! We look forward to your next visit and can't wait to hear all the news.
Stay safe, happy trails and please stay in touch.
J & E
Casa Roca Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Casa roca inn of camuigin island is the best happening in this island. It's all about good service and the best company you will get in this island because of James and miss Eve. Of course you come all the way here for the best food again prepared and cook by your flamboyant chef James and chef Eve..

I'm waiting to read your review of the Casa Roca Inn soon...

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and quite and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi guys and sorry for the delay in responding to your wonderful review but we've been busy here at the Inn!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review...you are amazing people and amazing guests and it was our absolute pleasure serving you and making your stay on Camiguin Island a good one. We look forward to seeing you again and hope it won't be to long!
Cheers and happy travels from all of us at Casa Roca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

adventure and fun seekers will definitely love this place. with a breathtaking view of the ocean, one could simply admire the serenity of the surroundings. if you like to have a place to stay for your work or simply read a book - this defines the place, but if you also love to go active on snorkeling and diving, this is the spot! business with pleasure won't seem to be a problem here. coupled with a sumptuous feast of kitchen recipes cooked from the heart - evelyn simply knew how to make your day perfect!

this place is definitely one haven built and managed with love.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prosolido, Owner at Casa Roca Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Mei and sorry for the delay in reply!
Thank you soooo much for your wonderful review. You have such a beautiful family and we miss you here at the Inn. It was so much fun and Ev and I are so glad we had the chance to meet you and make your stay on Camiguin a good one! I can only hope you will visit us again and also I can have a chance to play guitar with your man! LOL
Have fun guys and thank you so much for making Casa Roca Inn your home away from home!
Cheers,
Jim & Ev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Roca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Roca Inn

Address: National Highway | Naasag, Mambajao, Mindanao 9100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mambajao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roca Inn is a wonderful and unique "full service" inn located on beautiful Camiguin Island, Philippines. We offer cost conscious travelers a fantastic and affordable alternative to the typical resorts. With our great rooms, guests enjoy a delicious breakfast and our dining room offers "market fresh meals, daily "specials" menu for lunch and dinner and a full service bar for the best Island beverages. Motor bike rentals, Island tours, pick up and drop off service etc can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Roca Inn Camiguin/Mambajao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Roca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.