We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Families beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mirage Alexandra Headland to your Saves list
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Mari Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Families beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After requesting a room with security screens and a clean unit as we have four little children, I turned up for our yealy christmas holiday to find our unit did not have security screens. The childrends beds were located underneath the window with nothing to stop them falling three stories. How many children have fallen out of windows. Very neglegent this day and age and disappointing when they were requested. Also on our last day found a dirty condom behind the beside table. Pretty gross

Room Tip: Stay in Moloolaba - its much nicer and you wont need to get in the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It is always disappointing to read feedback from guests who have not enjoyed their stay at The Mirage. Whilst every attempt is made to meet all requests, as we did let you know on arrival, of your three requests. - refurbished apartment, two air conditioners and lockable screens we do not have any apartments with all three. Due to the heat and your young family a decision was made to allocate you a refurbished apartment with two air conditioners. On the second day of your stay I became aware of this situation and phoned your apartment. I spoke to a male adult about moving to another apartment with screens but only one air conditioner and was told that you were all fine, kids were not having trouble with the screens and you were all happy to stay in your allocated apartment. I invited him to call back at any time should this situation change.
The condom comment is a mystery, this would have had to have been missed by housekeeping, manager's entry check, then your whole family for six days. No mention of this supposed incident was mentioned to our receptionist on checkout either. Given the number of guest responses highlighting the cleanliness of The Mirage this comment seems very out of place. We trust you enjoyed the facilities we offer at The Mirage and that your next family holiday will be everything you desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    44
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
106
37
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Mirage over 6 years . Still wonderfully run self contained apartments with very well maintained facilities. New management from last stay but the high standards are not changed . Only one suggestion , to check the units are equipped with all the expected kitchen cooking needs before new guests move in. But as I have said we will gladly return. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that as relatively new managers (since Nov 2011) the standard of The Mirage has been maintained! We must give credit to our owners and body corporate committee for their dedication to working with us to achieve this goal. With such a large property, the three pools, gardens, courts it does require constant attention. By the way we have definitely checked the kitchen stock now and please, if ever something is missing give us a call so we can rectify this for you. Looking forward to visit number four whenever that may be...hope you have a great year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Visted with friends and really enjoyed our stay here. Everyone agreed the beds were comfortable and all had a good nights sleep. The showers have great water pressure. Pools are lovely. The beach is close by. The kitchen in the apartment is stocked very well. My only complaint is management told us to be quiet at 8:26pm on the Friday night. We were by no means having a raging party or anything. Just 5 girls talking on the balcony, and to be told to be quiet before 8:30pm is pretty ridiculous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience at The Mirage. We did a bed blitz mid 2013 making sure all our mattresses were comfortable, replacing or adding toppers where necessary so it was rewarding to have you mention this as something you appreciated. You are right about 8.30pm being a bit early to be asked to quieten down, it is not our usual time and we trust it did not dampen your spirits on the night. Happy New Year from us all at The Mirage and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had an amazing stay at the Mirage Alexandra Headland, the staff treated us so nicely and the room was beautiful. We stayed on level 5 and it was a really large unit. I loved the big bathroom, bedroom and balcony. The views were lovely and it was nice and quiet. The pools were well kept and tropical. we will definately go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Mirage, we love that you loved it! You don't have to be very high here to get an amazing outlook, we have had a bit of rain since you left which has topped up the lagoon and refreshed those beautiful gardens. Love to welcome you back again when next you visit the Sunshine Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here with our 18 month old and had a great time in the swimming pools and the local area. Although we found it a bit far to walk in the heat uphill to Mooloolaba, the resort has so much to offer. It was nice and quiet and the Surf Club across the road had lovely all day meals, which was great for a family with a young child on Melbourne EDST! Coffee and restaurants were handy, just a couple of minutes to the main road.The pools were just lovely, and management really went out of their way to help me with a pair of prescription sunglasses that went missing from the pool area, putting signs up and then posting them to me as soon as they were returned. These kind of things are very much appreciated, so staff, if you are reading this, thank you so,so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Yes, Catzels we are reading this and you are very welcome! I know what it is like to lose precious sun glasses, cost to replace plus hassle factor is terrible. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Mirage, aren't the pools great for little ones, we have families who have been coming for 10 years as the children just don't want to go anywhere else. Do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently had a wonderful stay in a two bed apartment. It was recently refurbished (ask for this) and lovely and clean inside, with everything we needed (including a basket to take our food and plates down to the BBQ for a quick kids dinner after a hard afternoon's swimming). The pools were just fantastic - lagoon, lap, kids, and spa and kept our kids entertained the whole week. The pool grounds and surrounding gardens were immaculate. Just across the road to the beach, the surf club and an ok little Italian restaurant. We were happy for the hire car (great parking under the building) as the supermarket in walking distance was fine for emergencies but we were better off driving to Coles. Nice to explore up and down the coast too. The staff were so helpful, and the facilities fantastic. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
So pleased you loved your holiday at The Mirage, we are proud of what we offer here and it means a lot when you take the time to post a comment and share with other readers. Your time is appreciated. We will make sure we continue to refurbish and maintain everything at The Mirage ready for your next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the 13th for 3 nights and would happily recommend this place. The room was clean and spacious, staff were friendly and very helpful, lastly the pool area was fantastic. For my wife to say she would stay there again says something, trust me...

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for the feedback - sounds like your wife has great taste! So pleased you enjoyed your few days with us and do hope you are able to return again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mirage Alexandra Headland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Address: 6 Mari Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandra Headland
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alexandra Headland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Mirage Alexandra Headland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mirage Alex Resort on Alexandra Headland, the luxury four and a half star resort on Sunshine Coast. Set just 50 meters from the main road The Mirage offers stunning views without the traffic noise, and is just a short walk away from either Mooloolaba or Maroochydore! Our balconies are all east-facing and have a view of our beautiful pool and gardens, the lagoon, park and/or ocean. Opposite the resort's location is the picturesque Lake Nelson Park, home to many water birds, including our beloved swans. Come at the right time of year and watch the baby cygnets or maybe some ducklings with their parents. We offer spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments with full size kitchens, large living and dining areas, separate laundry and east facing balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Mirage Alexandra Headland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Hotel Alexandra Headland
Mirage Hotel Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mirage Alexandra Headland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.