We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mirage Alexandra Headland to your Saves list
The Mirage Alexandra Headland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Mari Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a 3 Brm apartment. They are very big, light and airy. The layout is good and it has an ensuite plus a bathroom with sep toilet. The apartment also has it's own laundry and the kitchen has everything you could need. All apartments face the park with a peek at the ocean. Everywhere was clean, even the BBQ area looked new. Overall it had everything and more. the only negative comment is that the beds were hard.Am used to a soft bed. 2 minute walk to takeways and IGA(Dairy).Would stay there again. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
I love it when our guests love The Mirage as much as we do! Thank you for taking the time to posts a review of your stay with us. We do take your feedback seriously and just want you to know that we have put a soft mattress topper on 'that bed' so no other guest will have a hard nights sleep! Until next time, keep that Mirage relaxed feeling with you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    44
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
106
37
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Mirage is serene, roomy apartment buildings. We stayed on the second floor in a three bedroom apartment and were surprised to find how roomy and spacious they were. The pool is lovely and the location is fabulous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday with us. You have done a great job letting others know just how lovely and spacious our apartments are. It is difficult to convey this with written description so - thank you! Look forward to welcoming you back to The Mirage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Mirage as a couple. We have stayed there previously with teenage children and found the units to be very spacious and well appointed.
Back from the beach front and road makes it a little quieter, but the views are still very good.
It was excellent for just two. our apartment had been renovated fairly recently so had a "modern and updated" feel to it - I can see how people staying in 10 year old unrenovated rooms may be less impressed. There were a few too many of the unit owners personal touches, but they did not take away from the experience.
New managers were great - helpful, friendly and happy to assist.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished. Ask for airconditioning (it can be quite humid in February...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at The Mirage Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your unit. We have been working hard with our owners making sure all our units are upgraded so the days of unrenovated rooms are becoming a thing of the past! We also agree about how it can be hot in February so rest assured all our rooms have air conditioned living areas and we are gradually installing more units into master bedrooms. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Sunshine Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Four friends having a girls weekend. What a great location, pleasant surroundings, no road noise, within walking distance of the beach and surf club, great pool area. Next door to the Bowling Alley. 3 bedroom apartment with all necessary facilities. Will definitely be going back. Would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Go Girls Weekends, something I love to do myself! So pleased you enjoyed yourselves and really appreciate you taking time to post a comment here. What I love about our apartments for groups is that they are spacious & comfortable so if you feel like just sitting around eating and chatting it is the perfect space. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here in January for 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom rooftop penthouse apartment and were happy with the standard of accomodation and value for money.

At the outset, I must say that we had absolutely terrible weather while we were there (it rained 11/14 days) which somewhat colored our view of the entire holiday. So I imagine I would be more glowing in my review if we had've enjoyed our holiday a little more.

Apartment was clean and reasonably up to date in terms of features. 50 inch plasma in living room and 25 inch LCD in bedroom. Fully ducted airconditioning throughout with zoning switches for the bedrooms was a nice touch and above what one normally gets in these resorts. Obvioulsy all apartments differ in their decor but this one was fine.

Only negatives would be the size of the living area - a little smaller than expected (especially after seeing the photos on the website), the layout of the bedrooms (main and kids right next to each other so zero privacy) and the amount of light streaming in to the kids bedroom every morning (they woke at 5:20am every day!).

The main apartment door had susbtantial gaps around it (i.e. no real seal) and as the lift well is not airconditioned, we had hot air streaming into the apartment 24/7 through the door jam. This forced us to have the a/c on longer than we would've liked and meant the bedrooms were freezing when the living room was just comfortable. There were also no fly screens so we could not take adantage of any night time sea breezes.

As a penthouse we had access to our own rooftop bbq and dining area with table, chairs and 2 sunlounges. Of course given the weather we hardly got to use it (as it is exposed to the elements).

Great views from up there but the only downside is that to access this area you need to go outside the apartment, enter the stairwell to the top floor, unlock the stairwell door with your key and then make your way to your allocated area which was also locked and requiring key access. While this is great security especially for young kids, it proved to be a tad difficult to manouver food, bbq utensils, plates, drinks etc up and down the stairs while unlocking and locking doors. Think I would prefer direct access from within the apartment like most other resorts do (via a stairwell on the balcony).

The resort itself was very clean, well mantained with lush tropical gardens and lovely pools. Very safe for children however due to the rock formations around the spa and main pool there are a number of blind spots where you can't see your children so you need to be on your toes.

There is also a tennis court and half basketball court which we didn't use as our kids are quite young but many others did.

The resort management and very friendly and helpful and have a lot of beach/ pool toys for kids to use free of charge which is great. They also have a small supply of DVDs for hire ($3) on site at reception which was a great touch especially when it is raining!

The resort is very well located being only 100m walk to the beach, shops and the Alex Surf Club. It is right next door to a 10 pin bowling alley and has a huge park and lake right in front of it also. Being a half block back from the main drag it is also very quiet.

All in all a great choice for accomodation in Alexandra Headlands. With a little attention to detail most of these very minor issues could be easily resolved.

Would definitlely recommend staying here and ringing in advance to select the right apartment for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors afford more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Really appreciate you taking the time to post such a comprehensive comment on trip advisor. It really helps us to know how we can continue to improve our services here at The Mirage. Ahhh those rainy patches can be really trying and I always feel for our guests when it happens to coincide with your holiday. So pleased you enjoyed your unit and your feedback re blinds and screens are being looked into. We do have some different apartment layouts and 3BR apartments with larger living areas so happy to discuss this when you next book. Until then may you have more sunny days than rainy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My family[2 adults and 2 children (ages 7 and 5)] booked to stay at this establishment for 10 nights as part of a 14 day Queensland holiday. We started our holiday with 3 nights at the Peppers Broadbeach apartments, so my wife could get the "shopping part" of the holiday out of the way. Well, this may have been a mistake as the Peppers apartments set very high standards for the rest of the holiday. We arrived at The Mirage and went to our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. They make you pay for the entire stay up front, so that's the first mistake I made! We entered the apartment and the first thing my wife said was "this place stinks"! And it did. The centre room drain plugs in the bathrooms were foul. I have experienced this before and the remedy is to pour boiling water down the holes and then pineoclean. The furnishings were dated, couch had a rip and the beds had had better days. The tumble dryer had some foreign stains in it. However, the apartment was as clean as it could be and generally other matters were ok.
I think our stay here, which by the way only lasted 4 of the 10 nights, was tainted, not by the establishment, but by Alexandra Headland itself. We found this area to be very unsavory, full of not very nice people, who abused us as we drove around, for driving slow or not letting them in or for things I couldn't work out. Everyone had tatoos, even the 5 year old kids! The Mirage car park was full of big 4 wheel drives, utes and commercial vehicles. Everyones a tough guy and the kids give you the finger as well. We left the Mirage and went to stay at the 5 star RACV resort at Noosa, an area that has a much more relaxed and cosmopolitan appeal. For us it was about another $40 per night and it left the Mirage for dead. [see my next review]
I noted when I booked our stay at the Mirage that fellow Trip Advisor members said it was a great place to stay. Now I am not disputing what they have said, but we aspire for something better. I like to have the apartment serviced daily and I like modern up to date premises. The Mirage was not for us.

Room Tip: Ask to see the apartment first before paying, and make sure you are happy with it. Don't stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
It was disappointing for us to read your comments and felt sorry you had such an unpleasant experience in Alexandra Headland. I can assure you there are many lovely non abusive people who call Alexandra Headlands home and have never heard of people being abusive around here before – maybe it was Silly Season stress! Regardless, we are really pleased you found fully serviced 5 star accommodation in Noosa and were able to enjoy the remainder of your holiday. We certainly never intend to be misleading at The Mirage and are happy to discuss any personal needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was our second trip to the Mirage at Alexandra heads - The property is fantastic, it is quiet, safe and has everything you need for a family getaway.
We have 2 children one with special needs, and he were completely at ease in the calm environment - which makes for a bit of relaxation for the parents!!!!
We stayed in a 3 bedroom appartment which had everything you need and was very clean (which is my strongest need!!) There is good air con but not in the bedrooms (though some appartments do have it) - we didn't find it too bad even with the 35 deg temperatures.
There are 3 pools and a spa of which the biggest is a walk in pool so is great for granny who came with us. And a tennis court (though we didn't use this...)
The park was a short 2 minute walk from the resort with a pond that the children loved watching the fish flying into the air, and there is a bowling alley next door to the resort - what more do you need???
Pure Bliss........
The staff were very friendly and the great BBQ area by the pool with shaded tables were perfect in the evenings.
We will definately be back again a

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at The Mirage Alexandra Headland, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
I get excited when I read reviews such as yours as we are just as enthusiastic about all the great attributes the Mirage has to offer for families– thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I particularly loved your reference to the ‘calm environment’ as this is one of the things we love about living here ourselves. So close to the action when you want it but when you sit on your deck there is that instant calm that descends! Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mirage Alexandra Headland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mirage Alexandra Headland

Address: 6 Mari Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandra Headland
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alexandra Headland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Mirage Alexandra Headland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mirage Alex Resort on Alexandra Headland, the luxury four and a half star resort on Sunshine Coast. Set just 50 meters from the main road The Mirage offers stunning views without the traffic noise, and is just a short walk away from either Mooloolaba or Maroochydore! Our balconies are all east-facing and have a view of our beautiful pool and gardens, the lagoon, park and/or ocean. Opposite the resort's location is the picturesque Lake Nelson Park, home to many water birds, including our beloved swans. Come at the right time of year and watch the baby cygnets or maybe some ducklings with their parents. We offer spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments with full size kitchens, large living and dining areas, separate laundry and east facing balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Mirage Alexandra Headland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Hotel Alexandra Headland
Mirage Hotel Alexandra Headland
The Mirage Alexandra Headland Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mirage Alexandra Headland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.