We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views & Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palais Beachside Resort to your Saves list
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   188 Alexandra Parade (Cnr Alexandra Parade & Mary Street), Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gore, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Views & Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great place to stay we stayed from the 7th August to 10th August, we had a 1 bedroom Penthouse Apartment, was awesome. Great view, great Spa. AWESOME. Only one problem was the noisy Air Conditioning Unit on the Roof around from our room, it sounded like it was right beside us. Other than that everything was great, even had a decent clothes line on the roof. Handy to everything & found an awesome restaurant just down the road, the food was very IMPRESSIVE. Sorry can't remember the name it was just down in front of The Breakfree Resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors no traffic noise, rooms with an ocean view very impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi 64Sally,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback.

It sounds like you enjoyed your time here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort. Our penthouse apartments are certainly a treat! We are pleased to here that you were able to take advantage of our facilities.

With our ideal location, we are in close proximity to many shopping and dining destinations. It sounds like your taste buds were delighted at a nearby restaurant - you might have to come and visit us again soon in order to try another item on the menu!

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    69
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
74
92
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridge,New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package and then paid extra to ensure we had a sea view,which we got albeit over the shops below and it was a 2 bedroom unit so we had 2 showers etc for the 2 of us-actually very good.It was noisy at times but we were beside a main road.Perhaps a floor or 2 higher up may have improved the view.The unit is dated and a little more attention to wiping surfaces -particularly vertical wouldn't go amiss but it is great value, the management are helpful and friendly and the location is great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi SueC,

We appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the self-contained 2 bedroom apartment.

Our beachside location also allows guests to be in close proximity to shopping and dining destinations and we are glad that you found this to be a happy medium!

Your concern about the cleanliness of the room will be passed on to the team as we aim to provide all of our guests with value for money.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great place for a relaxing holiday with shops, restaurants & cafes close at hand. The staff are friendly & very helpful. We stayed in a penthouse ocean view apartment with a rooftop entertaining area. Great views but the rooftop is only good for the more mobile as the staircase would be hard to negotiate otherwise. Nothing like sitting & watching the surfers as the sun rises in the morning & then down to Alex Surf club for a coffee & breaky. You can sit on the front deck & watch the world pass by as all your stress goes away. The room we had was a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom as we had friends come up from the GC to spend a couple of nights with us. It was spacious and had all you need to make your stay comfortable including a spa bath in the main bathroom.

Room Tip: Beach view apartments are a bit noisier but it is well worth a little noise for the views. Definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi Glenn G,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We are pleased to hear that you were able to put your feet up and relax while here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort. Our ideal beachside location means that our guests are able to enjoy the views and still be in walking distance to shopping and dining destinations.

We trust that you enjoyed your time away and we hope to see you again in the near future.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Palais last weekend and really enjoyed it. We visited from the Gold Coast for a long weekend and found it be just what we were looking for.

Firstly the location was superb. Right on the beach, near the surf club, lots of restaurants and facilities nearby, great playground and bbq pits in the park by the beach. As well as the beautiful beach there were some rock pools where the kids had great fun spotting fish and anything else that moved.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was just what we were hoping for. The kitchen was very well appointed and the view from the balcony was great. The entire space was clean and tidy and we felt very comfortable - and the jacuzzi was fantastic!

We met the owners during our stay and they could not have been more hospitable and attentive. It's easy to see why the Grand Palais is doing so well with them in charge.

I have no doubt that we'll be back, and soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi stuartblott,

Thank you for your perfect ratings!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our ideal beachside location, being in close proximity to shopping and dining destinations. It's great that your children were also able to enjoy the hidden treasures of the Sunshine Coast.

Our self-contained apartments come hand-in-hand with a balcony view and we are also pleased to hear that you were able to put your feet up and relax in our facilities.

Here at Grand Palais, we pride ourselves on customer service and are humbled that you were able to recognise this.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is in a good position however the road noise never stops, we were updated to a roof top room on arrival it was very nice but needed a deep clean and the décor could do with a refresh. Our Barbie did not work and ross very kindly brought us another one however that also needed a good clean, Within good walking distance of off the surf club and both towns

Room Tip: maybe a room at the back away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi JakeyCheshire,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback.

Being in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, it is often hard to find an ideal location which is in close proximity to shopping and dining destinations while providing a relaxing atmosphere for our guests. However, we pride ourselves on our beachside views and hope that our resort was still able to provide you with a great holiday experience.

As you experienced firsthand, there is always a manager on hand to address any of your concerns. Our dedicated staff aim to maintain our facilities in working order to ensure our guests receive value for money.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this delightful location. Alex Headland is a great family place to stay and this property is ideally situated. It is close to Alex Headlands beach & surf club and a 20 minute walk to Mooloolabar with its quality restaurants and shopping.

Unfortunately Unit 42 in this property has some drawbacks. Although it is situated on the 3rd floor, because this unit is set at the rear of the site, it is necessary to crane your neck to get a view of the sea. Privacy is also an issue because of the closeness of the neighbouring buildings to the balcony and loungeroom.

The Unit needs a good refurbishment as it is quite tired. The lounge is uncomfortable and my wife found the mattress not firm enough and so suffered with her back. It is not a comfortable place to rest or relax in.

Parking is secure, but the entry and exit is tricky. Because of the steepness of the entrance it is difficult to see over the bonnet of the car going up the ramp and a collision with incoming traffic is something to be wary of.

The Managers are very pleasant and helpful. I have rated this property up one star because of the situation and the Managers.

Given the high ratings of other contributors and reviewers I am concerned that this review is somewhat harsh, but the Unit is what it is. The Grand Palais complex is well situated and a stay at a better situated and better equipped unit within the complex could well result in a better review.

Room Tip: Call and discuss the position & quality of the unit with the managers before confirming a bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi NeilB750,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you found our ideal beachside location in comfortable walking distance to all that Alexandra Headlands has to offer.

Here at Grand Palais, we have housekeeping services and dedicated staff who aim to maintain our apartments so that you receive value for money. Your concerns regarding the bedding will be passed on to the team. While we endorse your room tip of calling to discuss the position of the unit before booking to avoid disappointment, we like to ensure that the quality of our rooms across the board.

We pride ourselves on customer service and we are pleased that you were able to recognise this.

Honesty is the best policy! We are always looking for ways in which we can improve the experience of our guests, so we appreciate your feedback.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort is a lovely central place to stay at on the Sunshine Coast. It was great value for money with amazing special prices. The rooms were immaculate with lovely decor and furnishings. Very clean. We had the penthouse on the top floor that looked out to the ocean it was just beautiful. The swimming pool was really warm and the stafff were really helpful and friendly. We would certainly stay there again and recommend the resort to others visiting the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Jude Coalgate,

Thank you for your perfect ratings and for taking the time to share your pleasant experience here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort.

We take pride in our location in that we are just minutes away from shopping destinations, restaurants and other holiday attractions on the Sunshine Coast.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our fully self-contained apartments with a private roof-top area, not to mention the great ocean views! We are also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our heated pool facility.

Thank you for the positive word of mouth and we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.

Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palais Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Address: 188 Alexandra Parade (Cnr Alexandra Parade & Mary Street), Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Beachside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palais Beachside Resort holiday accommodation apartments are your perfect choice in affordable luxury on the Sunshine Coast. Will full amenities, a great location and amazing views, we have it all here at Grand Palais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palais Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Beachside Hotel Alexandra Headland
Grand Palais Beachside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palais Beachside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.