We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxation, Great Location, Booked again for next year...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Palais Beachside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Palais Beachside Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   188 Alexandra Parade (Cnr Alexandra Parade & Mary Street), Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUD130 (AUD)
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Relaxation, Great Location, Booked again for next year...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Complex is a very leisurely hours drive from Brisbane, yet once you get there you could be excused for thinking you are in another country. Relaxing units with great ocean views located just a stroll away from everything. We were there for our honeymoon as well as the Mooloolaba Triathlon and found it more convenient to walk to Mooloolaba rather than take the car. The walk back to the unit finishes of a great meal at one of the fantastic restaurants in the area, whilst the well equiped kitchen meant that eating in was definately an option.
So pleased were we with our time there that we are already booked for the anniversary..
Thanks go to Ross, Karen & the staff for being both friendly and discreet. See you next year.

Room Tip: Go the whole hog & get a penthouse with the roof top access..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi Peter M,

We are so pleased to hear that Grand Palais could accommodate you on your honeymoon.

We take pride in our location in that we are only a short scenic stroll away from the Sunshine Coast’s best restaurants and cafes, and are glad that you were able to take advantage of this convenience.

Thank you for recommending our self-contained apartments with balcony views overlooking Alexandra Headland Beach.

We look forward to seeing you next year!

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    54
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
65
79
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A friend recommended grand palais for a great weekend getaway up the coast at Alexandra headlands. So glad we took their advice. Great location overlooking the beach and close to restaurants, fantastic service from all the staff and clean and comfortable renovated rooms add up to a great weekend getaway. Thank you so much grand palais.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Gordwan,

We are pleased to hear that you were referred to Grand Palais Beachside Resort through positive word-of-mouth.

We take pride in our location in that we are only a short scenic stroll away from the Sunshine Coast’s best restaurants cafes, with balcony views overlooking Alexandra Headland Beach.

We also appreciate that you have recognised the dedication of our staff who aim to maintain the high standard of our modern and spacious apartments.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again,

Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Im a single dad of 2 ,my girls and I needed a beach holiday and boy did we get it .Staight across from the beach and our unit 61 was immaculate with views all the way up the coast.
We where greeted when we arrived with a smile and tips on places to see on the Coast but all my girls wanted to do was swim in the heated pool . While based on a busy road there was no concern with noise.
The Thai resturant down stairs is the best Thai ever
I will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Michael H,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience here at Grand Palais Beachside Resort.

We are pleased that we were able to provide you and your family with a relaxing holiday escape. With balcony views overlooking Alexandra Headland Beach, we pride ourselves on our ideal location.

The team takes pride in providing friendly service and we appreciate that you have recognised this.

We are glad that you and your family were also able to experience the delight of our in-house Thai restaurant and took advantage of our heated swimming pool throughout you stay.

With thanks,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We are a family of 4 very high maintenance people (well my partner and the kids are) and we have never been let down by the facilities and the staff at Grand Palais.

We have just finished our 4th stay there and it was the best yet.

The rooms are immaculate, views awesome and we are made to feel very welcome

Whilst there can be a little noise the benefits of location, connivence and the relaxing atmosphere far outweigh this challenge ....................... its is honestly a very poorly hit 7 iron to the beach

The restaurants are wonderful and the beers cold (and plentiful) at the Alex Surf Club

I know I sound like an advertisement but I have been meaning to write this review on each of the pervious two stays but just didn't get around to it ................. life catches back up with you way to quickly

This is a top class stay at a very good price

Thanks to the delightful Karen, the not so beautiful Ross and all the team at Grand Palais

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi Graeme_Noosa,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your enjoyable experience here at Grand Palais, in the past and now more recently. We are pleased to hear that we are able to continue to provide you and your family with delightful holiday accommodation, with views to match!

We take pride in our location in that we are only a short scenic stroll away from the Sunshine Coast’s best restaurants and cafes, and are glad that you were able to take advantage of this convenience.

Always a pleasure,

Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We are a family of 5 (3 teenagers, over 14) and spent 10 nights in apartment 39 which was really big and had everything we needed. The apartments were immaculate, beautiful views and relaxing. Loved sitting in the evenings on the balcony watching the surfers and the world go by, we new the apartments were close to the road and we were prepared for the noise but it was not as bad as the reviews stated. The pool area was lovely with the pool staying open from 7am-9pm. Lots of local restaurants and would recommend the Thai Restaurant below the apartment and the Alexander Heads surf club. Thank you to the staff at Grand Palais for making our holiday so relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hi Jane W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyable experience here at Grand Palais.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious apartments which are fully equipped. The team takes pride in providing friendly service and we appreciate that you have recognised this.

With our balcony views overlooking Alexandra Headland Beach, we have an ideal location and are pleased that you were able to put your feet up and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere!

It's nice to know that you were able to experience the delight of our in-house Thai restaurant and took the scenic stroll to Sunshine Coast's other restaurants and cafes.

We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our heated swimming pool and BBQ entertainment area.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future,
Karen and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We chose Grand Palais after browsing the holiday sites for Aussie Day long weekend, So glad we did! Had no real idea where it was exactly but ended up in one of the best locations for a getaway with the added bonus of old fashion hospitality. Whilst management are onsite if needed there presence was unobtrusive making our stay feel like a home away from home. So much so we stayed longer than intended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi sharon g

Thanks for a lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much.
We appreciate the support of you taking the time to tell others about us.

We pride ourselves on being a great value resort in a great location, providing really friendly service - we're delighted you've recognised this with your very sweet words.

I've passed your kind review onto the others and they're all trying to take the credit for your great feedback!!

Happy traveling.

Karen and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed five nights in room number 49, the view of yhe beach across ghe road was beautiful and the room was lovely and clean as well as equipped for our stay. Our experience was great staying here with children and the staff were very welcoming in arrival and throughout our stay. The location is great and everything you need is close by if needed. The pool was also very clean, welcoming and refreshing! We will definitely be returning and recommending to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandpalaisalex, Manager at Grand Palais Beachside Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Kel2376,

Thanks so much for the review.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay - I'm thrilled to hear your thoughts on the view, service and location!

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Karen, Ross, Jodie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palais Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Beachside Resort

Address: 188 Alexandra Parade (Cnr Alexandra Parade & Mary Street), Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Beachside Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palais Beachside Resort holiday accommodation apartments are your perfect choice in affordable luxury on the Sunshine Coast. Will full amenities, a great location and amazing views, we have it all here at Grand Palais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Palais Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Beachside Hotel Alexandra Headland
Grand Palais Beachside Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palais Beachside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.