We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated but spotless and fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort to your Saves list
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Narellan, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A little dated but spotless and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights at this resort. First impression, "older style decor but absolutely spotless". Yes the interior style and colour schemes are a little old at this resort but the rooms were wonderfully clean and the gardens and pool areas were just magnificent. We were lucky enough to have a room with a huge balcony just above the upper level pool. Open a gate down five steps and into the pool or spa. The main pool is actually two pools, one at either end of the resort with a 3 metre wide "canal" joining them, which made for a good long swim of about 100 metres. There are plenty of tall palm trees which provide lots of shade. The beach is just across the road as is the Alexander Beach Surf Club which has just been revamped and is a great place for a meal. The staff were very pleasant and always helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    102
    54
    9
    8
See reviews for
111
58
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Let me start by saying that we would definitely go back to a) Sunshine Coast again, and b) Alex Beach Breakfree. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there - it was a lovely, relaxing holiday. The weather was pretty average, but it was still warm even when it was raining. We had a little trouble when we first arrived at the resort, with letting ourselves in, as we arrived after the reception had closed. The underground carpark is great, as long as you know how to get into it ....... Cleanliness of the room was a bit below what we expected, but was OK.

We love apartment holidays - it's so much kinder on the holiday budget! We booked a 2bdrm unit, which had 3 beds in total + 2 bathrooms. We were on the roadside, with a great view of the beach. A litte bit noisy in the early morning and during the weekend nights, but nothing major.

We had a rental car, which made getting around so much easier - we visited Australia Zoo, Opals Downunder, Et

The pool is awesome - we were just disappointed that the swimup bar wasn't operational! Pools are really safe, with a spa pool at each end of the lagoon pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We paid an expensive price during off peak season for a motel style room which was dirty. The furniture was outdated, the carpet, mirror above the bed and shower glass were filthy! Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Upon checking in we were very disappointed with the rooms, we had booked a deluxe apartment with 2 bedrooms, we were given two one bed apartments with separate doors which were very tired, small and dark. It was not suitable as we have very young children, they happily changed our room straight away to a another 2 bed apartment which was larger and bright with fresh decor and the 2 rooms within the one apartment.

When booking online deluxe does not mean "deluxe" in room accommodation, apparently it means you get a view over a standard room.

The resort facilities are very good, the lagoon swimming pool with slides and spa is huge and the outdoor playground is great for the children. The outdoor areas are maintained to a high standard.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed at Alex Beach Resort for two nights in February and have previously stayed for a week. The resort is a BreakFree property now, but appears to be well-managed and maintained to a high standard.

Our unit was small and on the ground floor, so had the unique patio leading into the lagoon pool which is a very cool feature! The furnishings were good and the studio contained everything we needed.

The resort is in a great location, being immediately opposite the excellent Alex beach and also only 10-15mins walk from both Mooloolaba and Maroochydore. A small number of eateries are within walking distance including the surf club, two seafood places, a pizza restaurant and both Thai and Vietnamese takeaways (both of which were found to be pretty good).

This resort definitely targets families as their key market so, as others have noted, don't choose it if you want a quiet, kid-free sort of resort. But if you want good value accommodation in a good location with everything you need but not the super-swish, then this place might just be for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We have just spent a fantastic week at Alexandra Beach Resort. The resort was pretty full but you wouldn’t know it as the pool area is huge and there was heaps of room for everyone.

The resort is located right across the road from the patrolled beach, but we spent more time in the great pools – easily the best I have seen in a resort of this type and price range. The water slides look pretty timid in the pictures, but the kids (aged 10, 8, and 4) could get some great speed up when going on their knees. The grounds are great, although they could do with a few more BBQs around the place – only 2 for this size resort meant you sometimes had to wait. Also the restaurant and bar at the site was closed which was unfortunate as I always wanted to have a drink at a swim up bar.

Since the resort is a breakfree property, the furnishings in each room will probably be different since they are all individually owned and therefore you may be lucky or you may not. Ours had the usual 90’s cane furniture, but was otherwise well equipped with 2 LCD panels and a DVD player. The only issue with 3 kids in a 2BR deluxe is the 3rd child had to sleep on the foldout in the lounge area, but with a second TV, it wasn’t a problem. The unit was air-conditioned, had a huge balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. It was more than adequate for the price range and age of the resort (10 to 15 years old is my guess).

The staff at reception were great with directions, loans of the boogie boards and beach equipment – all in all it was a great place to stay and I would certainly look to going back there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

My wife and I, and 12 year-old son thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Surrounding the pool, meant my son spent more time in the water than out of it - and we felt safe letting him go in the pool with firends without us overseeing him every minute. The beach is across the road - and the hotel allows kids to take boogie boards from the hotel over there, so my so enjoyed that too. The rooms are spacious and clean and our balcony overlooked the pool. It is a pleasant drive North to many of the sights of the Sunshine Coast.

Don't miss Australia Zoo - one of the most hands-on zoos in the world.

Another hidden secret - the Marroochydoore and Mooloolaba surf clubs - for good wholesome food, at a reasonable price.

Only one quibble - the patio table on our balcony collapsed - because it was old - and we were told there were no maintenance crew on site after 5pm and we must clean it up ourselves. (We did get a new table the next day.)

PS The restaurant/poolside bar is closed down.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Address: Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just across the road from the beach and designed around a 150m tropical lagoon pool, BreakFree Alexandra Beach offers a great location for great value in the heart of the Sunshine Coast.BreakFree Alexandra Beach has a range of accommodation options for you to choose from including Studio, One, Two, Three and Four Bedroom Apartments, all with air conditioning, balcony or terrace, cable TV, hair dryer and laundry (an extra person rate applies for use of the sofa bed). If pool views are what you are after, then spend a little more and book a One or Two Bedroom Pool View Apartment or even a Three Bedroom Penthouse. The Four Bedroom Apartments have ocean views and overlook Alexandra Beach.This resort offers a great position along with onsite facilities to keep you and the kids entertained. With two heated pools and spas, a waterslide, gymnasium, children’s playground and BBQ facilities, you will always have plenty to do.Alexandra Headland, known by the locals as 'Alex', is a small coastal community complimented by the soothing rolling surf and inviting beaches. This Sunshine Coast town is also fringed by Mooloolaba, Buderim and Maroochydore with a superb coastal sweep to the north and bush setting foothills to the west.BreakFree Alexandra Beach is the right choice for your next Sunshine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Hotel Alexandra Headland
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.