We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort to your Saves list
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed in a studio overlooking side street on first floor. While no views of water due to the trees on the foreshore it was still a nice spot. The units that overlook the lagoon and pools would be a nicer choice if looking for views from unit. The unit was very clean and tidy and well equiped. Dealt directly with owner for booking and she was lovely and very helpful. Only drawback was no security screen on door which was only fresh air access so had to close up and use air con during the night. Short walk to cafes, shops and nice walk into Mooloolaba if dont mind a longer walk approx 1.5km and hilly where there was everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    116
    56
    12
    8
See reviews for
125
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the lower ground floor with direct access to the lagoon. It was fantastic waking up in the morning and having the luxury of going for a swim whenever we desired, well worth every penny which wasn't that much as there was a special on. The rooms, though the lounge was on the smaller size, were new looking and very clean, ideal for us. We dined at the Surf Life Saving Club across the road which is handy and they serve very large tasty meals. We will definitely stay here again. Next time though we will bring our own beach towels as we were only given two towels and if we wanted any for swimming we had to pay $3 but other than that it was a fantastic stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Room (3bdrm apt) very unclean, needs an urgent basic spring clean besides being very dated and in urgent need of a refurbishment. Yes it has a great pool that the kids love but we've been coming here every couple of years and nothing changes and the cleaning standards are decreasing rapidly. The sunshine coast has far better places now to stay at a better rate. The 2 staff at checkin looked apprehensive on arrival, no wonder...GM don't bother responding, we won't be back, and don't say we should have said something so we could be moved to some other apartment. All rooms should be of a good standard. Simply not a good place to stay. I'll be posting photos.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Raftus88,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and I apologise we did not meet your expectations this time around. It is dissapointing to hear that you did not feel the need to bring your concerns to reception during your stay so that we may have been able to address any issues. I understand your point of view that all room should be at the same standard in terms of cleanliness and have passed your comments onto our Executive housekeeping manager to address with her team. As mentioned in other reply's we have begun a major refurbishment drive, going out to our unit owners with audits and quotes on every room with the aim of upgrading all furnishings, carpet, curtains and painting in all units by the end of the financial year.

Once again I apologise for your recent experience and hope to see you back at a Breakfree resort soon.

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
Relief General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom (non pool view room) for two nights. While the rate was good value for the weekend, the apartment and the ‘resort’ is looking very tired and could do with a major refurbishment. However, that said, the value proposition is very good and all the facilities are there. More suited to families though. Excellent location right at the beach (although a major road to cross) and a nice walk to Moolloolaba which has all the restaurants.

One annoying practice is that of taking a holding deposit on your credit card. I don’t mind them taking an imprint of my card which is normal hotel practice, but this place also puts a ‘hold’ on several hundred dollars until it is released for ‘possible damages’ even though everything was prepaid – so third world!

Not a bad place to spend the weekend though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Wintersson,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent visit. As you mention we are ideally located with the beah just across the road and major shops and restaurants only a short walk away. As a Breakfree brand, we are a family oriented resort and as such keep our rates in line with this and the market to ensure we are presenting great value for your money. We have begun a major refurbishment project with all our rooms and hope to see the furniture package in all rooms upgraded by the end of the financial year with further works to come next year.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near furture.

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
Relief General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here end of Feb and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The pool is amazing, and is what makes the hotel. We booked the standard room and realised as soon as we got there that we should have upgraded to the pool room which we went straight to Reception and did. We were truly lucky enough to be able to upgrade to one of the Lagoon Rooms, which was a ground floor room that you can literally step straight out into the pool from. I cannot emphasise enough - upgrade! The location is very convenient, Maroochydore is a few minutes up the road in one direction, and Moloolaba a few minutes in the other. We went when it wasnt school holidays which I'd recommend if you arent travelling with kids as the pool is likely to get overrun by them, but if you are travelling with kids it will be a hit. During the week it was definitely quieter and good for couples wanting to chill out. Rooms arent serviced for anything less than 8 night stays but you have a washing machine and kitchen facilities in each room so can sort yourself out. Its not 4 or 5 star by any means but if you want to stay somewhere down to earth in an amazing spot with plenty of conveniences where you can chill out, have fun at the beach or use as a base to travel around Sunshine Coast to Caloundra (20 mins away), Noosa (30 mins away) , Maroochdore and Moloolaba (5 mins away), Eumundi Markets (an absolute must to check out Wednesdays and Saturdays, 30 mins away) or the Hinterlands (Montville is lovely and worth the drive). We will definitely be back, next time with the kids.

Room Tip: Upgrading to pool view is an absolute must. Ask for a Lagoon room if one is available if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Rachel G,

Thank you for your great review of Breakfree Alexandra Beach resort. We are fortunate to have such a fantastic pool area that allows us to have the option of swim up rooms and I am happy to hear you were able to upgrade to one of these on arrival. as you mention we are ideally located on the Sunshine coast with attractions such as the Eumundi markets, underwater world and beautiful Noosa heads all with in 30-40 mins driving.

Once again thank you Rachel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
Relief General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very disappointing. Stayed for 7 nights in January 2014 in 3 bedroom apartment.
Pros: Great pool & good location close to surf club, beach, local shops & restaurants.
Cons:
1. Smelly throughout - had not been cleaned very well.
2. Bathrooms were the worst I have ever seen - mould in Showers, mould on window winders, musty smell, obviously cleaned to a minimum.
3. Mattresses all too soft and so uncomfortable. Great if you like sleeping on a bean bag.
4. Furnishings very cheap, mismatched and dated.
5. Living area was too cramped for six people.
6. 3rd Bedroom attached to Living area with wooden sliding doors which fell off the track twice. Lovely hole where the door handle should have been.
6. Kitchen so small, one person only. The Range hood had not been cleaned - greasy and smelly.
7. Big cupboard upstairs with a few hangers only. Downstairs cupboards too small. Did not bother unpacking.
I have stayed at Budget Motels which were cleaner with better furnishings. Overpriced for the quality of the accommodation. Would advise inspection of the room first. We could not wait to check out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Patricia M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent visit to this resort and I apologise that you did not have an enjoyable stay. As you mention we are ideally located with restaurants, shops, beaches and surf clubs all within walking distance. I am also glad you enjoyed our extensive pool area which is no doubt the highlight of the resort.
I am dissapointed to hear your comments in regards to the cleanliness of the room and have passed these onto our Executive housekeeper to address. We are currently going through a refurbishment with our owners and hope to address all issues you have mentioned.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
Relief General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

From the friendly welcome on arrival I knew this was going to be good. An upgrade to Ocean view was most welcome and the facilities in the room first class. The staff were helpful in making restaurant recommendations. The room was so comfortable and just across the road from the ocean, Great safe parking. Highly recommended and really good value

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexabr, General Manager at Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our friendly, helpful staff, great location and facilities.
We're glad you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort

Address: Crn Alexandra Pde & Pacific Terrace, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandra Headland
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just across the road from the beach and designed around a 150m tropical lagoon pool, BreakFree Alexandra Beach offers a great location for great value in the heart of the Sunshine Coast. BreakFree Alexandra Beach has a range of accommodation options for you to choose from including Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, all with air conditioning, balcony or terrace, cable TV, hair dryer and laundry (an extra person rate applies for use of the sofa bed). If pool views are what you are after, then spend a little more and book a 1 or 2 Bedroom Pool View Apartment or even a 3 Bedroom Penthouse. This resort offers a great position along with onsite facilities to keep you and the kids entertained. With two heated pools and spas, a waterslide, gymnasium, childrens playground and BBQ facilities, you will always have plenty to do. Alexandra Headland, known by the locals as 'Alex', is a small coastal community complemented by the soothing rolling surf and inviting beaches. This Sunshine Coast town is also fringed by Mooloolaba, Buderim and Maroochydore with a superb coastal sweep to the north and bush setting foothills to the west. BreakFree Alexandra Beach is the right choice for your next Sunshine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Hotel Alexandra Headland
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.