We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - lovely apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   10-20 Maroubra Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4558, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location - lovely apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have stayed here several times now and have never been disappointed with the apartment. We ask for the rooftop apartments as they seem to offer the best value with plenty of space to have a barbeque or entertain on the roof. The management were very helpful in booking tourist attractions and helping us to find our way around. The beach is only a very short walk as are two of the surf clubs. We hired bikes and spent hours riding around the area.
And best of all they are always clean!

Room Tip: Go for the rooftop apartment, especially Unit 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here in October in a rooftop apartment with my wife and 2 children and was extremely pleased with our apartment. It is in a very central location only across the road from the beach and only minutes walk from 2 surf clubs, a pub and numerous restaurants. The apartment was clean extremely well fitted out and the management could not be more helpful as we arrived late on a Friday evening with crabby children and the manager Chris assisted us into our room and made us feel most welcome. The apartments are very spacious , comfortable and very quiet considering how close to the night life of the immediate area. Would have no hesitation in recommending to any one looking for value for money family accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and found the apartments to be in a good location, spacious and clean. The decor is a little, well, 70's but everything was there that we needed - including some plastic crockery and cups for kids (and all the other kitchen essentials). Bathroom was good and a washing machine was provided (not that we used it!) Only real annoyances were a disturbing airflow noise from the toilet room, even when the light was turned off, and the fact that the apartment was up three flights of stairs. This last was really down to me not thinking through the fact that I would need to lug bags up and downstairs in an apartment block - it just didn't occur to me to ask! For what we paid the apartment certainly met our needs without being anything fancy. There was no 'wow' factor, but there was also very little that a five year old boy could break!

Room Tip: Go for upper level if you are after a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We tried these apartments not expecting 5 star luxury. We paid $165 a night for 2 nights and were very disappointed. We booked a "Rooftop Deluxe" apartment. BE WARNED. The website is misleading, There is no internal access to the rooftop level, its via the public stairwell. Our rooftop was dirty, with an empty vodka crusier bottle which had obviously been there for a long time and decaying cigarette butts in a plastic bag over a drain. We never used the rooftop after seeing this. The Apartment was dirty, cigarette butts on the balcony and a full mop bucket left in the laundry. The curtains were stained and didnt keep the light out. Unfortunately the bed and pillows were the most uncomfortable we have ever experienced. The living room cane furniture was ridiculously uncomfortable. There were large cracks in the roof and electrical outlets corroding or hanging out from the wall. The bedroom doors close but do not latch shut. The whole complex reeks of "lowest-cost" philosophy. The "3 swimming pools" are one behind each of the 3 complexes and are only the size of a normal household pool. The 2 bedroom unit is so small that privacy is difficult and it has only 1 bathroom. We were only supplied with two half rolls of toilet paper for 4 of us and we had to buy more.

The location is however quite good with a great Thai restaurant and good pub only 50m away. The beach is about 80m away. It is frustrating to see apparently happy holiday makers across the road in the Oaks Seaforth in what looks like much more comfortable accomodation. This was so annoying that we nearly left a day early but couldnt get a room there..

This is not worth $165 each night. Its a real shame because some new furniture and replacing the beds and a good clean could really turn the place around. As it is now however, its not worth the outlay. Go to the Duporth instead. We've never had a bad experience there...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Pacific Horizons is not the Hyatt Coolum or Sanctuary Cove.. my scores are in this context. These are apartments for lease by a central management group, and we had a two bedroom apartment with a great rooftop area.. not sure of size but the entertainment area on top must have been 30sq meters, with a table and BBQ. The apartment itself was a two bedroom, one room with 2 bunk beds and one with a double bed both rooms comfortable and with built ins. The kitchen was standard and open plan, albeit the over was old. The bathroom had a shower with a small bath good for young kids, and doubled as the laundry.. we used the dryer being winter and it was not the worlds best but did the job.

However for what you pay you get great value, helpful managers and good size apartments, albeit older than some of the others in the area. We however found them nice and quiet and good condition, and larger than some of the more modern buildings. We had one of the 3rd story 2 bedroom units with rooftop and would definitely recommend that you ask for one of these, given the huge entertain area which we used, even though it was winter. It was however up stairs so if you were disabled or had trouble with stairs probably not the place for you.

Other points :

Location : Well Location was great not main road, with 5 min walk to well everything… grocer, bar, restaurants, café, bottle shop and on it goes. The beach it self was amazing but we coulf only play around the edges given it was too cold. I even took the kids fishing at a place recommended by the local fish shop 20 minutes walk, and caught 2 bream and a flathead which turned into our breakfast the next day.

Shared Facililites : There are pools albeit not large and we did not use being winter and there were also BBQ areas, but with the roof top apartment why would you bother. I really see this as a family beach side apartment more than a resort and have rated in that manner.

Other: The room had cable TV and DVD player, dishwasher, full kitchen and Aircon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments

Address: 10-20 Maroubra Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4558, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Horizons Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.