We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Vista on Alex

Ocean Vista on Alex
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Vista on Alex to your Saves list
Ocean Vista on Alex
10-12 Edward Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For the second year in a row, spent two glorious weeks at Ocean Vista on Alex .. absolutely love the place. Maxine and Marilyn .. perfect managers, the best. The whole complex is spotless from the apartments, pool, spas, BBQs and the delightful gardens .. immaculate. The 2 bedroom apartments with your own rooftop spa and BBQ are excellent. Bedrooms are spacious, plenty of cupboard space, spa in main bathroom. All modern appliances Secure parking with a lift to apartments. Two minute walk to bus stops. Away from the main thoroughfare, it is lovely and quiet but within walking distance of Mooloolaba and Alexandra Headland beaches. Perfect location. Highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed a 2 night stay. Only a short walk or 2 minute drive to Mooloolaba. Great size 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. Fully self contained with 2 carparks. Roof top spa and BBQ were fantastic. Heated spa was great. Will return for another short break! Modern appliances, in room spa bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were greeted by Maxine and she was so friendly - a nice way to kick off our 3 night getaway. The 2 bedroom, 3rd level room was very spacious and had a balcony. What we loved most was the private rooftop spa and bbq area where we felt a world away from reality. It also has a small pool area. A lift from the carpark helps you with packing/unpacking but there are a few steps along the paths between rooms and lifts or office.

It's walking distance to the beach, a coles, cafes, bakeries and boutique clothing so all needs are covered. The kitchen is well equipped with crockery, cutlery, pans etc to cook if you desire.

The office sells a few items such as toilet rolls ($1.50) and a small fee for towels ($2.50) and there's a range of brochures available to help you make the most of the area. We did find the spa tub in the main bedroom a little dirty but that's our only fault we could find.

We'd be happy to return!

Room Tip: 3rd level means you're closer to the rooftop spa area as it's only stairs up to that level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at the vista apartments in January 2012, two adults and two children, so the two bedroom apartment was just right for us. It was very clean, and the kitchen facilities were great, with plenty of crockery and utensils etc.
The ensuite bathroom has a spa bath, which the kids enjoyed.. and there is a HUGE flatscreen tv in the sitting area with a dvd player. Every room has a ceiling fan, but there is only aircon in the main sitting area. This left the bedrooms VERY hot, and fans were on full blast all night!
As we were kindly moved from a 2nd floor apartment to a 3rd by the owners, we had only a few stairs to access our rooftop spa and BBQ area. It was absolutely lovely up there, and we really enjoyed having a beer or two sat in the spa watching the sun go down. There is also a small-ish pool and spa at the back of the apartments which we used once during our 3 day stay, preferring to use the beach!
The apartments are about a 10minute walk into town, taking in a bit of a hill climb either way! but we enjoyed this walk and felt like we had to do some walking to burn off all the lovely meals,ice creams & coffees we had on the esplanade!
A lovely apartment, with a friendly welcome and we will definitely be going back on our next stay in Mooloolaba!

Room Tip: all third floor rooms have a short access to their rooftop spas. worth the extra money we think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I recently stayed at this property in first week of October, I went with my Mum, Sister and Nieces, we all had a fantastic time, the rooms where clean, spacious and well laid out. We absolutely loved the use of the private roof top spa, you could sit up there all day and watch the day go by. Maxine was great, and staff are friendly, it is a small complex and very quiet which is a bonus, I will certainly return. It is also very close to Mooloolabah's cafe strip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Most places you stay have a information booklet that usually advises where the nearest places are like chemists, banks etc so that would have been handy to have, as we had no idea in what direction was a supermarket or even anywhere to buy our dinner after arriving in the dark so some take away menu, delivery menus etc from local restaurants would have been really handy to have, instead we had to walk/drive and find somewhere for dinner and again for breakfast in the morning.
Apart from that small issue it is a fantastic place to stay, very quiet, no traffic noise, lovely and clean and a fully equipped kitchen & laundry. Lovely spa upstairs for the upper level units, worth paying a little extra to get your own spa and BBQ. Lovely hostess and beautiful gardens, very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We just returned from a 2 week stay at Ocean Vista. Initially I had been looking for Moolooaba accommodation for our family, however Ocean Vista is so close (almost literally across the road) that we decided to give it a go, despite the Alex Heads address. With a 2 year old, 5 year old and me 7 months pregnant we were a little hesitant about the amount of walking we would be doing (no car!) but hoped we would like the accommodation despite the location. Turns out we loved it because of the location! The walk from Ocean Vista down the Moolooaba foreshore or along the café strip is just beautiful and something the whole family enjoyed each time we went out. In the opposite direction, we had Alexandra Headlands foreshore also a very short walk away; not to mention Mooroochydore another 20 minutes or so along! While our 2 year old rode in the pram most of the time, our 5 year old coped well with the walking and loved having the option of several parks in different directions to visit. The apartments are as impressive as the website suggests and very comfortable for an extended stay. They certainly provided everything we needed, including heaps of cupboards and storage space; no tripping over your suitcases here! For families with young children the 2nd bedroom is located away from the main living areas which made day time sleeps and bedtime much easier, without the need to tip toe around. The master bedroom is also big enough to house a portacot if needed, without too much trouble. We found the apartment lovely and clean upon arrival and were also lucky enough to enjoy a private roof top spa area, which was also well presented and maintained, as is the downstairs pool and spa. If I had to be picky we were a little disappointed that our mid-stay ‘clean and service’ did not actually include a clean; just a linen change, although that may not usually be the case. (We were asked if the service could be done earlier than normal, due to an important personal appointment the cleaner had. We were very happy to oblige and vacated the unit nice and early but returned to find only our towels and bedlinen changed.) As I’m a ‘clean freak’ we cleaned the apartment ourselves (ample brooms/mops etc provided) and were really not too fussed. However this may just be an isolated case due to the circumstances, as the information guide in the apartment stated that a clean would be done after a week. The management of the units are just lovely and will go out of their way to make your stay easy. Unfortunately our 2 year old came out in spots one evening during our stay. After venturing down to reception to ask about local doctors and medical care, I received a phone call on return to out apartment, offering to drive us wherever we needed to go! Following a diagnosis of chickenpox from the doctor the following day, a large selection of kids DVD’s were delivered to our room free of charge to entertain our sicky while in quarantine! We were very impressed.
Overall we were thrilled with our stay at Ocean Vista and highly recommend it for anyone planning on visiting Moolooaba or Alex Heads. We would not hesitate to stay there again and have already urged several friends who visit the area regularly to give it a go.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Vista on Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vista on Alex

Address: 10-12 Edward Street, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Alexandra Headland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Alexandra Headland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Vista on Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vista On Alex Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Vista on Alex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.