We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherine Palace and Park

Catherine Palace and Park
7, Sadovaya Str., Pushkin, St. Petersburg 196601, Russia
+7 (812) 466-66-74
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$68*
and up
Private Tour: Pushkin Day Trip from St Petersburg...
Ranked #1 of 32 Attractions in Pushkin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,471 Reviews
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Filled with 18th-century paintings and ornate rooms, this white and gold palace is surrounded by a 1400-acre park complete with fountains, bridges, the Agate Pavilion bathhouse and the Great Pond. The Palace also has a famous Amber Room, stolen by Nazi troops during WWII, but now recreated by Russian craftsmen.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Its super house in gold! we hane a nice day and good photo! Ekaterina GREAT lady in Russian Imperators

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,949
    415
    77
    12
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to St Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We spent four days in St Petersburg in March. We took the metro and then the bus to Catherine Palace. Besides the beauty of the palace, the contents were amazing, the Sevres and other porcelain, the floors, ceilings, gilt. The actual palace was restored after the war they did an amazing job. It was great to see that the original contents had been removed and stored safely so they are now back in their original setting. For history buffs, this is a treasure. To see the Romanov crest on the porcelain it somehow sent shivers down the spine.
We walked through the park, it was covered in snow and was snowing. It was like a fairy-tale and really beautiful. A real treasure not to be missed

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Grand palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Tips: The amber room is the highlight and it looks really amazing!
Dun buy food from the road side stall, the food is horrible!
There is good fast food nearby.
Minibus is useful to get to the area.
Alexandra place is nearby at walking distance.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Opulent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Pretty much everything has already been said about the oh-so-gold palace in other reviews, so I won't tell about that. Renovation made finding the entrance somewhat complicated - especially since it opened at noon and not the 10am that was posted. But they did a good job of line control after noon, which was nice.

Make sure to walk the grounds and see the other buildings, especially (in our opinion) the Hermitage.

We took the 299 minibus from Moskovskaya metro stop (which we also used for returning from Pavlovsk), which was easy and cheap both going and returning. Hint: take the first stairs on the right when leaving the metro station and cut across to the large building with the buses and vans in front … do *not* go to the stops on the main street. And you can pick up the 299 right from in front of Pavlovsk when returning.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersin (Icel), Turkey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Summer Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a beautiful complex of buildings in a green setting. The buildings have undergone renovation after being bombed during the World War.
It was a pleasure to stroll through the gardens. There was a vocal group performing in the chapel near the lake which I found very romantic.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherine Palace and Park also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
 

Been to Catherine Palace and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherine Palace and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.