We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No time for park but beautiful palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catherine Palace and Park

Catherine Palace and Park
7, Sadovaya Str., Pushkin, St. Petersburg 196601, Russia
+7 (812) 466-66-74
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$69*
and up
Private Tour: Pushkin Day Trip from St Petersburg...
Ranked #1 of 32 Attractions in Pushkin
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Filled with 18th-century paintings and ornate rooms, this white and gold palace is surrounded by a 1400-acre park complete with fountains, bridges, the Agate Pavilion bathhouse and the Great Pond. The Palace also has a famous Amber Room, stolen by Nazi troops during WWII, but now recreated by Russian craftsmen.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
355 attraction reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“No time for park but beautiful palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Took a bus tour of this palace so I couldn't see the park but I got to see the interior which was beautiful. Even though there are signs about not being able to take photos, they didn't enforce it except in the amber room.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,947
    414
    77
    12
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Catherines amazing wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This palace is a major highlight when visiting St Petersburg. The rooms are breathtaking and the detail is incredible. A key to enjoying this experience is to have your own private guide and not be part of a large group. This is becuase the guide will provide you with extensive detail on the history of the palace, ensure you don't need to queue up for admission tickets and funnel you past large tour groups. The grounds at Catherine's palace are beautifully manicured and you need to spend time in the garden to see how it has been beautiful planned around getting views of the palace from the garden and from the palace to the garden.
The palace has been maintained to the highest standard and is the equal of any palace you would visit in the world. The Amber room which has been restored is simply brilliant and this palace is a very imporatant piece of Russian history. You must see it when in St Petersburg

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Greatest Insult Ever: Catherine's Summer Palace-St Petersberg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Catherine's Summer Palace in St. Petersberg: While enjoying this Must See attraction, the Costumed Characters gave us a huge insult by turning their back and literally walking away when I turned my camera toward them. Recognizing it was customary to tip those in Costume, I was prepared and had a tip in my pocket. Obviously, their custom is to receive the tip first before providing the photo opportunity. In this instance, they lost and we lost. This really dampened our appreciation of the Russian people and all the effort put into the restoration and maintenance of this incredible historic and beautiful palace. This attitude alone knocked the Overall Rating down one point to a four. All of the other people were gracious and helpful.

With that being said, Catherine's Summer Palace is a MUST SEE when visiting St. Petersberg, Russia. The extensive and outrageous use of gold covering is just stunning. The craftsmanship of all the ornamentation is all of the rooms is something to behold. Clearly a fantastic example of the difference between the Have's and the Have-Nots, at least the Have's did pay the artisans and craftspersons and provided work for the Have-Not's.

Great care is taken to preserve this restoration. We attended on a rainy day and had to put on clean room footwear to protect the wood floors from deterioration due to the water tracked in.

Security is very high-tech. Photography is not permitted in one of the rooms. When sensors detect a flash, or security sees a person using a camera, they are very quick to respond. We heard stories of the violator having to delete ALL images on their camera. That's a pretty high price to pay for not observing the rules.

Bottom line: An excellent attraction to experience. We had our 8 & 18 yr old grandkids with us. The tour was short enough that they enjoyed it.

Very educational.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Can't see why it is still popular after all that they've done this summer!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The reason I give only one point is because of a terrible management. They are not interested in tourists at all. They treat you like a cattle. Two hours in line outside, a battle in the wardrobe, and a tour which is given on a level of a schoolchild repeating a boring lesson. If you are coming with a group - be ready that they'll show you the door, telling you have no appointment!!!! That's the only management effort they take. Something has to be done about it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome to behold -Catherine Palace and Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Catherine's Summer Palace and Park, in St. Petersburg, Russia - is Rococo in style, from it's lavish exterior, to dominating main staircase, but my favorite was the magnificent golden mirrored ballroom. Having a personal, knowledgeable guide made our experience smooth and delightful. She was a jewel at getting us in quickly, to helping us navigate the crowds and explore the interior in detail.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherine Palace and Park also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
 

Been to Catherine Palace and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherine Palace and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.