We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything u need!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Samana Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Barbara de Samana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Samana Spring
Save
You added Hotel Samana Spring to your Saves list
Cristobal Colon No.94, Santa Barbara de Samana 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
huarez
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, everything u need!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We found this simple hotel with a/c, cable n hot water ~$37 without a reservation and were very pleased with its cleanliness and location! Within walking distance if the make on, restaurants and bars!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Owner Carlos was really helpful. Related well to the US traveller as he has lived in the US before. Took us in his own car to arrange for bike rentals, recommended restaurants etc. definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Yes, this hotel very simple but the rooms are very clean and, above all, the personnel and José - the owner - are the most charming and helpfull people you'll find on your way to Whale Watching (there's not much else to do there) A definite choice if you want more for less money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nice little hotel. The rooms are pretty basic but as everyone has said, they are very clean. For the cost you can't go wrong. The staff was very friendly, always helped us with our questions we had and the owner regularly greeted us and repeatedly told us to let him know if we needed something. To me, that is what makes a hotel above and beyond. This was shown to us even more because after leaving this hotel for another one nearby, we discovered my husbands watches were missing from his luggage. We immediately figured we would never see them again, that they were stolen. Two days later we received a call from Jose saying that he had our watches, they were left in the room. We were so grateful for his honesty and calling to let us know. Someone certainly could have kept them and we would have never known. Being in a different country you start thinking you can't trust anyone, but this showed us we can. For this reason we would recommend Samana Spring and would go back! Thank you Jose!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

No frills hotel, but rooms are very clean and the owner and staff are very friendly. I didn't realize that one needed to bring shampoo and the like, and the staff went out of their way to find us some shampoo packets to use. Use of wifi and hot coffee when you come down. Stayed one night, great value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. It is an exceptional bargain in an excellent location just a block off the Malecon in the delightful town of Samana. It walking distance to many restaurants, bars and whale-watching boats. There is lots of hot water, a great shower and a very comfy bed. There was a ceiling fan and air conditioning (no extra charge), which is not the case in all hotels. We spent 2 delightfully quiet nights there.

And a big thank you to Jose Minoso, owner, who rescued us with his portable battery starter when we were about to leave and our rental car was dead!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved our week in Samana and one reason why was our stay at Hotel Samana Spring. Jose, the proprietor, does everything possible to make your stay a success, including ideas for where to find good food, what to avoid, who to hire as a guide if needed, etc. He has all the connections. And, unlike the other hotels in Samana we considered, the rooms are fresh and clean, and there was free bottled water and coffee. The place is like about a year old and the beds are great. We left our window open at night so we could listen to the serenade of dart frogs just outside the window screen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Samana Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samana Spring

Address: Cristobal Colon No.94, Santa Barbara de Samana 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Santa Barbara de Samana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara de Samana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Samana Spring - Brand NEW Small Hotel in Samana Town, Dominican Republic, BEST VALUE IN TOWN. 16 Large Rooms with Queen Size Beds, Air Conditioning, Hot Water, WIFI, Cable Color TV. Centrally located in the Heart of Samana, 3 minutes walk to Malecon, Marina and Bay of Samana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Samana Spring Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Samana Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.