We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open, but recovering painfully slowly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Leyte Park Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Leyte Park Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Leyte Park Resort Hotel
Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban, Leyte Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tacloban
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Open, but recovering painfully slowly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

As at just before Xmas, LP had rooms available unlike most places around Tacloban which were booked well into January due to the influx of aid agencies. We had a cottage which had running water (cold only like the rest of Tacloban right now), and generator running all day allowing aircon, needed more to keep the mosquitoes at bay rather than the heat. Sheets were really old with hols in them... We understand what the hotel has been through (one of the storm chasers stayed here and captured the footage), but we were being charged over P3100 per night. We had to ask three times for the room to be cleaned - the only time during six night stay. No change of sheets, failed to provide more shampoo... This is a hotel that is going to struggle to regain its place in the market. We stayed at another hotel for a couple of nights - cheaper and better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    26
    20
    21
See reviews for
14
30
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The middle of November it was the only hotel open after Typhoon Yolanda. They provided a clean, secure room and were able to serve a hot lunch and dinner. No electricity or running water, but the entire city was the same. Red Cross and other relief agencies also based themselves out of this property. Excellent location, scenic (given the disaster) and a nice breeze coming in from coast. Of all the hotels in Tacloban, it appears Leyte Park will probably recover quicker than others.

Room Tip: Until electricity is back on try to get a room facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice views but the whole resort is need of a serious make over if they want to attract more guests in the future, beds where really bad and aircon did not cool the room at all. Surroundings are nice and a couple of good restaurants and bars where in close proximity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is old and run down. We had no hot water even after complaining several times, The food in the restaurant was terrible and I got a severe case of food poisioning there. Never been so sick in my life! Has to be the very worst place to stay in Tacloban City, Avoid at ALL costs!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

People seem to forget that the Filipino countryside is more third than Manila. People seem to base their expectations on that city. I found this hotel years ago and it was fun and worth the cost. The staff was cordial and helpful. I like Tacloban and the area surrounded it. Yes it does need some paint and sprucing up a bit but it is what it is. I will go back again.

Room Tip: Near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu, Philipppines
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel has definitely seen better days. I stayed overnight in a twin room. The hallway had a funky smell, the beds were lumpy and lopsided, the room was not well cleaned in corners that most people don't look at and there was a cockroach when we arrived. But, a big but, the property is wonderful with great sea views, extra spacious rooms and a great location. Staff is not well trained but as long as you don't expect much in terms of service, it really doesn't matter. Would I stay here again? Well, only if it is my best option in terms of convenience. I would rate this as tolerable.

Room Tip: If you are a big group, take the cottages close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Price, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

yes the resort does need a make over but for location you cant beat it..it isn't a 5star resort but if you want 5star go to the oriental and pay the big price..we think the leyte park resort is great.3 places to eat .the seafood place on the wharf is nice.fiesta nights are great.linda the local singer in great...for tacloban you really cant beat leyte park for a week stay value for money.you could do a lot worse!!!!

Room Tip: we have stayed on the same floor as the lobby and in the villas/tip the hot water takes a while so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leyte Park Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leyte Park Resort Hotel

Address: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban, Leyte Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tacloban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Leyte Park Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leyte Park Hotel Tacloban
Leyte Park Resort Hotel Tacloban, Leyte Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leyte Park Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.