We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay lang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canelsa

Hotel Canelsa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tacloban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Canelsa
Save
You added Hotel Canelsa to your Saves list
Rizal Avenue, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines (Formerly Hotel D'Angelo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tacloban
Tacloban, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay lang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

it is okay place. cheap, good location, but a bit noisy. room service food was a little over priced but good if you dont want to go out. staff was good, place was clean, and other guest were good gihapon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

This hotel is inexpensive but is much in need of renovation. Room was OK but all furniture/etc is old and in need of updating. The floor was very damp when we entered. I believe this is due to condensation because the walls were wet as well After the Aircon ran for a while the moisture disappeared. The room is inexpensive but do not expect it to be too nice for the cost.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed in one of the presidential suites on one of the top floors. It was a clean, decent room, everything worked, it was very comfortable. Quiet.

Centrally located in the business district.

Inexpensive.

My favorite hotel in the Philippines.

Only downsides: Room was a little small, and I like having a kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

Clean (no bugs or dust), strong shower, cool air-con, central location (close to McDo, Chicken Joe's, pizza, bakery, etc.), safe/secure (guard at front door), restaurant downstairs with bottled water available, friendly efficient staff, overnight laundry available low cost, quick elevator, quiet rooms, great beds (best I've ever slept in).

  • Liked — great beds
  • Disliked — a little on the small side
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

Noise Noise Noise- Noise from the street, noise from the stairwell, a cheap crimmy 3rd world hotel experience.

I was forced to stay here 2 nites recently when the PBA was in town and the Leyte Park and Alejandro were fully booked (there is a reason they fill up first).

The rooms are old and drab and the furniture is worn. The linen smells like mold. Run down. The 1st floor resturaunt is average. The service is slightly above average but thats it. The only advantage is the location in downtown Tacloban and even that is a DISADVANTAGE due to the grating 3rd world noise which echoes through the hotel at most hours.

I paid about $30 a nite for a triple room and felt a little overcharged. Stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Very Little
  • Disliked — Noisy Dump
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Stay Here
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights upon recommendation of a local: The room was fairly tidy, the plumbing was OK. There was a TV and an aircondition (of which I'm not sure whether it was working or not).

There's an adjacent restaurant that serves good breakfast for P100 (about $2).

Cons: The bedsheets and towels were greyish and stained. So much so that I didn't dare creep underneath the bedsheets.

This is a convenient place to stay at if you're not going to be fussy about the details. Price: P700/night (about $14).

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canelsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canelsa

Address: Rizal Avenue, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines (Formerly Hotel D'Angelo)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tacloban
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hotel Canelsa Tacloban, Leyte Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canelsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.