We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood Restaurant in Tacloban” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocho Seafood Grill

Ocho Seafood Grill
Senator Enage Street | Barangay 54, Tacloban, Leyte Province, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 restaurants in Tacloban
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Telephone + 63 53 325 4171 http://www.taclobanboard.com/tacloban-restaurants.php
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in Tacloban”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

You need to select from the fresh seafood on display and tell the staff how would you like it to be cooked. They would even suggest the best fish or meat for a certain kind of dish. They also have nice selection of wine and desserts.

One thing I don't like is the air-conditioning on the second level. It gets hot in there especially when you are sipping freshly-cooked seafood soup. And it is a bit noisy on the ground floor as the place is always packed, no doubt the food is great and the place is a must-visit in Tacloban. One-time I have even sighted Philippine celebrities and your stars dining at a private room at the 2nd level. The price? Absolutely reasonable!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    39
    39
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Valencian Country, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What an excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Ocho is our favourite place in Tacloban. Since my wife was born in Hilongos, Southern Leyte, we spend one month every year in Leyte and we don't miss the oportunity to visit this very nice place. . The service is good and the food really excellent with a great relationship price / quality. Seafood is top and they are able to prepare it according to your preferences.

For us it is difficult to find a good hotel in Tacloban, but we are happy to enjoy the fine restaurant Ocho as frequently as we can.

Enjoy!

Tom.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilao bulacan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ocho's- A Seafood Paradise in Tacloban City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

It's my first time in tacloban City with my buddy for a business purpose. The Managing Director of a famous chicken restaurant in the Philippines treat us for dinner at Ocho's- - a seafood restaurant where they served fresh seafoods and you can have your own version of cooking and Voila! they will cook it the way you like.
Baked scallops is a must try because the size of the shellfish meat, the have a ampalaya (bittermelon) con shrimp but the good thing, shrimp is deep-fried in a batter before it mixed with the vegetables. Ironically,the ampalaya itself, taste bitterless!
We've also tried the Steamed lapu-lapu in oyster sauce, and grilled pork belly.
the resto is full-house at the time we enter, they have space at the 2nd floor to accommodate us. The service is fast too. They have 2-way radio to monitor the orders upstairs.
If you will be in Tacloban for the first time, do not forget to visit the place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Seafood paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Really good. We had dinner here twice and ordered baked scallops, adopbp scallops, steamed lapu lapu in soy sauce, steamed oysters, other shellfish that had coconut sauce on, and spicy pork spare ribs. Their desserts such as the blackforest truffle cake and mango cheesecake were also delightful.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great prices for really good seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I was surprised by the low cost of the food. Choose your dinner from the menu or pick out out the raw seafood on display and have it cooked the way you would like. Definitely one of the better restaurants in Tacloban.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocho Seafood Grill also viewed

Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 
Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 

Been to Ocho Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocho Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.