We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alejandro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tacloban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Alejandro
Save
You added Hotel Alejandro to your Saves list
Paterno Street, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tacloban
Newcastle, australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

While agreeing with everyone else, I find it strange that no one has mentioned the pool on the roof that was finished while I was there. The roof top has a rather nice veiw of the city and a very nice pool. It's funny how people go to see something and don't really look around. The place has a very detailed photo history of various things that have happened going back to WWII. It took me a little effort but I finally talked the staff into selling me a carton of beer to take out with me, they insisted it would be cheaper elsewhere, But even thier high price was a lot cheaper than in my country hehe. I'll be going back soon

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
27
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philiipines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Hotel Alejandro must be the most charming Hotel in this side of town.The hotel facade tells one of History w/c adds charm to this Hotel.
It's surely not a 5-star hotel but the attentiveness & friendliness of the staff compensate for it.Besides the Rate is so reasonable, the food in the restaurant is also okey & the rooms are clean.
We surely enjoyed our stay excep,t for the old towels that they still use & hope the management notice that.
Generally, the Hotel is great & we will still come back next time.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Ghent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

During November 2008, my Filipina girlfriend and myself stayed twice in this hotel. First for 3 nights at the beginning of my stay, and again 3 nights near the end.
The first room we were in had somewhat older plumbing, but the staff was very helpful in showing a trick to use it. The room we had the second stay was simply perfect, a bit smaller, but recently renewed. Rooms were cleaned quite thoroughly, so nothing to complain about that either.
Food in the restaurant is the best we had in the town, staff there (cafe Teresa) also very friendly.
The hotel is situated on walking distance from shopping streets, but as everywhere in the Philippines, a tricycle can bring you where you want to be for almost nothing.
Before going back to Europe, we stayed in another hotel near Manila airport. Having been in the Alejandro... it was like from heaven to hell.

  • Liked — the friendly staff, the price
  • Disliked — plumbing in the first room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA CRESCENTA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Hotel Alejandro in in downtown Tacloban. Its a very clean hotel and staff is great. Front desk is very helpful and the cleaning crew is so attentive. Its not a 5 star but its propably the best hotel you can find in Tacloban. Prices are very reasonable and food at the restaurant is good and priced right. I recommend going to Ocho Ocho restaurant. They have great grilled fush and barbecue. Hope to come back soon.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

A little piece of history.
Parts of this hotel are like stepping back in time. Not because its old, but because its steeped in the history of WW2.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The Hotel very clean and it was good to get a greeting from every member of the staff as you walked past.
If you are looking for a good standard of hotel, this is the place to go in Tacloban.

  • Liked — Clean and fresh with good manners.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alejandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alejandro

Address: Paterno Street, Tacloban, Leyte Province 6500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Tacloban
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Tacloban
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Alejandro Hotel Tacloban
Hotel Alejandro Tacloban, Leyte Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alejandro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.