We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giuseppe's Italian-Filipino

Giuseppe's Italian-Filipino
Avenida Veteranos, Tacloban, Leyte Province, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Tacloban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Philippine
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Morganton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate two lunches here and the food was great!! Pizza was good and filling! The owner also has a restaurant on Samar, just over the bridge. We went there, but it was too early for lunch. The view was unbelievable! Guiseppe's was a restaurant we would highly suggest. Try it; you'll like it !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laguna, philippines
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Filipinized Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There it was, a brick pizza oven. The flower arrangement was beautiful. Air conditioner was a nice escape from the heat. I liked the feel of it in the middle of Tacloban City!... The food was good. I had pasta, soup was good, pizza was good, steak was good. But the coffee machine didnt work.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacloban City, Tacloban, Philippines
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good food, but the servers need better training. Appetizers should NEVER be serviced at the SAME TIME as the main course. Need to have pizza racks, so there is still room on the table for dinnerware.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“One of the Best if Not the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Quaint, delicious, elegant. These are the three words that best describe Giuseppe's, that famous Italian Restaurant in Tacloban! It was quite a boring day but when after we had our lunch here, the day became a blast!

The place is small and can probably sit around 50 people at a time. Menu is Italian since the owner is an Italian permanent resident. The pasta was very tasty! Had the ravioli that was bursting with rich flavors in your mouth. We had two pizzas and we almost forgot our names! That's how delicious it was! I love the way the dough is not perfect and looks very rugged!

We were so full and we forgot that we ordered arosto misto (am not sure if this was the name) a selection of choice grilled meats. It was supposedly made for two but when it arrived It looked as if it was for four!!!! Nevertheless, even when we were full, we finished all meats. That's how great it was! To cap it all off we had the restaurant's signature dessert, Zabaglione with vanilla ice cream. It was the right dessert to balance our soul.

In the end, we paid for a feast for four for around P2,500. Not bad at all! It was such a great restaurant and as we pay our bill, we were given free amaretto shots to toast a delicious feast!

As McArthur said, I shall return soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visitied with partner.

Pros - Good pizza with thin crust and generous toppings, clean, good service, price OK
Cons - Sage ravioli tasteless, weird set-up with people wandering from butcher shop next door.

I would recommend the pizza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe's Italian-Filipino also viewed

Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 
Tacloban, Leyte Province
Tacloban, Leyte Province
 

Been to Giuseppe's Italian-Filipino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giuseppe's Italian-Filipino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.