We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ormoc Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ormoc Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Ormoc Villa Hotel
Obero St., Ormoc, Leyte Province 6541, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Louisa, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The room was very nice. It met our needs. It had a nice court yard with a pool. The food was very good. The hotel is in a nice location. We're planning on staying there again next May before our trip to Cebu. We plan on bringing my wife's mother for a nights stay. Try the hotel if you are in are the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormocvillahotel, Assistant to the General Manager at Ormoc Villa Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi Mr. Duling!

Thank you very much for the very pleasant review.
We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel a few times before, it was always very pleasant. Now the hotel has been (in fact currently is being) renovated and the results are very good. Rooms are upgraded totally, so are bathrooms. A minus is the a/c system, they still use the noisy old model instead of the split a/c. Complete with lcd tv and new desk, tiled flooring atc. etc. Absolutely good job. I definitely will come back here again.

Room Tip: I would advise a room on the east wing, less noise coming from the streets there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormocvillahotel, Assistant to the General Manager at Ormoc Villa Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Robert!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again and for the pleasant review.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Ormoc City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have stayed here twice and its probably the best hotel in the city. The people are friendly. The general feel of the place is ok. I have stayed in the presidential suite and would have to say that its not worth the extra money. I cant understand that even though its owned by a wealthy family, that they dont spend some money on doing the hotel up a bit as its a little run down. Its a beautiful typically Spanish style building but just needs a facelift in the rooms. However I was still comfortable and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormocvillahotel, Asssitant to the General Manager at Ormoc Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Reuben!

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are pleased to inform you that we have already renovated most of our rooms and they are available for use of our guests. A few remaining rooms, including our Presidential Suite are currently being renovated and should be done before the year ends.
We hope you plan your next stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I love the location of the hotel as it is very convenient to restaurants and other stores nearby. It's walking distance to the strips of barbeque and seafood in Ormoc:)

Room is clean and very spacious.

it's also nice to hangout in the lobby at night as they have singers that perform mellow music that's gives you a view of their well maintained garden and pool:)

The only downfall Is during late night our room is not sound proof from the noice outside especially if their are bands/disco outside:(

Still had fun though:)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormocvillahotel, Assistant to the General Manager at Ormoc Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Fullytravelled!
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
Regarding your concern regarding the noise, we are already looking into ways to be able to address this and have already coordinated with the local government agency to be able to find ways to control the noise from the bands/disco outside.
We hope you stay with us again when you visit Ormoc City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Ormoc City has very few hotels, so when one enteres Ormoc Villa Hotel and sees its garden and pool area, one would think they are in a good hotel. Unfortunately, the rooms here are run down, old and stuffy. The carpet, curtains, duvet and bathroom shows a lot of wear and tear signs. Stains in the tub are disgusting and the closet had a moldy smell.

The only redeeming factor about this hotel is their food which is pretty good and reasonably priced. The hotel is also surrounded by decent eateries which offer wide variety of choices. It is close to the Boardwalk so one can perhaps take a walk and go people watching to while away time.

This hotel is not a resort, other than the pool, there is nothing more to do here, it is just a basic place to sleep in and dump stuff. If one is just looking for a place for the night, then this is a pricy choice and one can get better value for its money elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormocvillahotel, Assitant to the General Manager at Ormoc Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Princesscat09!

Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased to inform you that we have already renovated most of our rooms while a remaining few are currently being renovated and should be done before the year ends.
We hope you stay with us again when you visit Ormoc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very nice hotel, stayed here a few times. Friendly and helpful staff. Not easy to book a room by e-mailing them however, they hardly ever answer or check incoming mail. Rooms are spacious but a bit outdated, however they are clean, bathroom also clean. Service is very good. I will be back here for sure on my next business trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormocvillahotel, Assitant to the General Manager at Ormoc Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Robert V!

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are pleased to inform you that we have already renovated most of our rooms while a few remaining ones are currently being renovated and should be done before the year ends.

Rest assured we will be more timely in responding to our guests' emails.

We hope you stay with us again when you visit Ormoc City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I needed to "get away" from the hustle and Bustle of the city of Ormoc for a day and had spent some time in this hotel before. I forgot it's many downsides. Most of all, you will lose your sanity if only for one day. By all means don't even spend more than an hour there. I was staying at a pension house in Downtown Ormoc and had the bustling city below my window. Yet, I could sleep at night and the city was interesting. I decided to stay my last day and night at Ormoc Villa for some rest and relaxation. They are constantly in a renovation mode and from 7am until 5:30pm you can expect the abusive noise of jack hammers and chiseling next to your room. Then at night there is an all night "karaoke" bar that caters to "drunks" that blast their terrible noise until 6am. I could not even hear my tv in a 24 hour period. Avoid this hotel at all cost!!!! San Pedro Inn is a better place... shucks, sleep on the streets and it will be better!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ormoc Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormoc Villa Hotel

Address: Obero St., Ormoc, Leyte Province 6541, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Ormoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ormoc Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ormoc Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.