We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice resort and friendly staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabin Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sabin Resort Hotel
Save
You added Sabin Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Bantigue, Ormoc, Leyte Province, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice resort and friendly staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

me and my bf had been to many hotels and this Sabin resort is one of the very nice hotels i love the big swimming pool the place is very clean and green, you wont regret on staying there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    21
    16
    10
See reviews for
26
24
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marikina City
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Sabin hotel- a very nice, comfortable place to stay when you were in Ormoc even if its for pleasure or business purposes. Reasonable cost @ 1850 per day. Clean rooms, beddings, comfort room. There is a restaurant that serves acceptable food at a good price. Clean swimming pool even the pool area itself. At night its very cozy, romantic. "Would stay there again without hesitation. I highly recommend Sabin Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This hotel has one of the best locations I have every seen. The views from the pool and the restaurant are unbelievable.

The poolside room was comfortable, but the aircon was noisy at night.

The staff at reception were not very helpful when asked for tour information for Ormoc city, and the waitresses in the restaurant were not very attentive.

Breakfast is not included in the room tarif, and is just ok, no more than that.

Fast free wifi is available in the hotel lobby.

The swimming pool is fantastic, and overall, this hotel is good value!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed in that resort for a weekend and I will say, if some one is on a BUDGET that is the place to be. I was staying in CEBU but my friend wanted to go to ormoc to visit her family. So we decided to go to ormoc and went to the first resort we could find. That was the one we got.

The food price is VERY VERY in-expensive but very good food.
We invited her family and some friends around 20 or so people? They gave us 3 tables. We had a Saturday night dinner including drinks and all the nine yards. When I saw the bills? I said to myself. Is this a mistake? that is all I need to say about that. I really dont know about tip there so I just gave him a $1000 pesos bill for tip and the waitress gave me a smile.

The room needs some modification but the price, I have no complaints to say the least.

I am recommended this base on the price and what you get for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Impressive swimming pool & grounds, Fantastic veiws over Ormoc Bay & mountains clean good sized rooms with various options of refinement. Good food & pleasant staff. We go every year, if not to stay, just to use the swimming pool.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

The reason I chose Sabin Hotel to hold our seminar was obviously for its unequaled ambiance in Ormoc city (for now). But much to its regal environment was undoubtedly the worst service I availed in the whole of my summer excapades (April-May 2010) including business trips.

First, the front desk clerks don't care to wear a smile to greet exhausted travelers and guests. They don't seem to be happy catering to simple and doable requests.

Here's a concrete example. I suggested to one of the waiters to please put a "Pls use the other door." sign in the damaged door in the function room we rented. He unabashedly replied, "Aw, bayad ug maguba.". Total idiot and ill-mannered, just like the front desk girls. I prefer to call them girls instead of ladies for the lack of right attitude.

The hotel owners might need a look into this. Their own staff needs to undergo a training on customer service. Or better yet, revamp them. There are a lot of BS HRM gradautes who are more willing to work with dignity and pride. People who value clients. People who are service-oriented.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkk-thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

To Sabin Management & Staff,
Good hotel specially the pool but u need to do something about all your rooms as i noticed that they all need some upgrading. We stayed at 1 of your cottages opposite the pool...boring room ambience, no picture frame or some wall decorations, dull color of painting, bathroom was dark some other light bulbs not working, a lot of ants specially outside the front door. Roof was leaking when there's rain. No complimentary drinking water at least. Linens are old & been ripped. If u could pls do something quickly about these all so then it will be a good recommendation to others. Many thanks!
- Restaurant food was good
- Entertainment was good
- Staff service needs to improve as too slow
- Front dest staff needs to be more friendly & appealing
- Upgrade your front dest ambience & the lobby area

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabin Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabin Resort Hotel

Address: Bantigue, Ormoc, Leyte Province, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Leyte Province > Ormoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ormoc
Number of rooms: 248
Also Known As:
Sabin Hotel Ormoc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabin Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.