We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Aubergade

L'Aubergade
7, Avenue de Cadets, 49350 Gennes, France
+33 241518107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Gennes
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situated 30 km from Angers and 15km from Saumur, this typical old stone house restaurant has been decorated in simple natural beiges and features lots of wood, all inspired by Marjolaine and Jean Francois' travels through South America. The Chef, an ex student of the Saumur Hotel School, offers a refined and inventive cuisine using seasonal produce from the region. The menu changes according to the time of the year. Marjolaine and her team provide a warm welcome and are happy to assist with the excellent wine list featuring wines from every region in France as well as wines from around the world. The L'Aubergade restaurant also boasts two private dining rooms which are ideal for any type of gathering from baptisms, weddings and business meetings to regular art exhibitions and can cater from 20 to 60 covers.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very pleased to stumble across such a place by accident. Good service. Excellent and interesting cuisine. Duck and Bass both perfectly cooked. Presentation modern without being pretentious or mean. Easy to overlook it as you drive by. There's a good public car park about 50 metres away. Fair value. Local wines good and not over priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our Rough Guide to The Loire recommended L'Aubergade so we thought we'd check it out when in the area. We were not disappointed! The decor is contemporary - polished dark wooden floor, cream walls with bright modern art canvasses and white linen tablecloths. We opted for the 19 euro lunch menu. There was no choice so we were a bit worried it might be snails or rabbit, but fortunately it was asparagus soup with a mushroom 'cake' in the middle, beef and a raspberry and cream pastry for dessert - all absolutely superb and presented lika a work of art. Can't recommend it highly enough - just go!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

On a Bank Holiday Monday in France not many restaurants are open. Luckily for us, L'Aubergade was. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, and the food fantastic. We chose from the fixed price menu at 29 euros for 3 courses. An appetizer was also served - 3 delicious morsels of food left us in anticipation. I can honestly say every mouthful tasted delicious, and the presentation deserved a Michelin star. Home made bread was also served - in abundance. The wine we chose was the restaurant recommended 'of the moment' - reasonably priced and also delicious. Apart from the lack of other diners (probably would have added to the atmosphere and thats the only reason Ive marked it less than excellent) - I can honestly say this meal counts among the best Ive ever had. It deserves to be full every night. Please go - youll not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Wow! We went to L'Aubergade on the strength of the existing reviews in Trip Advisor. We can whole-heartedly concur. We ordered mains only, but received not one, but two entree plates gratis: the first a delicious gazpacho with another seafood treat (have no idea what it was called), followed by a beautiful salmon sushi dish. My partner ordered the lamb dish which came on a ratatouille bed: cooked to perfection, full, flavoursome & absolutely tender. My choice was a guess (our French is beyond atrocious). Through from the description it was obviously some sort of fish, with prawns (gambas I recognised) on risotto. When it came, there were three succulent fillets of fish, with two plump prawns on a bed of a perfectly cooked risotto. On the strength of the two dishes we decided to have desserts (not such a regular event). Mine was a mini melon terrine, served with slices of crisp fresh peach, blueberries & redcurrants, complemented with a fruit gelati (have no idea what it should be called - was delicious). My partner had a chocolate flavoured macaroon, filled with raspberries & cream, a side of strawberry & redcurrants, and the berry gelati. The restaurant itself was also a surprise. It is very close to the bridge crossing the Loire to Les Rosiers & would be very easy to miss. Parking is no problem, there is a large public car park 50m or so down the road. Inside the ambience was wonderful: white linen napery, exposed beams, candle-lit with a white rose on each table (some had two). We were served by a delightful young waitress who put us at ease despite our total lack of French. We ate very early & the restaurant was filling up as we left - if our experience is in anyway typical: no surprise. If you are in the area: go!
P.S. The address given in Trip Advisor is incorrect (well, it is if you are using a GPS anyway. It should be 7, Avenue des Cadets de Saumur in Gennes...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gennes, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Innovative cuisine with great ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had a good sunday lunch recently in this nicely decorated restaurant. Service was efficient, food was superb (we recommend the Foie Gras) and there was a good if somewhat restricted wine list. Great experience overall which is also easy on the wallet!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aubergade also viewed

Les Rosiers sur Loire, Maine et Loire
Le Thoureil, Maine et Loire
 
Les Rosiers sur Loire, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to L'Aubergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Aubergade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.